Racingbase.com.au is your home of the 2020 Canterbury Stakes. The race will take place on Saturday, 7 March, 2020 at Randwick Racecourse.

We provide you with Canterbury Stakes tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream to watch the race unfold.

Canterbury Stakes 2020

Date Saturday 7 March
Track  Randwick Racecourse
Distance 1300m
Class Group 1
Race Type Weight-for-Age
Prize Money $500,000
Age 3YO and Upwards


When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 Canterbury Stakes (1300m) at Randwick, keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the Canterbury Stakes runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2020 tips to help you back the winner.

Tipster Aaron Hamilton will provide his tips and selections for the 2020 Canterbury Stakes once the field has been finalised.


Leading bookmakers Sportsbet and BetEasy have the latest 2020 Canterbury Stakes betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the Canterbury Stakes betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.


Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Canterbury Stakes (and all other races from New South Wales tracks) free of charge. You can watch all Randwick races including the Canterbury Stakes streamed live online at Ladbrokes, BetEasy or Sportsbet. To find out how to stream the Canterbury Stakes live, see our guide to watch the race.


A Group 1 race that is open to horses aged three and above, the Canterbury Stakes is held at Randwick Racecourse each year.

The Canterbury Stakes often attracts a combination of sprinters, milers and middle-distance/stayers as they progress to bigger races later in the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

A small field tends to contest the Group 1 which is worth $500,000 in prizemoney with the average field size ranging between six to 10 runners in recent years; most of the time less than 10 runners line up in the Canterbury Stakes.

It is one of two Group 1 features on the day with the $1 million Randwick Guineas (1600m) for the three-year-olds the main attraction on the program.

Supporting the Group 1 races are the Group 2 Reisling Stakes (1200m) for the two-year-old fillies, Group 2 Todman Stakes (1200m) for the colts & geldings, Group 2 Challenge Stakes (1000m), Group 3 Aspiration Quality (1600m) and Group 3 Wenona Girl Handicap (1200m).

Dating back to 1929 when won by Australian Racing Hall of Fame racehorse Amounis, the Canterbury Stakes was originally contested over six furlongs (approximately 1200m).

The race would increase to its current distance of 1300m in 2004 and has been held over the same distance since then, except for one occasion when run over 1550m in 2008 when the race was held at Canterbury.

Speaking of venues, the Canterbury Stakes has been run at Canterbury Park, Rosehill Gardens and Randwick during its history.

The race only received Group 1 status in 2013 when taken out by champion galloper Pierro.

The Canterbury Stakes is a who’s who of Australian racing with a number of champion gallopers claiming victory on one or more occasions.

Notable winners include Amounis (1929), Holdfast (1930-32), Chatham (1933), Sky High (1961-62), Baguette (1971), Manikato (1982), Emancipation (1983), Placid Ark (1987), More Joyous (2011-12), Pierro (2013), Le Romain (2017) and Happy Clapper (2018).

Canterbury Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Easy Rocking
2001 Shogun Lodge
2002 Empire
2003 Defier
2004 Yell
2005 Dance Hero
2006 Paratroopers
2007 Malcolm
2008 Mentality
2009 All Silent
2010 Hot Danish
2011 More Joyous
2012 More Joyous
2013 Pierro
2014 Appearance
2015 Cosmic Endeavour
2016 Holler
2017 Le Romain
2018 Happy Clapper
2019 Trapeze Artist
2020 The Bostonian


Originally known as the ‘Sandy Course,’ Randwick Racecourse was first used in 1833 where a private match race between two horses was held.

In 1840 the track was abandoned as a racecourse and used for training purposes before the Australian Jockey Club (AJC) moved its headquarters to Randwick and held a meeting in 1860.

The Queen Elizabeth II stand was opened to the public on August 4, 1969, and in 1992, Queen Elizabeth II visited Randwick and opened the new $30 million Paddock Grandstand.

The Australian Derby (2400m) remains one of the longest standing races to be held at Randwick after its inaugural running took place in 1861.


Randwick is the largest racetrack in New South Wales and all races are run in a clockwise direction. It is a sweeping track with a rise from the 300m mark to the winning post in the home straight.

As well as the main track, Randwick Racecourse contains a second track known as Kensington. Due to large rainfall in the area, Kensington has been reconstructed using the Strathayr racing surface which is similar to Moonee Valley.

Strathayr is a turf cover over a base of sand, this means it is a free draining track which can take a substantial amount of rain without affecting the rating.