No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us. is your home of the 2019 Rosehill Guineas. The race will take place on Saturday, 23 March, 2019 at Rosehill Racecourse.

We provide you with Rosehill Guineas tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream to watch the race unfold.

Rosehill Guineas 2019

DateSaturday 23 March
TrackRosehill Racecourse
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeSet Weights
Prize Money$600,000


When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 Rosehill Guineas (2000m) at Rosehill, keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the Rosehill Guineas runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2019 tips to help you back the winner.

Tipster Aaron Hamilton will provide his 2019 Rosehill Guineas tips and selections once the final field has been declared.


Leading bookmakers Sportsbet and BetEasy have the latest 2019 Rosehill Guineas betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the Rosehill Guineas betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.


Australia's leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Rosehill Guineas (and all other races from New South Wales tracks) free of charge. You can watch all Rosehill races including the Rosehill Guineas streamed live online at Ladbrokes, BetEasy or Sportsbet. To find out how to stream the Rosehill Guineas live, see our guide to watch the race.


The Rosehill Guineas features a host of special offers from bookmakers and that includes the opportunity to claim bonus bets when becoming a new customer before the race. A range of bonus bets and special offers, deposit matches, first bet matches and no deposit bets are available from the bookmakers to take advantage of throughout the year.


Three-year-old fillies, colts and geldings compete in the $600,000 Rosehill Guineas; a race which attracts some of the best mile/middle-distance horses.

Upgraded to Group 1 status in 1980, the race stands alongside four other Group 1s on the day which sees the $3.5 million Golden Slipper Stakes (1200m) as the main focal point.

Remaining races held at the elite-level on the program are the Ranvet Stakes (2000m), The Galaxy (1100m) and the George Ryder Stakes (1500m).

Supporting the Group 1 races are the Group 3 Epona Stakes (1900m), Group 3 NE Manion Cup (2400m) and Group 3 Birthday Card Stakes (1200m).

Golden Slipper Day is one of the biggest days on the entire racing calendar each year and not just the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival calendar. 

The most reliable guide to the Rosehill Guineas is the Group 1 Randwick Guineas (1600m) held two weeks earlier which was formerly known as the Canterbury Guineas.

Some of Australia’s greatest horses have won the Rosehill Guineas with the most notable being the mighty Phar Lap winning the race back in 1929.

Other notable winners of the Rosehill Guineas include Amounis (1925), Ajax (1937), High Caste (1939), Hydrogen (1951), Tulloch (1957), Dulcify (1979), Kingston Town (1980), Strawberry Road (1983), Naturalism (1992), Octagonal (1996), Tie The Knot (1998), Eremein (2005), It’s A Dundeel (2013), Criterion (2014), Volkstock'n'barrel (2015), Tarzino (2016), Gingernuts (2017) and D'Argento (2018).

The race is also the most reliable lead-up race to the premier three-year-old event of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival, the Group 1 Australian Derby (2400m) held two weeks later at Royal Randwick.

Electric Wire won the inaugural Rosehill Guineas in 1910 when the race was held over seven furlongs (approximately 1400m).

In 1915 the race distance was changed to approximately 1800m and in 1948 the race distance was increased to 1.25 miles (approximately 2000m).

Rosehill Guineas Winners (Since 2000)

2001Sale Of Century
2002Carnegie Express
2006De Beers
2007He's No Pie Eater
2008Dealer Principle
2009Metal Bender
2011Jimmy Choux
2012Laser Hawk
2013It's A Dundeel
2019The Autumn Sun


Founded in 1947, the Rosehill Racecourse is home to the richest two-year-old race in the world, the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes. 

First held in 1957 the juvenile sprint was won by Todman by an impressive 8 length margin. 

The prestigious Tancred Stakes (2400m) is also held at Rosehill and has been won by champion racehorses such as: Hyperno (1978), Kingston Town (1980), Bonecrusher (1986) and Octagonal (1996 & 97).

The track is approximately 23 kilometres to the west of Sydney's city centre and offers quality viewing for punters having modern three tiered stands with bars, restaurants and betting facilities.


Rosehill Racecourse consists of four long sweeping turns and horses that have drawn an inside gate are advantaged. 

It is difficult to lead all the way when the rail is in the true position, but when the rail is out 4 metres or more, all runners are provided an even opportunity. 

You have unread messages

You have unread messages