2020 Coolmore Legacy Tips & Betting Advice

Coolmore Legacy Stakes Tips
Coolmore Legacy

Coolmore Legacy Stakes Tips & Preview

Looking for Coolmore Legacy Stakes tips for Saturday, April 11? Our form expert has previewed the fillies and mares feature and given his top selection for the race.

Racingbase.com.au is your home of the 2020 Coolmore Legacy. The race will take place on Saturday, 11 April, 2020 at Randwick Racecourse.

We provide you with Coolmore Legacy tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream to watch the race unfold.

2020 Coolmore Legacy Stakes

Date Saturday, April 11
Track Royal Randwick
Distance 1600m
Class Group 1
Race Type Weight-for-age
Prizemoney $1 million
Age 3YOs + (fillies and mares)


When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 Coolmore Legacy (1600m) at Randwick, keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the Coolmore Legacy runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2020 tips to help you back the winner.

Tipster Aaron Hamilton will provide his tips and selections for the 2020 Coolmore Legacy once the field has been finalised.


Leading bookmakers Sportsbet and BetEasy have the latest 2020 Coolmore Legacy betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the Coolmore Legacy betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.


Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Coolmore Legacy (and all other races from New South Wales tracks) free of charge. You can watch all Randwick races including the Coolmore Legacy streamed live online at Ladbrokes, BetEasy or Sportsbet. To find out how to stream the Coolmore Legacy live, see our guide to watch the race.


The Coolmore Legacy features a host of special offers from bookmakers and that includes the opportunity to claim bonus bets when becoming a new customer before the race. A range of bonus bets and special offers, deposit matches, first bet matches and no deposit bets are available from the bookmakers to take advantage of throughout the year.


Taking its place as one of four Group 1 events on Day 2 of The Championships, the Coolmore Legacy attracts the best female gallopers and is open to both fillies and mares.

Run under weight-for-age conditions, mares will carry 57kg whilst three-year-old fillies carry 54.5kg.

Similar to the Group 1 Myer Classic (1600m) held at Flemington Racecourse during the spring, the Coolmore Legacy is becoming more prestigious as it carries double the prizemoney.

Refulgence won the inaugural running of the race in 1972 when it was a Principal race and run over one mile (1600m).

It was then run over 1500m the following year and remained that way until 2008 when it was contested over 1550m at Canterbury before reverting back to 1500m between 2009 – 2013.

As of 2014 onwards, it has been contested over one mile, transferred from Rosehill Gardens to Royal Randwick and is worth $1 million in prizemoney on Day 2 of The Championships which also showcases the $4 million Queen Elizabeth Stakes (2000m), $2 million Sydney Cup (3200m) and $1 million Australian Oaks (2400m).

The most reliable lead-up race to the Coolmore Legacy is the Group 1 Coolmore Classic (1500m).

The Coolmore Classic is currently held at Rosehill Gardens four weeks earlier than the Coolmore Legacy which allows some runners to compete in the Emancipation Stakes which is in the middle with a two-week break either side; this allows the option for fillies and mares to contest both events in the lead-up.

Some classy gallopers have won the race, including Ducatoon (1981), Camino Rose (1999), Danglissa (2000), Hosannah (2003), Mnemosyne (2006), Divine Madonna (2007), Forensics (2008), Neroli (2009), Typhoon Tracy (2010) and More Joyous (2011-12), Appearance (2013) and Alizee (2018).

Coolmore Legacy Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Danglissa
2001 Sorrento
2002 Ugachaka
2003 Hosannah
2004 In A Bound
2005 Ike's Dream
2006 Mnemosyne
2007 Divine Madonna
2008 Forensics
2009 Neroli
2010 Typhoon Tracy
2011 More Joyous
2012 More Joyous
2013 Appearance
2014 Diamond Drille
2015 Amanpour
2016 Azkadellia
2017 Foxplay
2018 Alizee
2019 Kenedna
2020 Con Te Partiro


Originally known as the ‘Sandy Course,’ Randwick Racecourse was first used in 1833 where a private match race between two horses was held.

In 1840 the track was abandoned as a racecourse and used for training purposes before the Australian Jockey Club (AJC) moved its headquarters to Randwick and held a meeting in 1860.

The Queen Elizabeth II stand was opened to the public on August 4, 1969, and in 1992, Queen Elizabeth II visited Randwick and opened the new $30 million Paddock Grandstand.

The Australian Derby (2400m) remains one of the longest standing races to be held at Randwick after its inaugural running took place in 1861.


Randwick is the largest racetrack in New South Wales and all races are run in a clockwise direction. It is a sweeping track with a rise from the 300m mark to the winning post in the home straight.

As well as the main track, Randwick Racecourse contains a second track known as Kensington. Due to large rainfall in the area, Kensington has been reconstructed using the Strathayr racing surface which is similar to Moonee Valley.

Strathayr is a turf cover over a base of sand, this means it is a free draining track which can take a substantial amount of rain without affecting the rating.