No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us.

Field of 16 declared for CF Orr Stakes

  • Can Cummings go back-to-back?
  • 3 former Weir runners line up for new trainers.
Hartnell wins the 2018 CF Orr Stakes

Seven individual Group 1 winners feature among a capacity field of 16 for Saturday’s Group 1 CF Orr Stakes (1400m) at Caulfield. 

James Cummings aims for back-to-back wins in the event following Hartnell’s success in 2018, and after nominating three horses for the event, Cummings has not accepted with Avilius and will rely on Kementari and Best Of Days to fly the stable flag. 

Kementari has fared well at the barrier draw and will jump from gate 2, and he has good form at the track and distance having finished runner-up to Humidor in the Memsie Stakes in the spring.

Best Of Days has also drawn ideally in barrier 4, and he was successful at Caulfield in the Coongy Handicap (2000m) before winning the Group 1 Cantala Stakes (1600m) at Flemington. 

David and Ben Hayes and Tom Dabernig saddle up three runners including Redkirk Warrior who is the highest rated (116) horse in the race, the enigmatic So Si Bon and the highly-promising Fifty Stars who has been transferred from Darren Weir’s stable.

Ciaron Maher and David Eustace also saddle up a former Weir runner in Land Of Plenty, while stayer Mask Of Time also resumes from the stable.

Last start Australia Stakes winner Whispering Brook also hails from the former Weir stable of horses and has returned to original trainer Simon Miller who is based at Perth’s Ascot Racecourse. 

2019 CF Orr Stakes field and barriers:

1. BRAVE SMASH (JPN) Kris Lees - Michael Walker (7) 59kg
2. REDKIRK WARRIOR (GB) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig - Regan Bayliss (10) 59kg
3. FELL SWOOP Matthew Dale - Damien Oliver (13) 59kg
4. KEMENTARI James Cummings - James McDonald (2) 59kg
5. MATERIAL MAN Justin Warwick - Ms Lucy Warwick (6) 59kg
6. D’ARGENTO Chris Waller - Kerrin McEvoy (1) 59kg
7. LAND OF PLENTY Ciaron Maher & David Eustace - Damian Lane (11) 59kg
8. BEST OF DAYS (GB) James Cummings - Craig Williams (4) 59kg
9. MOSS ’N’ DALE (NZ) Peter Gelagotis - Jack Martin (a) (12) 59kg
10. SO SI BON David & B Hayes & T Dabernig - Luke Nolen (15) 59kg
11. MANUEL Tony McEvoy - Luke Currie (3) 59kg
12. MASK OF TIME (IRE) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace - Jordan Childs (5) 59kg
13. HOLBIEN Steve Richards - Patrick Moloney (16) 59kg
14. FIFTY STARS (IRE) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig - Ben Allen (a) (9) 58.5kg
15. SHILLELAGH (NZ) Chris Waller - Ben Melham (14) 57kg
16. WHISPERING BROOK Simon A Miller - Mark Zahra (8) 57kg

Upcoming Races

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Field of 16 declared for CF Orr Stakes

Seven individual Group 1 winners feature among a capacity field of 16 for Saturday’s Group 1 CF Orr Stakes (1400m) at Caulfield.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages