Manikato Stakes 2020 race guide is your home of the 2020 Manikato Stakes. The race will take place on Friday, October 23, 2020, and will headline the Cox Plate eve program at Moonee Valley

Some of the world’s best sprinters will line up under the lights at Moonee Valley chasing the Group 1 prize.

We provide you with Manikato Stakes tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live Manikato Stakes stream to watch the race unfold.

CONTENTS: Tips & Trends | Nominations | Field & Barrier Draw | Results & Replays | Odds | History | Winners | Top 5 Winners | FAQ’s

Manikato Stakes


Date October 23, 2020
Track The Valley
Distance 1200m
Class Group 1
Race Type Weight-For-Age
Prizemoney $1,000,000
Age No Age Restrictions


When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 Manikato Stakes (1200m), keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the Manikato Stakes runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2020 tips to help you back the winner.

Tipster Aaron Hamilton provides his 2020 Manikato Stakes tips and selections following the barrier draw.

Manikato Stakes WINNING TRENDS

We take a look at the winning trends of the Manikato Stakes and try and identify winning patterns based on barriers, age, lead-up form, trainers, jockeys and more.

Selections based on Manikato Stakes Trends will be available following the barrier draw.

Tipster Adam Cusworth provides his 2020 Manikato Stakes Trends.

Manikato Stakes 2020 NOMINATIONS

The first round of nominations for Manikato Stakes will be taken on September 22, and nominations will close at 12:00pm on October 6.

To see the full list of 2020 Manikato Stakes Nominations click here

Manikato Stakes 2020 FIELD & BARRIER DRAW

The final field and barrier draw for the Manikato Stakes will be declared at 8:30am on October 20, 2020.

To see the 2020 Manikato Stakes field & barrier draw click here

2019 Manikato Stakes results & replay

1stLoving GabyCraig WilliamsCiaron Maher & David Eustace251kg$7
2ndVital SilverBen MelhamDaniel & Ben Pearce958.5kg$31
3rdAnaheedTim ClarkPeter & Paul Snowden1151kg$12
4thRock MagicJarrad NoskeChris Gangemi558.5kg$41

To see more Manikato Stakes results and replays click here


Leading bookmakers Sportsbet, Ladbrokes, Neds, Pointsbet, bet365 & Palmberbet have the latest 2020 Manikato Stakes betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.


Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Manikato Stakes (and all other races from Victorian tracks) free of charge. You can watch all Moonee Valley races streamed live online at Ladbrokes or Sportsbet. To find out how to stream the 2020 Manikato Stakes live, see our guide to watch the race.


The Manikato Stakes is a premier Group 1 sprint race held at Moonee Valley on the day before the Cox Plate meeting.

The feature takes place under the lights on Friday night, is run under weight-for-age (WFA) conditions over 1200 metres and carries prizemoney of $1 million.

Read more about the History of the Manikato Stakes

Manikato Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2019 Loving Gaby
2018 Brave Smash
2017 Hey Doc
2016 Rebel Dane
2015 Chautauqua
2014 Lankan Rupee
2013 Buffering
2012 Sea Siren
2011 Sepoy
2010 Hay List
2009 Danleigh
2008 Typhoon Zed
2007 Gold Edition
2006 Miss Andretti
2005 Spark Of Life
2004 Spark Of Life
2003 Spinning Hill
2002 Spinning Hill
2001 Piavonic
2000 Sunline


Check out our Top 5 Manikato Stakes Winners and see which champion gallopers made the cut.


Horse racing action has taken place at Moonee Valley Racecourse since 1883 including the memorable Cox Plate victories of Dulcify, Kingston Town, Surround and Sunline.

A record crowd of over 50,000, meanwhile, witnessed the ‘race of the century’ in 1986 between Bonecrusher and Our Waverley Star,

The Cox Plate is the showpiece event at Moonee Valley each year. Named after course founder William Samuel Cox, the prestigious Cox Plate was first run in 1922 and has since developed into one of the world’s biggest international thoroughbred races.

Cox purchased a farm belonging to John F. Feehan and developed what is now known as Moonee Valley Racecourse.

Since the Cox Plate was founded in 1922, Cox Plate day has developed into a celebration of sport and fashion as Australia’s most profile inpiduals descend upon Moonee Valley to showcase the latest style each October.

It is now widely-viewed as one of the biggest social experiences in the sporting calendar each year and routinely attracts a stellar capacity crowd.

Moonee Valley hosts a total of four Group 1 races during the season, including three sprint races contested at a distance of 1200m.

The Manikato Stakes, Moir Stakes and William Reid Stakes all see speedy types clash at Moonee Valley, while the jewel of the crown is the Cox Plate, one third of Australia’s triple crown.

The racetrack is home to the Moonee Valley Racing Club and is situated just six kilometres from Melbourne City Centre.

Moonee Valley Track Description

Moonee Valley Racecourse boasts a unique rectangle-shaped track with a circumference of just over 1800m.

Moonee Valley is widely-recognised for its short home-straight of only 173m, making it the shortest of every course in Australia.

The unique, tight turning cambered circuit favours horses that are trained on small tracks such as Mornington, while horses trained on large open tracks such as Flemington can find it a difficult track to master.

The short straight favours on pace runners although it is possible for horses to make ground from the rear, providing they make a well-timed run.