2020 Champagne Stakes Tips & Betting Advice

Champagne Stakes winners
Champagne Stakes

Top 5 Champagne Stakes Winners

The Champagne Stakes (1600m) sees the two-year-olds stretch out over the mile at Group 1 level and has been won by some champion gallopers over the years. See who made our list of top 5 Champagne Stakes winners since 2000.

Load more

Racingbase.com.au is your home of the 2020 Champagne Stakes. The race will take place on Saturday, 18 April, 2020 at Randwick Racecourse.

We provide you with Champagne Stakes tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream to watch the race unfold.

2020 Champagne Stakes

Date Saturday, April 18, 2020
Track Royal Randwick
Distance 1600m
Class Group 1
Race Type Set weights
Prizemoney $500,000
Age 2YO


When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 ChampagneĀ StakesĀ (1600m) at Randwick, keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the Champagne Stakes runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2020 tips to help you back the winner.

Tipster Aaron Hamilton will provide his tips and selections for the 2020 Champagne Stakes once the field has been finalised.


Leading bookmakersĀ SportsbetĀ andĀ BetEasyĀ have the latest 2020 ChampagneĀ StakesĀ betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in theĀ ChampagneĀ StakesĀ betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.


Australiaā€™s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch theĀ ChampagneĀ StakesĀ (and all other races from New South Wales tracks) free of charge. You can watch all Randwick races including theĀ ChampagneĀ StakesĀ streamed live online at Ladbrokes, BetEasy or Sportsbet. To find outĀ how to stream the Champagne Stakes live, see our guide to watch the race.


The two-year-old set-weights race takes place one week after Day 2 of The Championships is held at Royal Randwick and is one of two Group 1 features on the day with the other being the All Aged Stakes (1400m).

Exeter, who was trained by Etienne de Mestre, won the inaugural Champagne Stakes in 1861 when the race was run over five furlongs (1000m).

Although the race has endured eight distance changes throughout its history, it was traditionally run as a sprint race until the inception of the Golden Slipper in 1957 caused a clash between the two feature sprint races.

In 1972 the race distance was raised to its current 1600m and became part of the two-year-old Triple Crown which includes the Golden Slipper Stakes (1200m), Inglis Siresā€™ (1400m) and Champagne Stakes.

Six two-year-olds have claimed the two-year-old Triple Crown. They are Baguette (1970), Luskin Star (1977), Tierce (1991), Burst (1992), Dance Hero (2004) and Pierro (2012).

With $500,000 in prizemoney, the Champagne Stakes is a natural progression for Golden Slipper and Inglis Siresā€™ runners that can run a mile or further.

The Group 1 Inglis Siresā€™ (1400m) held at Royal Randwick Racecourse two weeks earlier is the most reliable guide to the Champagne Stakes.

Winners of the Champagne Stakes have generally run their grand final for the season but in the spring, possible targets are the Caulfield and Thousand Guineas, or for the more adventurous trainer with a good horse, the Cox Plate.

Notable winners of the Champagne Stakes include Robinson Crusoe (1876), Chester (1877), Heroic (1924), Ajax (1937), Flight (1943), Todman (1957), Noholme (1959), Sky High (1960), Storm Queen (1966), Vain (1969), Baguette (1970), Luskin Star (1977), Rose Of Kingston (1981), Red Anchor (1984), Tierce (1991), Burst (1992), Dance Hero (2004), Samantha Miss (2008), Helmet (2011), Pierro (2012) and Prized Icon (2016).

Champagne Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2020 King's Legacy
2019 Castelvecchio
2018 Seabrook
2017 The Mission
2016 Prized Icon
2015 Pasadena Girl
2014 Go Indy Go
2013 Guelph
2012 Pierro
2011 Helmet
2010 Skilled
2009 Onemorenomore
2008 Samantha Miss
2007 Meurice
2006 Mentality
2005 Carry On Cutie
2004 Dance Hero
2003 Hasna
2002 Victory Vein
2001 Viscount
2000 Assertive Lad


Originally known as the ā€˜Sandy Course,ā€™ Randwick Racecourse was first used in 1833 where a private match race between two horses was held.

In 1840 the track was abandoned as a racecourse and used for training purposes before the Australian Jockey Club (AJC) moved its headquarters to Randwick and held a meeting in 1860.

The Queen Elizabeth II stand was opened to the public on August 4, 1969, and in 1992, Queen Elizabeth II visited Randwick and opened the new $30 million Paddock Grandstand.

The Australian Derby (2400m) remains one of the longest standing races to be held at Randwick after its inaugural running took place in 1861.


Randwick is the largest racetrack in New South Wales and all races are run in a clockwise direction. It is a sweeping track with a rise from the 300m mark to the winning post in the home straight.

As well as the main track, Randwick Racecourse contains a second track known as Kensington. Due to large rainfall in the area, Kensington has been reconstructed using the Strathayr racing surface which is similar to Moonee Valley.

Strathayr is a turf cover over a base of sand, this means it is a free draining track which can take a substantial amount of rain without affecting the rating.