CF Orr Stakes Tips & Betting Advice

CF Orr Stakes

CF Orr Stakes Tips: Who history points to winning

The CF Orr Stakes is the first Group 1 race in Australia for the calendar year and is set to be run and won at Caulfield on Saturday. is your home of the 2020 CF Orr Stakes. The race will take place on Saturday, 8 February, 2020, and will once again be the first Group 1 of new year.

We provide you with CF Orr Stakes tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream to watch the race unfold.

CF Orr Stakes 2020

Date Saturday, February 8
Track Caulfield
Distance 1400m
Class Group 1
Race Type Weight For Age
Prize Money $500,000
Age 3YO and Upwards


When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 CF Orr Stakes (1400m) at Caulfield, keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the CF Orr Stakes runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2020 tips to help you back the winner.

Will we see more dominance from favourites in the race? Or will there be a boilover in this year’s running of the first Group 1 of the year?

Tipster Aaron Hamilton has provided his 2020 CF Orr Stakes tips and selections.


Leading bookmakers Sportsbet and BetEasy have the latest 2020 CF Orr Stakes betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the CF Orr Stakes betting markets in the days leading up to the race.


Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the CF Orr Stakes (and all other races from Victorian tracks) free of charge. You can watch all Caulfield races including the CF Orr Stakes streamed live online at Ladbrokes, CrownBet or Sportsbet. To find out how to stream the CF Orr Stakes live, see our guide to watch the race.


The CF Orr Stakes is a Group 1 event which is run at Caulfield in February each year during the Autumn Carnival in Melbourne.

The race is run under weight-for-age conditions over 1400 metres and carries prizemoney of $500,000.

The race also has its own claim to fame as being the first Group 1 race of the calendar year and shares the program at Caulfield with the Rubiton Stakes, Carlyon Cup and Blue Diamond Preludes.

It is contested by some of the best sprinter/milers in the country with the balance of the field made up of stayers resuming from their previous spring campaigns. Many of the runners enter the race fresh which makes it an interesting betting event.

The race was first run in 1925 over eight furlongs (1600m) as a Group 3 event and was won by The Night Patrol. It remained over that distance until 1957 when it was reduced to seven furlongs (1400m).

It was upgraded to Group 2 status in 1980 before becoming a Group 1 affair in 1993, the year Durbridge saluted the judge.

The winners’ list includes great names such as Black Caviar (2012), Typhoon Tracy (2010 & 2011), Lonhro (2004) and Redoute’s Choice (2000). Other past greats to have won the event include Surround (1977), Tobin Bronze (1967), Wenona Girl (1962) and Lord (1959 and 1960) and the 2018 winner Hartnell.

In the races history, two horses have won the event in three consecutive years – Manikato (1979, 1980, 1981) and Vo Rogue (1988, 1989, 1990).

While the sprinters have dominated the race over time, many good stayers have also tasted victory. Over the years, the list of stayers winning the event makes up a who’s who of Melbourne Cup fame. Saintly (1997), Jeune (1995), Let’s Elope (1992) and At Talaq (1987) are most recent examples and the list also includes former Cup winners such as Hyperno (1978), Rising Fast (1956) and Comic Court (1951).

CF Orr Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Redoute's Choice
2001 Desert Sky
2002 Barkada
2003 Yell
2004 Lonhro
2005 Elvstroem
2006 Perfect Promise
2007 El Segundo
2008 Shinzig
2009 Maldivian
2010 Typhoon Tracy
2011 Typhoon Tracy
2012 Black Caviar
2013 All Too Hard
2014 Moment Of Change
2015 Dissident
2016 Suavito
2017 Black Heart Bart
2018 Hartnell
2019 Manuel
2020 Alabama Express


Founded in 1859, Caulfield Racecourse hosts around 20 race days every year, headlined by the Caulfield Cup.

The track is commonly known at ‘The Heath’ following the early days in which jockeys would ride through rough bush, heath and sand hills during races.

The name is now renowned across Australia and New Zealand for representing Caulfield’s superb racing and entertainment venue.

The first Caulfield Cup was run in the autumn of 1879, and was transferred to the spring in 1881.

The track was closed during the war and was used as an army camp, with the Caulfield Cup being run at Flemington.

Following the 1995 Caulfield Cup, the course underwent a significant reconstruction and reopened in 1996. The track’s circumference was widened to 30m and lengthened inside the home straight by around 43m.


Racing is contested in a left-handed direction at Caulfield and features long, sweeping turns. As a result, there can be a slight draw bias for those drawn low over distances further than seven-furlongs.

The course has a total circumference of 2080m including a home straight of just over 360m.

In terms of the Caulfield Cup, records throughout the 21st century have showcased a slight advantage for single digit stalls due to the course’s swift anti-clockwise bends.

Favourable positioning at Caulfield can be crucial to a contenders’ winning claims, as the setting has a short home straight of less than 400m. It means hold-up performers routinely encounter trouble in-running, resulting in many hard-luck stories.

Over shorter distances, the emphasis is placed on speed as horses seek a prominent position before turning for home. A below-par start in Caulfield’s sprint races usually results in a poor finishing position for horses, showcasing the need for sharp early pace.