Racingbase.com.au is your home of the 2019 Spring Champion Stakes. The race will take place on Saturday, October 12, at Randwick Racecourse during the Sydney Spring Carnival.

The race attracts the very best three-year-old gallopers to Sydney and is pointer to staying contests later in the Spring or in the Autumn Carnivals.

We provide you with Spring Champion Stakes tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information.


When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 Spring Champion Stakes (2000m), keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

The Champion Stakes has proven to be a good lead-up race for the Victoria Derby which is run a few weeks later at Flemington.

Our experts assess all the Spring Champion Stakes runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2019 tips to help you back the winner.

Tipster Aaron Hamilton has provided his 2019 Spring Champion Stakes tips and selections.


Leading bookmakers have the latest 2019 Spring Champion Stakes betting odds available in advance of the race. There will be plenty of movements in the betting markets in the days leading up to the race following the barrier draw. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.


The Spring Champion Stakes is a Group 1 race for three-year-olds run at Randwick during the Sydney Spring Carnival.  It is run over 2000m at Randwick at set weights and carries prizemoney of $500,000.

The race is the now the penultimate Group 1 of the Sydney Spring Carnival and takes place on the same Saturday as the Caulfield Guineas and Thousand Guineas are held in Melbourne.

First run in 1971 as the Australasian Champion Stakes, the inaugural running saw the great Gay Icarus win the event.

The Spring Champion Stakes was first run as a Group 1 affair in 1979 when the legendary Kingston Town won the race.

Kingston Town went on to fulfil an amazing career after his Spring Champion Stakes victory, becoming a triple Cox Plate winner (1980-82), dual George Main Stakes winner (1981-82) and also took out the Australian Derby (1980), Sydney Cup (1980), Queensland Derby (1980) and ran a gallant second in the 1982 Melbourne Cup.

The race usually attracts some of the country’s best three-year-olds who go on to bigger challenges.

Past winners include great names such as Stylish Century (1989), St Jude (1990), Nothin’ Leica Dane (1995), Tie The Knot (1997). More recently, Savabeel (2004), It’s A Dundeel (2012), Yankee Rose (2016) and Ace High (2017) have all won.

The Champion Stakes has proven to be a good lead-up race for the Victoria Derby which is run a few weeks later at Flemington. Therefore, looking at horses who come from a ‘staying’ background is usually a good start when trying to find the winner.

Monaco Consul won the Spring Champion Stakes in 2009 before going on to win the Victoria Derby just three weeks later.

Rarely does a horse who hasn’t run over at least the 1600m distance or more goes on to win this illustrious event, so past performances over middle distances usually play a part in finishing up the front of the field.

The best lead-up races to focus on for the Spring Champion Stakes are the Group 2 Gloaming Stakes (2000m) run at Rosehill and the Listed Dulcify Quality (1800m) run at Randwick prior to the Spring Champion Stakes. Both races have produced Spring Champion Stakes winners.

Spring Champion Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Universal Prince
2001 Viking Ruler
2002 Platinum Scissors
2003 Niello
2004 Savabeel
2005 Hotel Grand
2006 Teranaba
2007 *Race Not Held
2008 Sousa
2009 Monaco Consul
2010 Erewhon
2011 Doctor Doom
2012 It's A Dundeel
2013 Complacent
2014 Hampton Court
2015 Vanbrugh
2016 Yankee Rose
2017 Ace High
2018 Maid Of Heaven


Originally known as the ‘Sandy Course,’ Randwick Racecourse was first used in 1833 where a private match race between two horses was held.

In 1840 the track was abandoned as a racecourse and used for training purposes before the Australian Jockey Club (AJC) moved its headquarters to Randwick and held a meeting in 1860.

The Queen Elizabeth II stand was opened to the public on August 4, 1969, and in 1992, Queen Elizabeth II visited Randwick and opened the new $30 million Paddock Grandstand.

The Australian Derby (2400m) remains one of the longest standing races to be held at Randwick after its inaugural running took place in 1861.


Randwick is the largest racetrack in New South Wales and all races are run in a clockwise direction. It is a sweeping track with a rise from the 300m mark to the winning post in the home straight.

As well as the main track, Randwick Racecourse contains a second track known as Kensington. Due to large rainfall in the area, Kensington has been reconstructed using the Strathayr racing surface which is similar to Moonee Valley.

Strathayr is a turf cover over a base of sand, this means it is a free draining track which can take a substantial amount of rain without affecting the rating