Makybe Diva Stakes 2020 Race Guide is your home of the 2020 Makybe Diva Stakes, which will take place on Saturday, September 12, 2020 at Flemington Racecourse.

The Makybe Diva Stakes will once again be an early Melbourne Spring Carnival outing for some of the leading contenders for the Caulfield Cup and Cox Plate.

We provide you with Makybe Diva Stakes tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live Makybe Diva Stakes stream to watch the race unfold.

READ: Tips | Results & Replays | History Top 5 Winners | Field & Barrier Draw

Makybe Diva Stakes


Date September 12, 2020
Track Flemington
Distance 1600m
Class Group 1
Race Type Weight-For-Age
Prizemoney $750,000
Age 3YO & Upwards

Makybe Diva Stakes Tips

When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m) at Flemington, keeping some important factors on your side can help you

Some unusual statistical data can be seen when looking at this event over the past decade – so unearthing the winner is no easy task.

Our experts assess all the Makybe Diva Stakes runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2020 Makybe Diva Stakes tips to help you back the winner.

Will we see more woe for the favourites in the race with the market leader having a disappointing record? Will the five-year-olds continue to dominant their rivals?

Tipster Aaron Hamilton has provided his 2020 Makybe Diva Stakes tips and selections.

Makybe Diva stakes Winning trends

We take a look at the winning trends of the Makybe Diva Stakes and try and identify winning patterns based on barriers, age, lead-up form, trainers, jockeys and more.

Selections based on Makybe Diva Stakes Trends will be available following the barrier draw.

Tipster Adam Cusworth provides his 2020 Makybe Diva Stakes Trends.

Makybe diva stakes 2020 nominations

Nominations for the Makybe Diva Stakes will close at 12:00pm on September 7, 2020.

To see the full list of 2020 Makybe Diva Stakes Nominations click here

Makybe diva stakes 2020 field & barrier draw

The final field and barrier draw for the Makybe Diva Stakes will be declared at 9:30am on September 9, 2020.

To see the  2020 Makybe Diva Stakes field & barrier draw click here

2019 Makybe Diva Stakes Results & Replay

1stGattingJamie KahDarren Mcauliffe859kg$101
2ndMystic JourneyAnthony DarmaninAdam Trinder1056.5kg$2.05
3rdMr QuickieJohn AllenPhillip Stokes1258.5kg$31
4thHartnellCraig WilliamsJames Cummings1159kg$10

To see more Makybe Diva Stakes results & replays click here

Makybe Diva Stakes 2020 Odds

Leading bookmakers Sportsbet and bet365 will be among those offering the earliest betting odds on the 2020 Makybe Diva Stakes. There will be plenty of movements in the Makybe Diva Stakes betting markets in the days leading up to the race following the release of the final field and barrier draw. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.

Makybe Diva Stakes Live Stream

Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Makybe Diva Stakes (and all other races from Victorian tracks) free of charge. You can watch all Flemington races including the Makybe Diva Stakes streamed live online at Ladbrokes, CrownBet, Sportsbet or bet365. To find out how to stream the 2019 Makybe Diva Stakes live, see our guide to watch the race.

Makybe Diva Stakes History

The Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m) is a Group 1 race staged at Flemington Racecourse during the early part of the Melbourne Spring Carnival in September.

Originating as the Craiglee Stakes in 1948 when a Group 2 race, the name was retitled to the Makybe Diva Stakes in 2007 to honour three-time Melbourne Cup winning mare.

Read more about the History of the Makybe Diva Stakes

Makybe Diva Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2019 Gatting
2018 Grunt
2017 Humidor
2016 Palentino
2015 Fawkner
2014 Dissident
2013 Foreteller
2012 Southern Speed
2011 Littorio
2010 Shocking
2009 Vigor
2008 Weekend Hussler
2007 Marasco
2006 Pompeii Ruler
2005 Confectioner
2004 Hug's Dancer
2003 Pentastic
2002 Northerly
2001 Native Jazz
2000 Go Flash Go

TOP 5 makybe diva Stakes winners

Check out our Top 5 Makybe Diva Stakes Winners and see which champion gallopers made the cut.

Flemington Racecourse

Flemington first opened in 1840 and was known originally known as Melbourne Racecourse. The original approach road to the racecourse passed through a property owned by James Watson.

He named his property Flemington after his wife’s hometown of Flemington in Morayshire, Scotland and it is believed that this is how the racecourse’s name was first introduced.

Since then, the track has become the centre-point of Australian thoroughbred horse racing. It was added to the Australian National Heritage list in November 2006 and the site is also listed on the Victorian Heritage Register.

The land in which Flemington racecourse now stands was owned by Robert Fleming who intended to use the area for farming cattle and sheep, along with running a butchery in the early 1800’s.

In 1864, the Victoria Racing Club was introduced to Flemington and up until 2001 acted as the principal authority responsible for managing the racing at the track and across Victoria, Australia.

Flemington hosts a total of 14 Group 1s throughout the Australian racing year, headed by the Melbourne Cup and Victoria Derby in the Spring Carnival in October and November.

The Melbourne Cup has been the centrepiece throughout the history of Flemington Racecourse. The two-mile handicap contest is the richest in the Australian racing calendar and routinely draws hundred of thousands of racegoers to the course each November.

Since its first running in 1861, the Melbourne Cup has produced a vast variety of longing memories at Flemington, both on and off of the track. The blend of over 100,000 attendees and world class thoroughbred racing adds further gloss to Flemington’s already rich history.

In 1875, the Melbourne Cup was awarded public holiday status due to the demand for Australian citizens to witness the unparalleled experience that the raceday provides.

Flemington Racecourse Track Description

Flemington racecourse boasts a large pear shaped course with a circumference of 2,400 metres. It also has a straight six-furlong home-straight known as ‘The Straight Six’ which hosts many of Australia’s most valuable sprint contests including the Darley Classic.

Racing at Flemington is run in an anticlockwise direction making it a left-handed track with a long, sweeping final turn before the straight.

The track itself underwent a number of improvements during the early 21st century, including a new $45 million grandstand which opened in 2000.