Thank you for signing up. 

We've sent you an email. Please click on the link to verify your address.

Win big with FREE horse racing tips

Get our expert tips mailed direct

No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us. is your home of the 2017 Myer Classic. The race will take place on Saturday, 4 November, 2017, and will be part of Derby Day at Flemington.

Some of the best fillies and mares clash in the race, which is one of four Group 1s on the day.

We provide you with Myer Classic tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream of the race unfold.


Looking for the winner of the Myer Classic can be a daunting task, but keeping some important factors on your side can help you.  

Our experts assess all the Myer Classic runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2017 tips to help you back the winner.

Tipster Aaron Hamilton has provided his 2017 Myer Classic tips and selections ahead of the big race.


Leading bookmakers Ladbrokes and William Hill have the latest 2017 Myer Classic betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.


Australia's leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Myer Classic (and all other races from Victorian tracks) free of charge. You can watch all Flemington races streamed live online at Ladbrokes, CrownBet, Sportsbet or bet365. To find out how to stream the 2017 Myer Classic live, see our guide to watch the race.


The Myer Classic features a host of special offers from bookmakers and that includes the opportunity to claim bonus bets when becoming a new customer before the race. A range of bonus bets and special offers, deposit matches, first bet matches and no deposit free bets are available from the bookmakers to take advantage of throughout the year.


The Myer Classic is a Group 1 weight-for-age race for fillies and mares held annually during the Melbourne Spring Carnival. 

The race is run over 1600m and carries prizemoney of $500,000 .  

It is usually run on day one of the Melbourne Cup Carnival, which has come to be known as Derby Day, where every race is a Group event and includes four Group 1 races.

The race was first run in 1988 where it was won by Concordance. In that year, it was known as the Empire Rose Stakes, named after the great mare who ran in no less than four Melbourne Cups and won it in 1988.

The race had several name changes over the next 17 years including the Honda Legend, Hong Kong Bank Stakes, Hardy Brothers Classic, Nestle Peters Classic until 2005 when it received the title of the Myer Classic.

The race also experienced several upgrades since its inception when it began as a listed race. In 1995 it became a Group 3 race until 1997 when it was upgraded to Group 2 status. Then, in 2003 it became a Group 1 affair.

The race attracts the best mares and fillies who are at their best over the mile trip and they use this race as a springboard for other Group 1 races including the Railway Stakes in Perth.

Some classy fillies and mares have won this race over the years including Red Tracer (2013), Typhoon Tracy (2009), Divine Madonna (2007) and Lotteria (2005). 

The key lead-up races are the Group 2 Tristarc Stakes (1400m) run at Caulfield two weeks prior and the Group 2 Blazer Stakes. Also, take note of any fillies or mares who run in the Cox Plate the week prior to this race as some trainers do back them up seven days later.

Divine Madonna (2007), Lotteria (2005) and Miss Potential (2004) all used the Cox Plate as a lead-up race before going on to win the Myer Classic.

Following favourites has not been overly successful in the Myer Classic with only four of the last ten winning the race, while five others, failed to fill a place.

Six of the last ten winners started at double figure odds including Politeness (2015) 20-1, Bonaria (2014) 25-1 and Appearance (2012) 40-1.

The most successful age group in the last 10 years have been four to six-year-olds, who have won all 10 prior Myer Classics. 

Barriers have proven to be of no particularly advantage to runners as history shows an even spread of winning gates, although it’s worth noting that barriers 11 and 13 lead the way with three victories each.

These stats contradict the 1200 metre start at Flemington where runners have just a 240 metre run the first turn which logically would favour horses drawn inside. 

Myer Classic Winners (Since 2000)

2000Super Sequel
2001Market Price
2002Miss Zoe
2004Miss Potential
2006Lyrical Bid
2007Divine Madonna
2009Typhoon Tracy
2010Sacred Choice
2011Hurtle Myrtle
2013Red Tracer
2016I Am A Star


Flemington first opened in 1840 and was known originally known as Melbourne Racecourse. The original approach road to the racecourse passed through a property owned by James Watson. 

He named his property Flemington after his wife’s hometown of Flemington in Morayshire, Scotland and it is believed that this is how the racecourse’s name was first introduced.

Since then, the track has become the centre-point of Australian thoroughbred horse racing. It was added to the Australian National Heritage list in November 2006 and the site is also listed on the Victorian Heritage Register.

The land in which Flemington racecourse now stands was owned by Robert Fleming who intended to use the area for farming cattle and sheep, along with running a butchery in the early 1800’s. 

In 1864, the Victoria Racing Club was introduced to Flemington and up until 2001 acted as the principal authority responsible for managing the racing at the track and across Victoria, Australia.

Flemington hosts a total of 14 Group 1s throughout the Australian racing year, headed by the Melbourne Cup and Victoria Derby in the Spring Carnival in October and November. 

The Melbourne Cup has been the centrepiece throughout the history of Flemington Racecourse. The two-mile handicap contest is the richest in the Australian racing calendar and routinely draws hundred of thousands of racegoers to the course each November. 

Since its first running in 1861, the Melbourne Cup has produced a vast variety of longing memories at Flemington, both on and off of the track. The blend of over 100,000 attendees and world class thoroughbred racing adds further gloss to Flemington’s already rich history. 

In 1875, the Melbourne Cup was awarded public holiday status due to the demand for Australian citizens to witness the unparalleled experience that the raceday provides.


Flemington racecourse boasts a large pear shaped course with a circumference of 2,400 metres. It also has a straight six-furlong home-straight known as ‘The Straight Six’ which hosts many of Australia’s most valuable sprint contests including the Darley Classic. 

Racing at Flemington is run in an anticlockwise direction making it a left-handed track with a long, sweeping final turn before the straight.

The track itself underwent a number of improvements during the early 21st century, including a new $45 million grandstand which opened in 2000. 

You have unread messages

    You have unread messages