Thank you for signing up. 

We've sent you an email. Please click on the link to verify your address.

Win big with FREE horse racing tips

Get our expert tips mailed direct

No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us.

Black Caviar Lightning Date: When is the 2018 Lightning Stakes taking place?

  • The Black Caviar Lightning is held annually at Flemington in February
  • It is worth $750,000 in prizemoney
  • Black Caviar won the race across three consecutive years 
Black Caviar winning the Black Caviar Lightning Stakes in 2013

The 2018 Group 1 Black Caviar Lightning Stakes (1000m) will take place at Flemington Racecourse on Saturday, February 17.

One of the premier sprints that takes place each year, the Black Caviar Lightning carries prizemoney worth $750,000 as some of the best sprinters come together to battle it out over five-furlongs down the Flemington straight.

First run in 1955, the Lightning Stakes (now known as the Black Caviar Lightning) was won by Gay Vista and has since grown in stature to become one of the country’s most prestigious sprint features.

Most of the Black Caviar Lightning field will progress to the $1.25 million Newmarket Handicap (1200m) held at Flemington three weeks later.

Supporting Black Caviar Lightning Day is the Group 3 The Vanity (1400m) and the Group 3 CS Hayes Stakes (1400m) for the three-year-olds.

There is generally no lead-up race to the Black Caviar Lightning, as most horses use it as a springboard to dive deeper into the Sydney and Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnivals – the Newmarket Handicap in Melbourne and the TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) in Sydney.

It was most recently won by star sprinter Chautauqua in 2016 and Terravista in 2017.

The long and illustrious honour roll lists the who’s who of Australian racing headlined by unbeaten mare Black Caviar who won the race on three consecutive occasions between 2011 and 2013.

Such was the dominance of Black Caviar in the race that the Lightning Stakes was renamed the Black Caviar Lightning to honour one of the immortals of the turf. 

Other notable winners of the Black Caviar Lightning include Todman (1960), Sky High (1961-62), Wenona Girl (1963-64), Storm Queen (1967), Cap D’Antibes (1975), Placid Ark (1987), Special (1988), Redelva (1990), Shaftesbury Avenue (1991), Schillaci (1992-93), Mahogany (1995 & 1997), Testa Rossa (2000), Choisir (2003), Regimental Gal (2004), Fastnet Rock (2005), Takeover Target (2006), Miss Andretti (2007), Apache Cat (2008), Black Caviar (2011-13) and Lankan Rupee (2015).

Legendary trainer Bart Cummings is the most successful trainer in the Black Caviar Lightning having prepared the winner on seven occasions, closely followed by Lee Freedman with six winners.

Damien Oliver is the most successful jockey in the feature sprint having won it five times ahead of Harry White who rode the winner on four occasions.


Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Black Caviar Lightning Date: When is the 2018 Lightning Stakes taking place?

The 2018 Group 1 Black Caviar Lightning (1000m) will take place at Flemington Racecourse on Saturday, February 17.

Read more »

You have unread messages

    You have unread messages