No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us.

Darley Sprint Classic Tips - Analysing the recent trends of the Group 1

  • How does history help us find the winner in the Group 1 race down the famous straight? 
Redzel won the Darley Sprint Classic in 2017

The Darley Sprint Classic (1200m) is usually one of the most anticipated races of the Flemington carnival and always attracts the best sprinters. It, used to be run on the first Saturday of the Flemington carnival before being switched to Stakes day in 2007. 

Winners include the mighty Black Caviar in 2010/2011, while in recent times, Miss Andretti (2007) and Takeover Target (2004) are among other famous names to have reigned supreme. Redzel (2017) and Santa Ana Lane (2018) are the past two winners. 

Taking a look at the history of the race since the year 2000, there are a few things to consider when trying to back a winner. It has not been a happy hunting ground for favourites since the Black Caviar era. 

Redzel missed out as a $2.90 chance last year but was good enough to win as the popular elect at $4 in 2018. Chautauqua went down twice as favourite, while Our Boy Malachi (2016), Lucky Nine (2013) and Sea Siren (2012) were also rolled, despite heading the market. 

Prior to 2012, the mighty Black Caviar dominated. She won at $1.05 in 2011 and at the 'generous' odds of $1.95 in 2010. Miss Andretti scored as a $1.57 chance in 2007. 

Only one other favourite has won in the time period since 2000, All Silent at $4 in 2009. The average price of the winners has been $9. The longest priced winner in the last 18 years was Sudurka at $21 in 2001, while Dance Hero won at $15 in 2006.  

Santa Ana Lane will be out to go back to back in the event this year and is the early favourite in this years market  at the $2.20 quote with sportsbet. Other leading fancies are Nature Strip at $4.60, Loving Gaby at $8 and Alizee at $9. In Her Time heads the rest at $12. 

Santa Ana Lane, Nature Strip, Alizee and In Her Time are among a group that had their previous run in the Everest (1200m) at Randwick. The past two winners come off Everest runs, while five of the seven winners prior to that had their previous run at Moonee Valley in either the Manikato Stakes (1200m) or Schweppes Stakes (1000m). 

The latter used to be run on Cox Plate weekend before being moved to September. Three of those were last start winners. Gallopers to have come off a run at the Valley are Loving Gaby, who claimed this year's Manikato Stakes, ahead of Rock Magic (4th) and The Bostonian (5th). 

In Her Time and Alizee are two mares in the race this year, while Loving Gaby is the sole filly. The girls have a relatively good record, producing five winners since 2000 with Glamour Puss (2005) and Ancient Song (2003) joining Black Caviar and Miss Andretti as other members of the fairer sex to have won the race. 

An interesting stat is that five-year-olds have dominated this race, winning it on 10 of the 19 occasions since 2000. Horses in that age bracket this year are  Nature Strip, The Bostonian and Alizee. 

Of the trainers in the VRC Sprint Classic this year, Anthony Freedman and Chris Waller are among the recent winners. Freedman trains Santa Ana Lane, while Waller has Nature Strip in the race. The leading Sydney trainer saddled up Delectation in 2015. 

Successful hoops include Mark Zahra, Ben Melham, Kerrin McEvoy and Hugh Bowman. Bowman rides Alizee this year, while Zahra is on Santa Ana Lane. 

Finally, there has been no major advantage or disadvantage for horses that have drawn in or out. Since 2000, horses have been able to win from a variety of spot in this race. 

Selection based on trends:

Alizee trends well for this race and can surprise at odds. 

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Darley Sprint Classic Tips - Analysing the recent trends of the Group 1

How does history help us find the winner in the Group 1 race down the famous straight?

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages