2020 Inglis Sires' Tips & Betting Advice

Pierro is a former winner of the Sires Produce Stakes
Inglis Sires'

Sires Produce Stakes Tips: Who history points to winning

The Sires Produce Stakes is the first of four Group 1 races at Randwick on Saturday. Who does history suggest will win the 1400m race for the two-year-olds?

Racingbase.com.au is your home of the 2020 Inglis Siresā€™. The race will take place on Saturday, 4 April, 2020 at Randwick Racecourse.

We provide you with Inglis Siresā€™ tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream to watch the race unfold.

2020 Inglis Sires'

Date Saturday, April 4, 2020
Track Royal Randwick
Distance 1400m
Class Group 1
Race Type Set Weights
Prizemoney $1 million
Age 2YOs


When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 Inglis Siresā€™Ā (1400m) at Randwick, keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the Inglis Siresā€™ runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2020 tips to help you back the winner.

Tipster Aaron Hamilton will provide his tips and selections for the 2020 Inglis Siresā€™ once the field has been finalised.


Leading bookmakersĀ SportsbetĀ andĀ BetEasyĀ have the latest 2020 Inglis Siresā€™Ā betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in theĀ Inglis Siresā€™Ā betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.


Australiaā€™s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch theĀ Inglis Siresā€™Ā (and all other races from New South Wales tracks) free of charge. You can watch all Randwick races including theĀ Inglis Siresā€™Ā streamed live online at Ladbrokes, BetEasy or Sportsbet. To find outĀ how to stream the Inglis Siresā€™ live, see our guide to watch the race.


The Inglis Siresā€™ features a host of special offers from bookmakers and that includes the opportunity to claim bonus bets when becoming a new customer before the race. A range of bonus bets and special offers, deposit matches, first bet matches and no deposit bets are available from the bookmakers to take advantage of throughout the year.


The two-year-old set-weights race takes place on the third to last week of the Sydney Autumn Carnival and is one of four Group 1 races on Day 1 of The Championships.

Glencoe won the inaugural Sires Produce Stakes in 1867 when the race was run over one mile (1600m). The race has been called the Inglis Siresā€™ since 2014.

Although the race was originally run over one mile and is currently run over 1400m, from 1905 to 1908 the Inglis Siresā€™ was a six furlong race (1200m).

The race now forms part of the two-year-old Triple Crown which includes the Golden Slipper Stakes (1200m), Inglis Siresā€™, and Champagne Stakes (1600m).

With $1 million in prizemoney the Inglis Siresā€™Ā is a natural progression for Golden Slipper runners that can stretch out to beyond a sprinting distance.

The Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes (1200m) held at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse two weeks earlier is the most reliable guide to the Inglis Siresā€™.

The late TJ Smith and daughter Gai Waterhouse share the record for most training wins in the Inglis Siresā€™Ā with seven apiece.

Winners of the Inglis Siresā€™Ā have generally gone on to compete in the Group 1 Champagne Stakes held at Royal Randwick two weeks later.

Other notable winners of the Inglis Siresā€™Ā include Robinson Crusoe (1876), Chester (1877), Ajax (1937), Shannon (1944), Tulloch (1957), Baguette (1970), Luskin Star (1977), Octagonal (1995), Sebring (2008) and Pierro (2012).

Sires Produce Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Assertive Lad
2001 Viscount
2002 Victory Vein
2003 Hasna
2004 Dance Hero
2005 Fashions Afield
2006 Excites
2007 Camarilla
2008 Sebring
2009 Manhattan Rain
2010 Yosei
2011 Helmet
2012 Pierro
2013 Guelph
2014 Peggy Jean
2015 Pride Of Dubai
2016 Yankee Rose
2017 Invader
2018 El Dorado Dreaming
2019 Microphone
2020 King's Legacy


Originally known as the ā€˜Sandy Course,ā€™ Randwick Racecourse was first used in 1833 where a private match race between two horses was held.

In 1840 the track was abandoned as a racecourse and used for training purposes before the Australian Jockey Club (AJC) moved its headquarters to Randwick and held a meeting in 1860.

The Queen Elizabeth II stand was opened to the public on August 4, 1969, and in 1992, Queen Elizabeth II visited Randwick and opened the new $30 million Paddock Grandstand.

The Australian Derby (2400m) remains one of the longest standing races to be held at Randwick after its inaugural running took place in 1861.


Randwick is the largest racetrack in New South Wales and all races are run in a clockwise direction. It is a sweeping track with a rise from the 300m mark to the winning post in the home straight.

As well as the main track, Randwick Racecourse contains a second track known as Kensington. Due to large rainfall in the area, Kensington has been reconstructed using the Strathayr racing surface which is similar to Moonee Valley.

Strathayr is a turf cover over a base of sand, this means it is a free draining track which can take a substantial amount of rain without affecting the rating.