George Ryder Stakes Tips: Who history points to winning

  • Which horse do the long term trends point towards in the George Ryder Stakes?
Winx won the George Ryder on four occasions

The George Ryder Stakes (1500m) shapes as a tantalising affair and pits together some gun gallopers in the form of Te Akau Shark, Super Seth and The Bostonian.

Interestingly, this will be the first time since 2014 where we don’t see Winx in the race. The retired champion claimed the $1 million race in 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019, eclipsing the likes of Lonhro and Manikato, who were two-time winners of the Rosehill Group 1.

So just which contender in the 2020 edition can join Winx on the honour roll?
Using history as a guide, we have explored the recent statistics of the George Ryder, focussing on the results since 2000. Here are a few things for you to consider.

Favourites have a reasonable record in the George Ryder, winning on eight occasions since 2000. Pierro (2013), Danleigh (2011) and Lonhro (2003 & 2004) are other favourites to score in the race. The lowest priced favourite to be rolled in this race since 2000 was Paratroopers at $1.95 in 2006.

14 of the 20 winners have scored at odds of $7 or below. Six have won at double figure odds. In early markets this year, Te Akau Shark is at $2.15, Super Seth is at $5.50 and The Bostonian is at $7. Dreamforce ($8.50) and Alizee ($10) head the rest. Winx’ former trainer, Chris Waller, has been a dominant force in this race, claiming it on seven occasions in the past 10 years. Metal Bender, Rangirangdoo and Danleigh are his other winners. However, Waller is without a runner this year.

Of the trainers with horses in the race in 2020, John Hawkes is a three time winner, courtesy of Lonhro (twice) and Lord Essex. In the past four years, Winx ran in the Chipping Norton Stakes (1600m) in the lead up. Te Akau Shark won that race this year, while Happy Clapper was 5th and Dreamforce was 8th.

Four winners have come through the Canterbury Stakes (1300m) since 2000 and they are Pierro, Metal Bender, Rangirangdoo and Al Mansour in 2000. Only Pierro was good enough to win both, while the latter group improved to take out the George Ryder after missing out in the Chipping Norton. The Bostonian claimed the Canterbury Stakes this year. Alizee was 5th. Five-year-olds and six-year-olds have combined to win the George Ryder on 11 occasions since 2000. Of this year’s field, Te Akau Shark, The Bostonian and Alizee are five, while Best Of Days is six.

Super Seth, Brandenburg and Spend will be out to join Pierro, Weekend Hussler (2008), Haradasun (2007) and Racing To Win (2006) as horses to have won the George Ryder aged three. Winx is the only mare to win the George Ryder Stakes this millennium. Alizee is the only mare in the race this year.

Hugh Bowman is a six-time winner of this race, partnering Winx on all four occasions as well as Court’s In Session in 2005 and Danleigh in 2009. He rides Alizee this year. James McDonald (The Bostonian) and Glen Boss (Brandenburg) are the other hoops in this year’s edition of the race have won the George Ryder.

Suggested bet:

Te Akau Shark

Te Akau Shark $2.15 Bet now!