2020 Queen Elizabeth Stakes Tips & Betting Advice

Racingbase.com.au is your home of the 2020 Queen Elizabeth Stakes. The race will take place on Saturday, 11 April, 2020 at Randwick Racecourse.

We provide you with Queen Elizabeth Stakes tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream to watch the race unfold.

Queen Elizabeth Stakes 2020

Date Saturday 11 April
Track Randwick Racecourse
Distance 2000m
Class Group 1
Race Type Weight for Age
Prizemoney $4 million
Age 3YO and Upwards


When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 Queen Elizabeth Stakes (2000m) at Randwick, keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the Queen Elizabeth Stakes runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2020 tips to help you back the winner.

Tipster Aaron Hamilton will provide his tips and selections for the 2020 Queen Elizabeth Stakes once the field has been finalised.


Leading bookmakers Sportsbet and BetEasy have the latest 2020 Queen Elizabeth Stakes betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the Queen Elizabeth Stakes betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.


Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Queen Elizabeth Stakes (and all other races from New South Wales tracks) free of charge. You can watch all Randwick races including the Queen Elizabeth Stakes streamed live online at Ladbrokes, BetEasy or Sportsbet. To find out how to stream the Queen Elizabeth Stakes live, see our guide to watch the race.


The Queen Elizabeth Stakes features a host of special offers from bookmakers and that includes the opportunity to claim bonus bets when becoming a new customer before the race. A range of bonus bets and special offers, deposit matches, first bet matches and no deposit bets are available from the bookmakers to take advantage of throughout the year.


The Queen Elizabeth Stakes, originally known as the AJC Queen’s Plate, was first won by Cossack in 1851. He would return to claim victory in 1852.

A very interesting fact is that Cossack would capture the AJC Queen’s Plate in 1866. This wasn’t the inaugural winner of the race though – it was his son, also named Cossack!

The AJC Queen’s Plate would remain until 1872 before changing to the AJC Plate in 1873 in what would turn out to be a historic event as Dagworth and Reprieve dead-heated for first after their three mile journey (4800m).

It was decided that a winner would need to be crowned and the two initial victors would contest the event after the last race of the day. Another thrilling contest ensued with Dagworth winning the tie-break by a short-neck.

The AJC Plate would be contested until 1954 (although the 1934 edition was run as the AJC Kings Cup) before converting to the Queen Elizabeth Stakes.

With $4 million in prizemoney the Queen Elizabeth Stakes attracts the country’s best middle-distance and staying horses, and is one of the most prestigious races on the Australian racing calendar.

In recent years, a number of international gallopers have contested the event and this number will hopefully continue to grow with the Australian Turf Club (ATC) and Racing NSW keen to attract world-class performers.

The open weight-for-age race is one of four Group 1 events on Day 2 of The Championships which also showcases the $2 million Sydney Cup (3200m), $1 million Coolmore Legacy Stakes (1600m) and $1 million Australian Oaks (2400m).

Notable winners of the Queen Elizabeth Stakes are Sportsman (1853-54), Archer (1862), The Barb (1869), Tim Whiffler (1868 & 1870-71), Chester (1878-79), Carbine (1889-91), Wakeful (1902), Poseidon (1908), Trafalgar (1909 & 1911-12), David (1921-23), Phar Lap (1930), Peter Pan (1933), Flight (1946), Tulloch (1958 & 1960-61), Ming Dynasty (1978), Jeune (1995), Doriemus (1996), Might And Power (1998), Lonhro (2003), Grand Armee (2004-05), More Joyous (2012), It’s A Dundeel (2014) and Criterion (2015).

Champion mare Winx captured the 2017 and 2018 editions as part of a winning streak in the thirties.

Queen Elizabeth Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Georgie Boy
2001 Shogun Lodge
2002 Defier
2003 Lonhro
2004 Grand Armee
2005 Grand Armee
2006 Eremein
2007 Desert War
2008 Sarrera
2009 Pompeii Ruler
2010 Road To Rock
2011 My Kingdom of Fife
2012 More Joyous
2013 Reliable Man
2014 It's A Dundeel
2015 Criterion
2016 Lucia Valentina
2017 Winx
2018 Winx
2019 Winx
2020 Addeybb


Originally known as the ‘Sandy Course,’ Randwick Racecourse was first used in 1833 where a private match race between two horses was held.

In 1840 the track was abandoned as a racecourse and used for training purposes before the Australian Jockey Club (AJC) moved its headquarters to Randwick and held a meeting in 1860.

The Queen Elizabeth II stand was opened to the public on August 4, 1969, and in 1992, Queen Elizabeth II visited Randwick and opened the new $30 million Paddock Grandstand.

The Australian Derby (2400m) remains one of the longest standing races to be held at Randwick after its inaugural running took place in 1861.


Randwick is the largest racetrack in New South Wales and all races are run in a clockwise direction. It is a sweeping track with a rise from the 300m mark to the winning post in the home straight.

As well as the main track, Randwick Racecourse contains a second track known as Kensington. Due to large rainfall in the area, Kensington has been reconstructed using the Strathayr racing surface which is similar to Moonee Valley.

Strathayr is a turf cover over a base of sand, this means it is a free draining track which can take a substantial amount of rain without affecting the rating.