2020 Randwick Guineas Tips & Betting Advice

Racingbase.com.au is your home of the 2020 Randwick Guineas. The race will take place on Saturday, 7 March, 2020 at Randwick Racecourse.

We provide you with Randwick Guineas tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream to watch the race unfold.

Randwick Guineas 2020

Date Saturday 7 March
Track Randwick Racecourse
Distance 1600m
Class Group 1
Race Type Set Weights
Prize Money $1 million
Age 3YO


When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 Randwick Guineas (1600m) at Randwick, keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the Randwick Guineas runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2020 tips to help you back the winner.

Tipster Aaron Hamilton will provide his tips and selections for the 2020 Randwick Guineas once the field has been finalised.


Leading bookmakers Sportsbet and BetEasy have the latest 2020 Randwick Guineas betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the Randwick Guineas betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.


Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Randwick Guineas (and all other races from New South Wales tracks) free of charge. You can watch all Randwick races including the Randwick Guineas streamed live online at Ladbrokes, BetEasy or Sportsbet. To find out how to stream the Randwick Guineas live, see our guide to watch the race.


Three-year-olds compete for $1 million in this set-weights contest which is held during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

One of two Group 1 races on the program, the Randwick Guineas is the main attraction but the Canterbury Stakes (1300m) always boasts a number of stars.

Supporting the two features are the Group 2 Reisling Stakes (1200m) for the two-year-old fillies, the Group 2 Todman Stakes (1200m) for the two-year-old colts & geldings, Group 2 Challenge Stakes (1000m), Group 3 Aspiration Quality (1600m) and Group 3 Wenona Girl Handicap (1200m).

The most reliable guide to the Randwick Guineas is the Group 2 Hobartville Stakes (1400m) which is held two weeks earlier at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse. To put this into perspective, 13 of the past 21 winners have come through the Hobartville with five of them winning and none finishing worse than fourth.

Hotel Grand won the inaugural Randwick Guineas in 2006 after it replaced the Canterbury Guineas which was discontinued after the 2005 running of the race.

The Canterbury Guineas was first run in 1935 when won by Hadrian when the race was run over 1900m at Canterbury Park Racecourse.

Past winners of the Randwick Guineas include Weekend Hussler (2008), Shoot Out (2010), Mosheen (2012), It’s A Dundeel (2013), Dissident (2014), Hallowed Crown (2015), Le Romain (2016) and Kementari (2018).

Previous winners of the Canterbury Guineas include Delta (1949), Todman (1957), Veandercross (1992), Octagonal (1996), Intergaze (1997), Arena (1999), Universal Prince (2001) and Niello (2004).

Interestingly, between 1952 and 1962, four horses with ‘Prince’ in their name won the race with Prince Dakhil (1952), Prince Morvi (1953), Prince Kerdieil (1958) and Summer Prince (1962) claiming victory in the race.

To add to the strange phenomenon, Summer Prince carried on the name dominance with the second part of his name when three horses with ‘Summer’ in their name won from 1962 to 1965; the other two horses were Summer Fiesta (1963) and Fair Summer (1965).

The race has traditionally also been a strong indicator to the Rosehill Guineas which is held two weeks later at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse over 2000m.

A host of Randwick Guineas winners have gone on to compete in some of Australia’s greatest races such as the AJC Australian Derby, Doncaster Mile, Cox Plate, Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup.

The most successful trainer in the race is John Hawkes with five wins – four of them came alone with the fifth in partnership with sons Michael and Wayne.

Randwick Guineas Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Fairway
2001 Universal Prince
2002 Carnegie Express
2003 Fine Society
2004 Niello
2005 Jymcarew
2006 Hotel Grand
2007 Mentality
2008 Weekend Hussler
2009 Metal Bender
2010 Shoot Out
2011 Ilovethiscity
2012 Mosheen
2013 It's A Dundeel
2014 Dissident
2015 Hallowed Crown
2016 Le Romain
2017 Inference
2018 Kementari
2019 The Autumn Sun
2020 Shadow Hero


Originally known as the ‘Sandy Course,’ Randwick Racecourse was first used in 1833 where a private match race between two horses was held.

In 1840 the track was abandoned as a racecourse and used for training purposes before the Australian Jockey Club (AJC) moved its headquarters to Randwick and held a meeting in 1860.

The Queen Elizabeth II stand was opened to the public on August 4, 1969, and in 1992, Queen Elizabeth II visited Randwick and opened the new $30 million Paddock Grandstand.

The Australian Derby (2400m) remains one of the longest standing races to be held at Randwick after its inaugural running took place in 1861.


Randwick is the largest racetrack in New South Wales and all races are run in a clockwise direction. It is a sweeping track with a rise from the 300m mark to the winning post in the home straight.

As well as the main track, Randwick Racecourse contains a second track known as Kensington. Due to large rainfall in the area, Kensington has been reconstructed using the Strathayr racing surface which is similar to Moonee Valley.

Strathayr is a turf cover over a base of sand, this means it is a free draining track which can take a substantial amount of rain without affecting the rating.