2020 Newmarket Handicap Tips & Betting Advice

Load more

Racingbase.com.au is your home of the 2020 Newmarket Handicap. The race will take place on Saturday, 7 March, 2020 at Flemington Racecourse.

We provide you with Newmarket Handicap tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream to watch the race unfold.

2020 Newmarket Handicap

Date Saturday, March 7, 2020
Track Flemington Racecourse
Distance 1200m
Class Group 1
Race Type Open Handicap
Prizemoney $1.25 million
Age No Age Restrictions


When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap (1200m) at Flemington, keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the Newmarket Handicap runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2020 tips to help you back the winner.

Tipster Aaron Hamilton will provide his 2020 Newmarket Handicap tips and selections once the final field has been declared.


Leading bookmakers Sportsbet and BetEasy have the latest 2020 Newmarket Handicap betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the Newmarket Handicap betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.


Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Newmarket Handicap (and all other races from Victorian tracks) free of charge. You can watch all Flemington races including the Newmarket Handicap streamed live online at Ladbrokes, BetEasy or Sportsbet. To find out how to stream the Newmarket Handicap live, see our guide to watch the race.


Sprinters compete down Flemington’s famous straight in the Newmarket Handicap which is held on a day known as ‘Super Saturday.’

Standing alongside the Newmarket Handicap is the Group 1 Australian Cup (2000m) on the Flemington program.

Other races on Super Saturday include the Group 2 Sires’ Produce Stakes (1400m), Group 2 Blamey Stakes (1600m), Group 2 Kewney Stakes (1400m), Group 3 Thoroughbred Breeders Stakes (1200m) and Group 3 Schweppervescence Trophy (1600m).

The Newmarket Handicap is worth $1.25 million in prizemoney and was most recently won by The Quarterback who caused an upset at $21 in 2016.

Two lead-up races stand-out when assessing the form for the Group 1 sprint; the Group 1 Oakleigh Plate (1100m) and the Group 1 Black Caviar Lightning (1000m).

First run in 1874, the race was won by Maid Of Avenel after VRC committeeman Captain Frederick Standish thought a “short and merry” race over six furlongs would add interest to the Club’s autumn program.

The illustrious honour roll lists the who’s who of Australian sprinters and in recent times Newmarket Handicap winners have travelled to the UK to compete at Royal Ascot.

Brazen Beau 2015 (Diamond Jubilee Stakes – 2nd), Black Caviar (Diamond Jubilee Stakes – 1st), Scenic Blast 2009 (King’s Stand Stakes – 1st), Miss Andretti 2007 (King’s Stand Stakes – 1st) and Takeover Target 2006 (King’s Stand Stakes – 1st) have all travelled half-way around the world and franked the Australian sprinting form.

Other famous winners of the Newmarket Handicap include Malua (1884), Wakeful (1901), Heroic (1926), Ajax (1938), Bernborough (1946), Royal Gem (1948), Baguette (1971), Placid Ark (1987), Schillaci (1992), General Nediym (1998), Exceed And Excel (2004), Alinghi (2005), Weekend Hussler (2008), Hay List (2012), Lankan Rupee (2014) and Brazen Beau (2015).

Five horses in the history of the event have won the Newmarket Handicap twice with Aspen (1880-81), Gothic (1927-28), Correct (1960-61), Razor Sharp (1982-83) and Redkirk Warrior (2017-18) achieving the rare feat.

Some of the early winners of the race were able to extend their distances from 1200m right up to staying distances, as in the case of Malua who also won the Oakleigh Plate, the Adelaide Cup and the Melbourne Cup in the same year.

In 1889 he also won the Grand National Hurdle while he was serving his stud career having sired Malvolio from the mare Madcap, whose sire was the famous Robinson Crusoe of ‘Shipwreck’ fame; Malvolio won the Melbourne Cup in 1891.

Ajax won the Newmarket Handicap in 1938 in what was part of an 18-race winning streak until he ran in the Rawson Plate at 40/1 on ($1.025) in a three-horse race and was beaten; a member of the Australian Racing Hall of Fame, Ajax only missed a place once in 46 starts and was one of the most versatile racehorses of all-time.

As well as being remembered for his freakish talent, Ajax will also be remembered for being the shortest priced favourite to get rolled in Australian racing history.

The race record is held by the immortal Black Caviar who ran 1:07.36 in 2011.

Newmarket Handicap Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Miss Pennymoney
2001 Toledo
2002 Rubitano
2003 Belle Du Jour
2004 Exceed And Excel
2005 Alinghi
2006 Takeover Target
2007 Miss Andretti
2008 Weekend Hussler
2009 Scenic Blast
2010 Wanted
2011 Black Caviar
2012 Hay List
2013 Shamexpress
2014 Lankan Rupee
2015 Brazen Beau
2016 The Quarterback
2017 Redkirk Warrior
2018 Redkirk Warrior
2019 Sunlight
2020 Bivouac


Flemington first opened in 1840 and was known originally known as Melbourne Racecourse. The original approach road to the racecourse passed through a property owned by James Watson.

He named his property Flemington after his wife’s hometown of Flemington in Morayshire, Scotland and it is believed that this is how the racecourse’s name was first introduced.

Since then, the track has become the centre-point of Australian thoroughbred horse racing. It was added to the Australian National Heritage list in November 2006 and the site is also listed on the Victorian Heritage Register.

The land in which Flemington racecourse now stands was owned by Robert Fleming who intended to use the area for farming cattle and sheep, along with running a butchery in the early 1800’s.

In 1864, the Victoria Racing Club was introduced to Flemington and up until 2001 acted as the principal authority responsible for managing the racing at the track and across Victoria, Australia.

Flemington hosts a total of 14 Group 1s throughout the Australian racing year, headed by the Melbourne Cup and Victoria Derby in the Spring Carnival in October and November.

The Melbourne Cup has been the centrepiece throughout the history of Flemington Racecourse. The two-mile handicap contest is the richest in the Australian racing calendar and routinely draws hundred of thousands of racegoers to the course each November.

Since its first running in 1861, the Melbourne Cup has produced a vast variety of longing memories at Flemington, both on and off of the track. The blend of over 100,000 attendees and world class thoroughbred racing adds further gloss to Flemington’s already rich history.

In 1875, the Melbourne Cup was awarded public holiday status due to the demand for Australian citizens to witness the unparalleled experience that the raceday provides.


Flemington racecourse boasts a large pear shaped course with a circumference of 2,400 metres. It also has a straight six-furlong home-straight known as ‘The Straight Six’ which hosts many of Australia’s most valuable sprint contests including the Darley Classic.

Racing at Flemington is run in an anticlockwise direction making it a left-handed track with a long, sweeping final turn before the straight.

The track itself underwent a number of improvements during the early 21st century, including a new $45 million grandstand which opened in 2000.