Schweppes Australasian Oaks 2020 Tips, News & Betting Odds

Schweppes Australasian Oaks Tips
Schweppes Oaks

Australasian Oaks Tips and Preview

Looking for Schweppes Oaks (Australasian Oaks) Tips at Morphettville on Saturday, May 2? Our form expert has previewed the fillies’ event and given his top selection for the race. is your home of the 2020 Schweppes Oaks. The race will take place on Saturday, May 2, 2020 at Morphettville Racecourse.

We provide you with Schweppes Oaks tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream to watch the race unfold.

Schweppes Australasian Oaks 2020

Date Saturday, May 2, 2020
Track Morphettville Racecourse
Distance 2000m
Class Group 1
Race Type Set Weights
Prizemoney $400,000
Age 3YO Fillies


When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 Schweppes Oaks (2000m) at Morphettville, keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the Schweppes Oaks runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2019 tips to help you back the winner.

Tipster Aaron Hamilton will provide his tips and selections for the 2019 Schweppes Oaks once the field has been finalised.


Leading bookmakers Sportsbet and BetEasy have the latest 2019 Schweppes Oaks betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the Schweppes Oaks betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.


Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Schweppes Oaks (and all other races from South Australian tracks) free of charge. You can watch all Morphettville races including the Schweppes Oaks streamed live online at Ladbrokes, BetEasy or Sportsbet. To find out how to stream the Schweppes Oaks live, see our guide to watch the race.


The Schweppes Oaks features a host of special offers from bookmakers and that includes the opportunity to claim bonus bets. A range of bonus bets and special offers,  are available from the bookmakers to take advantage of throughout the year.


Three-year-old fillies compete under set weights conditions in the Australasian Oaks.

It is held alongside another Group 1 feature on the program in the Robert Sangster Stakes (1200m) for the fillies and mares.

The Australasian Oaks was first run in 1982 as a Group 3 event when taken out by Crown Oaks and Australian Derby winner Rose Of Kingston.

From 1983 onwards it has held Group 1 status and has had a number of small distance changes before reverting back to the original 2000m journey.

The following distances have all been conducted in relation to the Australasian Oaks throughout its history – 2000m, 2005m, 2006m, 2008m, 2014m, 2020m, 2024m, 2025m and 2031m.

It has been held at Morphettville for all bar one of its editions when Tully Thunder claimed the event at Victoria Park in 2002. She defeated 2003 Melbourne Cup runner-up She’s Archie by close to one length.

Carrying $500,000 in prizemoney, the race attracts the best local three-year-old fillies including interstate raiders with the most recent edition having been taken out by unbeaten Victorian filly Abbey Marie.

The Mick Kent-trained filly was having her third career start in the Australasian Oaks. She had won over 1300m and 1440m before stepping up to the 2000m and proving superior on the day.

The day is known as South Australia’s richest day of racing with support races including the Group 2 Queen of the South Stakes (1600m), Group 2 Euclase Stakes (1200m) and the Group 3 DC McKay Stakes (1100m).

Hall of Fame trainer Lee Freedman has trained the winner of the Australasian Oaks on four occasions with Miss Clipper (1986), Mannerism (1991), Gatherneaux (1992) and Grand Echezeaux (2000) all saluting for the astute horseman.

Another Hall of Fame trainer has trained the winner on three occasions with the late Bart Cummings preparing Royal Regatta (1983), Stapleton Lass (1989) and Our Tristalight (1993) to win their respective editions.

The main lead-up to the Australasian Oaks is the Group 3 Auraria Stakes (1800m) run two weeks prior with three of the past five winners having come through the race; Invest (2012), Maybe Discreet (2013) and May’s Dream (2014) all finished top four in the lead-up event without winning.

Notable winners of the Australasian Oaks include Imposera (1988), Mannerism (1991), Our Tristalight (1993), Tristalove (1994), Grand Echezeaux (2000), Anamato (2007), Zarita (2008), Gallica (2009), Lights Of Heaven (2011), May’s Dream (2014) and Delicacy (2015).

Schweppes Australasian Oaks Winners (Since 2000)

2020 Toffee Tongue
2019 Princess Jenni
2018 Sopressa
2017 Egg Tart
2016 Abbey Marie
2015 Delicacy
2014 May's Dream
2013 Maybe Discreet
2012 Invest
2011 Light Of Heavon
2010 Small Minds
2009 Gallica
2008 Zarita
2007 Anamato
2006 Marju Snip
2005 Irish Darling
2004 Rinky Dink
2003 Sound Action
2002 Tully Thunder
2001 Tempest Morn
2000 Grand Echezeaux


Morphettville Racecourse is South Australia’s largest and premier race track and plays host to up to 70 days of racing action throughout the year.

Located less than 10km from the Adelaide CBD, Morphettville’s race meetings are split between its two tracks; the Morphettville course proper and the Morphettville Parks circuit.

The Parks was official opened in June 2009 and being the inside circuit it has a smaller diameter and is narrower than the course proper.

The SAJC created a world first when installing a retractable winning post with hydraulics that enables the flexibility to alternate the running of races with minimal damage to both tracks.


Morphettville’s race meetings are split between its two tracks; the Morphettville course proper and the Morphettville Parks circuit.

The Parks was official opened in June 2009 and being the inside circuit it has a smaller diameter and is narrower than the course proper.

Since the track’s resurfacing in 2002, it has been rated as the best racecourse in the Southern Hemisphere.

With its wide and open course, Morphettville remains one of the fairest circuits for horses to race on.