No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us. is your home of the 2019 Ranvet Stakes. The race will take place on Saturday, 23 March, 2019 at Rosehill Racecourse.

We provide you with Ranvet Stakes tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream to watch the race unfold.

Ranvet Stakes 2019

DateSaturday 23 March
TrackRosehill Racecourse
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeWeight for Age
Prize Money$700,000
Age3YO and Upwards


When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 Ranvet Stakes (2000m) at Rosehill, keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the Ranvet Stakes runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2019 tips to help you back the winner.

Tipster Aaron Hamilton will provide his 2019 Ranvet Stakes tips and selections once the final field has been declared.


Leading bookmakers Sportsbet and BetEasy have the latest 2019 Ranvet Stakes betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the Ranvet Stakes betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.


Australia's leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Ranvet Stakes (and all other races from New South Wales tracks) free of charge. You can watch all Rosehill races including the Ranvet Stakes streamed live online at Ladbrokes, BetEasy or Sportsbet. To find out how to stream the Ranvet Stakes live, see our guide to watch the race.


The Ranvet Stakes features a host of special offers from bookmakers and that includes the opportunity to claim bonus bets when becoming a new customer before the race. A range of bonus bets and special offers, deposit matches, first bet matches and no deposit bets are available from the bookmakers to take advantage of throughout the year.


The Ranvet Stakes is held at Rosehill Gardens in March each year. It is a premier weight-for-age race that attracts middle-distance staying types.

The race attracts some of the highest quality gallopers from Australia and New Zealand. 

Staged on Golden Slipper Day, there are five Group 1s run on the program. They are the Ranvet Stakes, George Ryder Stakes (1500m), Rosehill Guineas (2000m), The Galaxy (1100m) and the Golden Slipper Stakes (1200m) itself which is worth $3.5 million, making it the richest two-year-old race in the world.

Supporting the Group 1 races are the Group 3 Epona Stakes (1900m), Group 3 NE Manion Cup (2400m) and Group 3 Birthday Card Stakes (1200m).

Great Scot (1903) won the inaugural running of the race when it was known as the Rawson Stakes and run over a distance of 1800m. 

Originally a Principal race, the Ranvet Stakes received its current Group 1 status in 1980 and has grown in popularity since.

The Ranvet Stakes is run under weight-for-age conditions and is open to horses three years old and upwards.

The winner of the Ranvet Stakes is exempt from ballot for the Tancred Stakes (2400m) held at the same track one week later. 

One race stands head and shoulders above the rest when looking at the best lead-up race. The Group 1 Chipping Norton Stakes (1600m) held at Warwick Farm three weeks earlier is the key indicator for the Ranvet.

Some classy gallopers have won the race, including Poseidon (1908), Nightmarch (1930), Lough Neagh (1933 & 1936-37), Peter Pan (1935), Bernborough (1946), Redcraze (1957), Tulloch (1958), Sky High (1962-63), Gunsynd (1971 & 1973), Hyperno (1981), Better Loosen Up (1990), Super Impose (1991), Veandercross (1993), Tie The Knot (2000-01), Grand Armee (2005), Eremein (2006), Desert War (2007), Manighar (2012), Silent Achiever (2014) Contributer (2015) and Gailo Chop (2018).

Ranvet Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000Tie The Knot
2001Tie The Knot
2002Universal Prince
2003Rebublic Lass
2004Sound Action
2005Grand Armee
2007Desert War
2008Tuesday Joy
2014Silent Achiever
2016The United States
2017Our Ivanhowe
2018Gailo Chop


Founded in 1947, the Rosehill Racecourse is home to the richest two-year-old race in the world, the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes. 

First held in 1957 the juvenile sprint was won by Todman by an impressive 8 length margin. 

The prestigious The BMW (2400m) is also held at Rosehill and has been won by champion racehorses such as: Hyperno (1978), Kingston Town (1980), Bonecrusher (1986) and Octagonal (1996 & 97).

The track is approximately 23 kilometres to the west of Sydney's city centre and offers quality viewing for punters having modern three tiered stands with bars, restaurants and betting facilities.


Rosehill Racecourse consists of four long sweeping turns and horses that have drawn an inside gate are advantaged. 

It is difficult to lead all the way when the rail is in the true position, but when the rail is out 4 metres or more, all runners are provided an even opportunity. 

You have unread messages

You have unread messages