Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Nominations

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Nominations Probabeel (right) (PA Images)

2021 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Nominations and Entries

Nominations for the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes (1400m) at Caulfield will closed on Monday with 20 entries received. 

Defending champion Behemoth has been nominated for the 2021 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes.

Trained by David Jolly, the six-year-old gelding has been victorious in both runs this prep, including the Group 1 Memsie Stakes (1400m) over Beau Rossa and Tofane. His Memsie Stakes victory was his 10th in his career from 24 starts.

New Zealand five-year-old mare Probabeel is amongst the nominations following her Group 3 Cockram Stakes (1200m) win. Four starts ago she had captured the Group 1 Futurity Stakes (1400m) defeating Arcadia Queen.

The Will Clarken-trained four-year-old gelding Beau Rossa looks to turn the tables on Behemoth following his 0.2-length loss in the Memsie. The pair also battled in the Group 3 Spring Stakes (1200m) at Morphettville.

Amish Boy finished second at his first run back from a spell chasing home Masked Crusader in the Group 3 The Heath 1100 Stakes (1100m). The four-year-old entire has only won a single race from 17 starts but has been placed an additional nine times in his career with career earnings almost reaching $1 million.

See below for the full list of nominations.

2021 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Nominations

Horse Trainer
1 AMISH BOY Ciaron Maher & David Eustace
2 AYSAR Ben & JD Hayes
3 BEAU ROSSA Will Clarken
4 BEHEMOTH David Jolly
5 BUFFALO RIVER (USA) Michael Moroney
6 DALASAN Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas
7 DICE ROLL (FR) Nick Ryan
8 GROUNDSWELL Anthony & Sam Freedman
9 I’M THUNDERSTRUCK (NZ) Mick Price & Michael Kent (Jnr)
10 IRISH FLAME (NZ) Brett Scott
11 KING MAGNUS Robbie Griffiths & Mathew de Kock
12 MADAM ROUGE Chris Waller
13 POLAND Michael Moroney
14 PROBABEEL (NZ) Jamie Richards
16 ROMANCER (NZ) Grahame Begg
17 SAMIZDAT Chris & Michael Gangemi
18 SECOND SLIP (NZ) Will Clarken
19 SIERRA SUE (NZ) Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young
20 STREETS OF AVALON Shane Nichols