Thank you for signing up. 

We've sent you an email. Please click on the link to verify your address.

Win big with FREE horse racing tips

Get our expert tips mailed direct

No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us.

Railway Stakes Date: When is the 2017 Railway Stakes?

  • The Railway Stakes is held annually at Ascot in November
  • Worth $1 million in prizemoney and considered Perth's biggest race
  • Carbine, Better Loosen Up and Northerly are notable winners 

The 2017 Group 1 Railway Stakes (1600m) will be held at Ascot Racecourse on Saturday, November 25. 

The Railway Stakes is recognised as Perth's biggest race and is open to all horses that are aged three-years and older.

It dates back to 1887 when first won by Nimrod; the race was run over approximately 2000m.

In 1926 the Railway Stakes became a 1600m event and was shortened to 1500m in 1972 before being changed back to its current distance of 1600m in 1984.

Since its inception, only two horses have managed to win the race more than once with Tudor Mak going back-to-back in 1966-67 and Luckygray taking out the 2011 and 2013 editions.

More recently, Sniper’s Bullet went close to capturing the rare feat when he ran second to Gilded Venom in 2008, only to return the following year and go one place better when winning in 2009.

Old Comrade (2000-01) and Hardrada (2002-03) also finished second in the Group 1 feature before proving victorious the following year.

The Railway Stakes has been won by some illustrious names, with the mighty Carbine winning the race in 1894 and Man O’ War in 1907.

In recent times, the two most popular winners of the Railway Stakes would be Better Loosen Up and Northerly.

The Colin Hayes-trained Better Loosen Up completed a Group 1-winning treble when winning the Honda Stakes (now Emirates 1600m), Winfield Stakes (now Kingston Town Classic 1800m) and then the Railway Stakes in consecutive races.

In 2000, Perth trainer Fred Kersley gave Perth a champion; after winning a string of minor races in his home state, Northerly burst onto the scene with his dominant victory in the 2000 Railway Stakes where he accounted for the state's best milers by nearly three lengths.

Runners in the Railway Stakes, which is joined on Super Saturday by the Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes (1200m), may come via the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival or may have contested the Group 3 Asian Beau Stakes (1400m) and Group 3 RJ Peters Stakes (1500m) earlier in the Perth Summer Carnival.

Another popular lead-up is the Group 2 Lee Steere Stakes (1400m).

Carrying $1 million in prizemoney and run under handicap conditions, the Railway Stakes attracts the best milers and stayers from WA, along with a number of interstate runners.


Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Railway Stakes Date: When is the 2017 Railway Stakes?

The 2017 Group 1 Railway Stakes (1600m) will be held at Ascot Racecourse on Saturday, November 25.

Read more »

You have unread messages

    You have unread messages