2019 Railway Stakes Tips & Betting Advice

Racingbase.com.au is your home of the 2019 Railway Stakes. The race will take place on Saturday, 23 November, 2019, at Ascot.

Some interstate gallopers will clash with the best local performers in the first of three Group 1s staged during the Perth Summer Carnival.

We provide you with Railway Stakes tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information.

Railway Stakes 2019

Date Saturday, 23 November, 2019
Track Ascot Racecourse
Distance 1600m
Class Group 1
Race Type Handicap
Prize Money $1 million
Age 3YO and Upwards


Looking for the winner of the Railway Stakes can be a daunting task, but keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the Railway Stakes runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2019 tips to help you back the winner.

Tipster Aaron Hamilton has provided his 2019 Railway Stakes tips and selections ahead of the big race.


Leading bookmakers Sportsbet and Ladbrokes have the latest 2019 Railway Stakes betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.


The Railway Stakes is a Group 1 event and one of the the highlights of the Perth Summer Carnival.

Run at Ascot, the race is run over 1600m and carries prizemoney of $1 million with many east coast invaders in attendance.

With the Spring Carnival over in Melbourne, it is the first Group 1 of the Perth Carnival as racing moves to the West.

The Railway Stakes has a long history, dating back to its inaugural running in 1894 when it was run over 12 furlongs or 2400m on today’s conversion.

It has had several alterations in the race distance over the years. From 1926, it was shortened to an eight furlong or 1600m affair until 1974 where it was shortened once again to 1500m. Then, in 1984, it reverted back to the 1600m distance it has today.

Being so far away from the east coast, only a select few horses coming off a Melbourne Spring Carnival campaign make the journey across to compete in the Perth Carnival, which has seen the Railway Stakes won more often than not by local horses.

The biggest of those was the great Northerly who was locally trained and won the race in 2000. He then went on to win a Caulfield Cup (2002) and two Cox Plates (2001, 2002).

Another great name to collect the trophy was Japan Cup winner Better Loosen Up, who won the event in 1989.

The most successful horse to compete in the race was the locally trained Luckygray. After winning the race in 2011 on protest, he finished second in 2012 and then backed up to win the race again 2013.

Tudor Mak, who won the race in 1966 and 1967, is the only other horse to win the race twice.

Railway Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Northerly
2001 Old Comrade
2002 Old Fashion
2003 Hardrada
2004 Modem
2005 Covertly
2006 Belle Bizare
2007 El Presedente
2008 Gilded Venom
2009 Sniper's Bullet
2010 Gathering
2011 Luckygray
2012 Mr Moet
2013 Luckygray
2014 Elite Belle
2015 Good Project
2016 Scales Of Justice
2017 Great Shot
2018 Galaxy Star


Perth Racing (formerly the Western Australian Turf Club) has been hosting thoroughbred race meetings at Ascot Racecourse for over 150 years.

Although the course hosts three Group 1 events throughout the year, the time-honoured Perth Cup (2400m) remains one of Perth’s feature races and is held on New Year’s Day.

The racecourse is situated approximately 8 kilometres east of the Perth City Centre with the head office of The Western Australian Turf Club positioned directly opposite.


Regarded as the ‘grand old lady’ of Australian racecourses, Perth’s Ascot Racecourse is a well-drained turf track with a 300 metre inclining straight regarded by experts as the most severe test of stayers in Australia.

Ascot is one of the smaller racecourses in Australia and inside barriers can be an advantage.

Races are run in an anti-clockwise direction.