2020 Sydney Cup Tips & Betting Advice

Sydney Cup winners
Sydney Cup

Top 5 Sydney Cup Winners

The Sydney Cup (3200m) sees the stayers get their shot at Group 1 glory and has been won by some champion gallopers over the years. See who made our list of top 5 Sydney Cup winners since 1990.

Load more

Racingbase.com.au is your home of the 2020 Sydney Cup. The race will take place on Saturday, 11 April, 2020 at Randwick Racecourse.

We provide you with Sydney Cup tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream to watch the race unfold.

When is the 2020 Sydney Cup ?

Date Race Distance Track
Date Saturday, April 11
Track Royal Randwick
Distance 3200m
Class Group 1
Race Type Handicap
Prizemoney $2 million
Age 3YOs and upward


When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 Sydney Cup (3200m) at Randwick, keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the Sydney Cup runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2020 tips to help you back the winner.

Tipster Aaron Hamilton will provide his tips and selections for the 2020 Sydney Cup once the field has been finalised.


Leading bookmakers Sportsbet and BetEasy have the latest 2020 Sydney Cup betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the Sydney Cup betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.


Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Sydney Cup (and all other races from New South Wales tracks) free of charge. You can watch all Randwick races including the Sydney Cup streamed live online at Ladbrokes, BetEasy or Sportsbet. To find out how to stream the Sydney Cup live, see our guide to watch the race.


Four Group 1 features are run on Day 2 of The Championships during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

The Sydney Cup features alongside the $4 million Queen Elizabeth Stakes (2000m), $1 million Coolmore Legacy Stakes (1600m) and $1 million Australian Oaks (2400m).

Odds-on favourite Talleyrand won the inaugural Sydney Cup in 1862 when the race was known as the Jockey Club Handicap.

The Sydney Cup is the longest race at Royal Randwick and first received Group 1 status in 1980 when won by Kingston Town.

With $2 million in prizemoney, the Sydney Cup attracts the country’s best stayers in the autumn, with many set to tackle the Melbourne Cup later in the spring.

The Group 2 Chairman’s Handicap (2600m) held at the same track one week earlier as part of Day 1 of The Championships and the Group 1 Tancred Stakes (2400m) held at Rosehill Gardens two weeks earlier are the most reliable guides to the Sydney Cup.

Winners of the Sydney Cup have generally gone on to compete in feature staying races during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival with the Melbourne Cup (3200m) high on the agenda of most winning trainers.

Other notable winners of the Sydney Cup include The Barb (1868-69), Carbine (1889-90), Wakeful (1902), Eurythmic (1921), Rogilla (1933), Sailor’s Guide (1956), Galilee (1967), Apollo Eleven (1973), Kingston Town (1980), Tie The Knot (1998-99) and Makybe Diva (2004).

Unlike some of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival Group 1 features which have been dominated by the likes of Gai Waterhouse and Chris Waller in recent years, the Sydney Cup hasn’t had a back-to-back winning trainer since the late Guy Walter prepared Tie The Knot to consecutive successes in 1998 and 1999.

Prior to that, you had to go back to 1985 and 1986 when Brian Mayfield-Smith saddled up Late Show to success before Marooned saluted the following year at the short quote of $1.60.

Sydney Cup Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Streak
2001 Mr Prudent
2002 Henderson Bay
2003 Honor Babe
2004 Makybe Diva
2005 Mahtoum
2006 County Tyrone
2007 Gallic
2008 No Wine No Song
2009 Ista Kareem
2010 Jessicabeel
2011 Stand To Gain
2012 Niwot
2013 Mourayan
2014 The Offer
2015 Grand Marshal
2016 Gallante
2017 Polarisation
2018 Who Shot Thebarman
2019 Shraaoh
2020 Etah James


Originally known as the ‘Sandy Course,’ Randwick Racecourse was first used in 1833 where a private match race between two horses was held.

In 1840 the track was abandoned as a racecourse and used for training purposes before the Australian Jockey Club (AJC) moved its headquarters to Randwick and held a meeting in 1860.

The Queen Elizabeth II stand was opened to the public on August 4, 1969, and in 1992, Queen Elizabeth II visited Randwick and opened the new $30 million Paddock Grandstand.

The Australian Derby (2400m) remains one of the longest standing races to be held at Randwick after its inaugural running took place in 1861.


Randwick is the largest racetrack in New South Wales and all races are run in a clockwise direction. It is a sweeping track with a rise from the 300m mark to the winning post in the home straight.

As well as the main track, Randwick Racecourse contains a second track known as Kensington. Due to large rainfall in the area, Kensington has been reconstructed using the Strathayr racing surface which is similar to Moonee Valley.

Strathayr is a turf cover over a base of sand, this means it is a free draining track which can take a substantial amount of rain without affecting the rating.