Thank you for signing up. 

We've sent you an email. Please click on the link to verify your address.

Win big with FREE horse racing tips

Get our expert tips mailed direct

No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us.

Winterbottom Stakes Date: When is the 2017 Winterbottom Stakes? place?

  • The Winterbottom Stakes is held annually at Ascot in November or December
  • It is worth $1 million in prizemoney and attracts the best sprinters in WA
  • Notable winners include Ortensia, Miss Andretti, Takeover Target and Buffering
Buffering won the Winterbottom Stakes in 2015

The 2017 Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes (1200m) will be run at Ascot Racecourse on Saturday, December 2.

Perth's premier sprinting feature, the Winterbottom Stakes, is open to all horses aged three-years-old and above.

Carrying $1 million in prizemoney, the Winterbottom Stakes attracts the very best sprinters from WA along with some interstate runners.

The feature event is held alongside the Group 1 Railway Stakes (1600m) on Perth’s Super Saturday of racing in November and is a major drawcard for some of the country’s top horses.

First run in 1952, Raconteur won the inaugural Winterbottom Stakes when the race was run over 1400m (seven furlongs). 

In 1994 the Winterbottom Stakes was installed at its current distance of 1200m and in 2011 the Australian Racing Board Pattern Committee recommended its elevation to Group 1 status; it had been run at Group 2 level from 1979 to 2010. 

Belmont Park held the Winterbottom Stakes in 2003 and that is the only time that the race has been held away from Ascot.

Since its inception, three horses have managed to go back-to-back, with La Trice (1970-71), Belinda’s Star (1975-76) and Hardrada (2002-03) achieving the rare feat. 

Internationally-travelled mare Ortensia managed to win two Winterbottom Stakes twice (2009 and 2011). Asteroid (1953 and 1955) and most recently Buffering (2013 and 2015) have also won the race twice but not in consecutive years.

The Winterbottom Stakes has been won by some outstanding sprinters with Placid Ark (1987), Miss Andretti (2005), Takeover Target (2008), Ortensia and Buffering being the most popular winners of the event.

And who could forget the epic battle between modern-day sprinting stars Takeover Target and Apache Cat going neck and neck down the Ascot straight with Takeover Target prevailing by the narrowest of margins.

The sprinting duo were two of the most popular sprinters of their time with fairytale story of Takeover Target being purchased for $1,200 and Apache Cat displaying an almost all-white face which made him a sentimental crowd-favourite on looks alone.

A number of lead-up races have been used by successful runners with Buffering tackling the Group 1 Darley Classic (1200m) at Flemington on both occasions prior to his triumphs. He won the 2013 edition and was fourth in the 2015 prior to his second Winterbottom Stakes success.

The Group 2 Lee Steere Stakes (1400m) and Group 3 Colonel Reeves Stakes (1100m) have been prominent lead-in runs.

Following the Winterbottom Stakes, a number of sprinters head to the Group 3 AJ Scahill Stakes (1400m); Watermans Bay claimed this feature after being runner up in the Winterbottom Stakes at his start prior in 2015. 


Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Winterbottom Stakes Date: When is the 2017 Winterbottom Stakes? place?

The 2017 Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes (1200m) will be run at Ascot Racecourse on Saturday, December 2.

Read more »

You have unread messages

    You have unread messages