Golden Rose Stakes Odds
Golden Rose

Golden Rose Stakes Odds

Golden Slipper winner Farnan and JJ Atkins winner Rothfire are equal favourites for the Golden Rose Stakes at Rosehill Gardens on September 26.

Racingbase.com.au is your home of the 2020 Golden Rose Stakes. The race will take place on Saturday, September 26, 2020, and will be the third Group 1 of the Sydney Spring Carnival.

The $1 million race attracts the very best three-year-olds as they battle it out in the second Group 1 of the Sydney Carnival in an event which has become a “stallion-making” race.

We provide you with Golden Rose tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information.

Golden Rose Tips

When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 Golden Rose Stakes (1400m) at Rosehill, keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

As a set weight race, colts and geldings are required to carry 55.5kg and fillies must carry 53.5kg but the advantage doesn’t equate into an advantage with only one filly winning the Golden Rose in the last 11 years – Forensics.

Our experts assess all the Golden Rose runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2020 Golden Rose tips to help you back the winner.

Will we see another win for the males? And who will be this year’s star three-year-old to follow for the rest of the Spring?

Tipster Aaron Hamilton has provided his 2020 Golden Rose tips and selections.

Golden Rose Odds

Leading bookmakers have the latest 2020 Golden Rose betting odds available in advantage of the race. There will be plenty of movements in the Golden Rose betting markets in the days leading up to the race following the barrier draw. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.


The Golden Rose Stakes is a 1400m Group 1 sprint race held at Rosehill Racecourse during the Sydney Spring Carnival.

Previously known as the Peter Pan Stakes, the Golden Rose was elevated to Group 1 status in 2009 with Denman winning the race that year.

The previous year in 2008, the Golden Rose was run twice after the 2007 spring event was cancelled due to the Equine Influenza outbreak.

The race is the first Group 1 race of the new racing season in Sydney each year and is one of the highest paying events in the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival, which takes place between late August and early September.

The top prize of $1 million dollars attracts a great group of three year old sprinters.

Being the only million dollar race of the spring in New South Wales, the race has become the spring event in which to showcase up and coming three-year-olds who have their focus on the feature races of both Sydney and Melbourne.

The most reliable indicator for The Golden Rose has been the Group 3 Run to the Rose, held the previous month also at Rosehill.

The Run to the Rose has provided a number of Golden Rose winners and placegetters in recent years such as Exosphere (2015), Hallowed Crown (2014), Denman (2009) and Paratroopers (2005) all of which have claimed the Run To The Rose and Golden Rose double.

Epaulette won the Run to the Rose before finishing 3rd in The Golden Rose in 2012, while the talented Dissident (2nd in 2013) finished runner-up in both races and a great number of gallopers have won or placed in each of the races.

Other races proven to aid form study are the Group 3 Up And Coming Stakes for three-year-old colts & geldings and Silver Shadow Stakes for three-year-old fillies, both of which are held earlier in the season and also make ideal lead up races to the Golden Rose.

Manawanui (2011) and Court Command (2006) managed to take out the Up And Coming Stakes and Golden Rose double, while Scissor Kick (2nd in 2014) won the Up And Coming Stakes before running a place in the Golden Rose. Duporth (2008) ran third in the Up And Coming Stakes before winning th Golden Rose.

As a set weight race, colts and geldings are required to carry 55.5kg and fillies must carry 53.5kg.

The Golden Rose is held on the same day as the Group 2 Theo Marks Stakes and Group 3 Kingston Town Stakes.

Golden Rose Winners (Since 2000)

2019 Bivouac
2018 The Autumn Sun
2017 Trapeze Artist
2016 Astern
2015 Exosphere
2014 Hallowed Crown
2013 Zoustar
2012 Epaulette
2011 Manawanui
2010 Toorak Toff
2009 Denman
2008 Duporth
2008 Forensics
2007 No Race
2006 Court Command
2005 Paratroopers
2004 Doonan
2003 In Top Swing
2002 Sportsman
2001 Magic Albert
2000 Dandify


Founded in 1947, the Rosehill Racecourse is home to the richest two-year-old race in the world, the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes.

First held in 1957 the juvenile sprint was won by Todman by an impressive 8 length margin.

The prestigious The BMW (2400m) is also held at Rosehill and has been won by champion racehorses such as: Hyperno (1978), Kingston Town (1980), Bonecrusher (1986) and Octagonal (1996 & 97).

The track is approximately 23 kilometres to the west of Sydney’s city centre and offers quality viewing for punters having modern three tiered stands with bars, restaurants and betting facilities.

Rosehill Track Description

Rosehill Racecourse consists of four long sweeping turns and horses that have drawn an inside gate are advantaged.

It is difficult to lead all the way when the rail is in the true position, but when the rail is out 4 metres or more, all runners are provided an even opportunity.