2018 Kennedy Mile Tips & Betting Advice

Racingbase.com.au is your home of the 2018 Kennedy Mile. The race will take place on Saturday, November 3, 2018, and will be part of Derby Day at Flemington.

Some of the world’s best mile horses will collide in one of four Group 1 races on the day.

We provide you with Kennedy Mile tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream of the race unfold.


Looking for the winner of the Kennedy Mile can be a daunting task, but keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the Kennedy Mile runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2018 tips to help you back the winner.

Tipster Aaron Hamilton has provided his 2018 Kennedy Mile tips and selections ahead of the big race.


Leading bookmakers Sportsbet and Neds have the latest 2018 Kennedy Mile betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the betting markets in the days leading up to the race.


Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Kennedy Mile (and all other races from Victorian tracks) free of charge. You can watch all Flemington races streamed live online at Ladbrokes, BetEasy or Sportsbet. To find out how to stream the 2018 Kennedy Mile live, see our guide to watch the race.


The Kennedy Mile is a Group 1 handicap event run during the Melbourne Cup Carnival in late October or early November.

The race is run over 1600 metres and carries prizemoney of $1,000,000.

In a change to the Melbourne Cup Carnival’s racing program, the Victorian Racing Club (VRC) announced that the Emirates Stakes (held on the final day of the carnival) would become known as the Kennedy Mile and moved to be run on Derby Day, while the Group 1 Mackinnon Stakes would be renamed to the Emirates Stakes and moved to the final day, Stakes Day.

In recent years, the Kennedy Mile has increased significantly in prizemoney and is widely regarded as one of the richest mile races in the country. It rates just as high as the Autumn Carnival equivalent, the Doncaster Mile.

The race holds a honour roll of winners which reads as a who’s who of mile performers. Names such as Storm Queen (1966), Vain (1969), Family Of Man (1978) Better Loosen Up (1989) and Shaftsbury Avenue (1990) have taken out the race.

In more recent years, winners such as Testa Rossa (2000), Desert Eagle (2001), Happy Trails (2012), Boban (2013), Turn Me Loose (2015), Le Romain (2016) and Shillelagh (2017) have also won the event.

Lead-up races to consider are the Group 1 Toorak Handicap over 1600 metres run on Caulfield Stakes day and the Group 2 Crystal Mile run two weeks later at Moonee Valley. A select few may also come through the Group 1 Cox Plate over 2040 metres run the same day.

Kennedy Mile Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Testa Rossa
2001 Desert Eagle
2002 Scenic Peak
2003 Titanic Jack
2004 Sky Cuddle
2005 Valedictum
2006 Divine Madonna
2007 Tears I Cry
2008 All Silent
2009 All American
2010 Wall Street
2011 Albert The Fat
2012 Happy Trails
2013 Boban
2014 Hucklebuck
2015 Turn Me Loose
2016 Le Romain
2017 Shillelagh
2018 Best Of Days


Flemington first opened in 1840 and was known originally known as Melbourne Racecourse. The original approach road to the racecourse passed through a property owned by James Watson.

He named his property Flemington after his wife’s hometown of Flemington in Morayshire, Scotland and it is believed that this is how the racecourse’s name was first introduced.

Since then, the track has become the centre-point of Australian thoroughbred horse racing. It was added to the Australian National Heritage list in November 2006 and the site is also listed on the Victorian Heritage Register.

The land in which Flemington racecourse now stands was owned by Robert Fleming who intended to use the area for farming cattle and sheep, along with running a butchery in the early 1800’s.

In 1864, the Victoria Racing Club was introduced to Flemington and up until 2001 acted as the principal authority responsible for managing the racing at the track and across Victoria, Australia.

Flemington hosts a total of 14 Group 1s throughout the Australian racing year, headed by the Melbourne Cup and Victoria Derby in the Spring Carnival in October and November.

The Melbourne Cup has been the centrepiece throughout the history of Flemington Racecourse. The two-mile handicap contest is the richest in the Australian racing calendar and routinely draws hundred of thousands of racegoers to the course each November.

Since its first running in 1861, the Melbourne Cup has produced a vast variety of longing memories at Flemington, both on and off of the track. The blend of over 100,000 attendees and world class thoroughbred racing adds further gloss to Flemington’s already rich history.

In 1875, the Melbourne Cup was awarded public holiday status due to the demand for Australian citizens to witness the unparalleled experience that the raceday provides.


Flemington racecourse boasts a large pear shaped course with a circumference of 2,400 metres. It also has a straight six-furlong home-straight known as ‘The Straight Six’ which hosts many of Australia’s most valuable sprint contests including the Darley Classic.

Racing at Flemington is run in an anticlockwise direction making it a left-handed track with a long, sweeping final turn before the straight.

The track itself underwent a number of improvements during the early 21st century, including a new $45 million grandstand which opened in 2000.