The Galaxy winners
The Galaxy

Top 5 The Galaxy Winners

The Galaxy (1100m) is a Group 1 Handicap for the sprinters and has been won by some champion gallopers over the years. See who made our list of top 5 The Galaxy winners since 1990.

Racingbase.com.au is your home of the 2020 The Galaxy. The race will take place on Saturday, 21 March, 2020 at Rosehill Racecourse.

We provide you with The Galaxy tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream to watch the race unfold.

The Galaxy 2020

Date Saturday 21 March
Track Rosehill Racecourse
Distance 1100m
Class Group 1
Race Type Handicap
Prize Money $700,000
Age 3YO and Upwards


When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 The Galaxy (1100m) at Rosehill, keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all The Galaxy runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2020 tips to help you back the winner.

Tipster Aaron Hamilton will provide his 2020 The Galaxy tips and selections once the final field has been declared.


Leading bookmakers Sportsbet and BetEasy have the latest 2020 The Galaxy betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in The Galaxy betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.


Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch The Galaxy (and all other races from New South Wales tracks) free of charge. You can watch all Rosehill races including The Galaxy streamed live online at Ladbrokes, BetEasy or Sportsbet. To find out how to stream The Galaxy live, see our guide to watch the race.


The Galaxy features a host of special offers from bookmakers and that includes the opportunity to claim bonus bets when becoming a new customer before the race. A range of bonus bets and special offers, deposit matches, first bet matches and no deposit bets are available from the bookmakers to take advantage of throughout the year.


An Open Handicap for horses three-years-old and upwards, The Galaxy is held during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival with runners carrying between 50kg-58kg.

The race was transferred to Rosehill Gardens in 2013 after being run at Royal Randwick in previous years.

It attracts some high-quality sprinters and is part of a fantastic day of racing that is headlined by the richest two-year-old race in the world, the $3.5 million Golden Slipper Stakes (1200m).

A total of five Group 1 races are held on Golden Slipper Day with the Rosehill Guineas (2000m), George Ryder Stakes (1500m) and Ranvet Stakes (2000m) also run on the day.

Supporting the Group 1 races are the Group 3 Epona Stakes (1900m), Group 3 NE Manion Cup (2400m) and Group 3 Birthday Card Stakes (1200m).

In 2010, Ortensia won The Galaxy but was disqualified for a positive drug test and the race win was awarded to Shellscrape.

Runners that have performed well in The Galaxy have the option of tackling the $2.5 million TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) at Randwick Racecourse two weeks later as part of Day 1 of The Championships.

The Galaxy was first run in 1972 when won by Playbill and has grown to become one of the most exciting sprint races of the carnival as it attracts the most accomplished sprinters from around Australia, with the exception of some of the real elite sprinters who compete in the $1.25 million Newmarket Handicap (1200m) at Flemington three weeks before the TJ Smith.

Some classy sprinters have won the race during its short but illustrious history, including Bletchingly (1975), Luskin Star (1978), Grey Receiver (1981-82), Snippets (1988), Mr Tiz (1991), Schillaci (1992), La Baraka (1998), Charge Forward (2005), Magnus (2007), Temple Of Boom (2012), Bel Sprinter (2013), Sweet Idea (2015) and In Her Time (2018).

The Galaxy Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Black Bean
2001 Padstow
2002 Mistegic
2003 Snowland
2004 Spark Of Life
2005 Charge Forward
2006 Proprietor
2007 Magnus
2008 Typhoon Zed
2009 Nicconi
2010 Shellscrape
2011 Atomic Force
2012 Temple Of Boom
2013 Bel Sprinter
2014 Tiger Tees
2015 Sweet Idea
2016 Griante
2017 Russian Revolution
2018 In Her Time
2019 Nature Strip
2020 I Am Excited


Founded in 1947, the Rosehill Racecourse is home to the richest two-year-old race in the world, the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes.

First held in 1957 the juvenile sprint was won by Todman by an impressive 8 length margin.

The prestigious The BMW (2400m) is also held at Rosehill and has been won by champion racehorses such as: Hyperno (1978), Kingston Town (1980), Bonecrusher (1986) and Octagonal (1996 & 97).

The track is approximately 23 kilometres to the west of Sydney’s city centre and offers quality viewing for punters having modern three tiered stands with bars, restaurants and betting facilities.


Rosehill Racecourse consists of four long sweeping turns and horses that have drawn an inside gate are advantaged.

It is difficult to lead all the way when the rail is in the true position, but when the rail is out 4 metres or more, all runners are provided an even opportunity.