2019 The Metropolitan Tips & Betting Advice

Racingbase.com.au is your home of the 2019 The Metropolitan. The race will take place on Saturday, 5 October, 2019, and will once again be part of Super Saturday during the Sydney Spring Carnival.

A staying feature that is run under handicap conditions, The Metropolitan is one of three Group 1 races on the Royal Randwick program which is headlined by the $1 million Epsom Handicap (1600m) and Flight Stakes (1600m).

We provide you with The Metropolitan tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information.


When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 The Metropolitan (2400m), keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

In The Metropolitan Handicap, only two last start winners have won the race in the last 15 years, namely Railings (2005) and Glencadam Gold (2012).

Bearing that in mind, the lead-up races to the big Group 1 prize have been a good guide to finding the winner – although not those who were victorious last time out.

Our experts assess all The Metropolitan runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2019 tips to help you back the winner.

Tipster Aaron Hamilton has provided his 2019 The Metropolitan tips and selections.


Leading bookmakers have the latest 2019 The Metropolitan betting odds available in advance of the race. There will be plenty of movements in the betting markets in the days leading up to the race following the barrier draw. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.


The biggest drawcard for stayers during the Sydney Spring Carnival in the Group 1 The Metropolitan run at Randwick in October.

Contested under handicap conditions, the race is run over 2400m and carries prizemoney of $750,000.

It attracts stayers who have aspirations of a Melbourne Spring Carnival campaign including the Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup.

The Metropolitan gained Group 1 status in 1979 when Earthquake McGoon won the race.

The Metropolitan, also known as the Metrop, is run as part of Super Saturday at Randwick which also sees the running of the Group 1 Epsom Handicap and the Group 1 Flight Stakes.

It has come to be known over the years as a race that is more often than not won by a good handicapper and not necessarily a solid superior horse.

The race was first run in 1863 and won by a horse called Regno. Melbourne Cup winners dating back to this time have won the race including Tim Whiffler (1867) and The Barb (1868) through to Delta (1951) and Macdougal (1959).

More recently, the 1988 winner Natski travelled to Melbourne for the Cup, only to finish second, beaten a head by the big mare Empire Rose.

Caulfield Cup winners have also fared well in The Metropolitan such as Railings in 2005 and Tawqueet the following year.

The Barb holds the record for the biggest weight carried to victory which was 9 stone 10 pound or 61.5 kgs in 1868. The lightest weight to win the race was five stone, six pounds or 34.5kgs which was carried by Bylong in 1866.

The Metropolitan Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Coco Cobanna
2001 Dress Circle
2002 Victory Smile
2003 Bedouin
2004 County Tyrone
2005 Railings
2006 Tawqeet
2007 Race Not Held
2008 Newport
2009 Speed Gifted
2010 Herculian Prince
2011 The Verminator
2012 Glencadam Gold
2013 Seville
2014 Opinion
2015 Magic Hurricane
2016 Sir John Hawkwood
2017 Foundry
2018 Patrick Erin


Originally known as the ‘Sandy Course,’ Randwick Racecourse was first used in 1833 where a private match race between two horses was held.

In 1840 the track was abandoned as a racecourse and used for training purposes before the Australian Jockey Club (AJC) moved its headquarters to Randwick and held a meeting in 1860.

The Queen Elizabeth II stand was opened to the public on August 4, 1969, and in 1992, Queen Elizabeth II visited Randwick and opened the new $30 million Paddock Grandstand.

The Australian Derby (2400m) remains one of the longest standing races to be held at Randwick after its inaugural running took place in 1861.

Royal Randwick Track Description

Randwick is the largest racetrack in New South Wales and all races are run in a clockwise direction. It is a sweeping track with a rise from the 300m mark to the winning post in the home straight.

As well as the main track, Randwick Racecourse contains a second track known as Kensington. Due to large rainfall in the area, Kensington has been reconstructed using the Strathayr racing surface which is similar to Moonee Valley.

Strathayr is a turf cover over a base of sand, this means it is a free draining track which can take a substantial amount of rain without affecting the rating.