Toorak Handicap 2020 race guide is your home of the 2020 Toorak Handicap. The race will take place on Saturday, October 10, 2020, and will feature on a big day of racing at Caulfield.

A race which captures the imagination of punters, the Toorak Handicap is one of four Group 1 features held on Caulfield Guineas Day.

We provide you with Toorak Handicap tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live Toorak Handicap stream to watch the race unfold.

CONTENTS: Tips & Trends | Nominations | Field & Barrier Draw | Results & Replays | Odds | History | Winners | Top 5 Winners | FAQ’s

Toorak Handicap


Date October 10, 2020
Track Caulfield
Distance 1600m
Class Group 1
Race Type Handicap
Prizemoney $500,000
Age No Age Restriction


Looking for the winner of the Toorak Handicap can be a daunting task, but keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the Toorak Handicap runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2020 Toorak Handicap tips to help you back the winner.

Tipster Aaron Hamilton provides his 2020 Toorak Handicap tips and selections following the barrier draw.


We take a look at the winning trends of the Toorak Handicap and try and identify winning patterns based on barriers, age, lead-up form, trainers, jockeys and more.

Selections based on Toorak Handicap Trends will be available following the barrier draw.

Tipster Adam Cusworth provides his 2020 Toorak Handicap Trends.

Toorak Handicap 2020 NOMINATIONS

Nominations for Toorak Handicap will close at 12:00pm on October 5, 2020.

To see the full list of 2020 Toorak Handicap Nominations click here

Toorak Handicap 2020 FIELD & BARRIER DRAW

The final field and barrier draw for the Toorak Handicap will be declared at 9:30am on October 7, 2020.

To see the 2020 Toorak Handicap field & barrier draw click here

2019 Toorak Handicap results & replay

1stFierce ImpactCraig WilliamsMatthew Smith1554.5kg$18
2ndNight’s WatchJames McDonaldChris Waller956kg$7
3rdAge Of ChivalryKerrin McEvoyMathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra1054.5kg$9
4thSikandarabadMark ZahraDavid Hayes556kg$13

To see more Toorak Handicap results & replays click here


Leading bookmakers Sportsbet, Ladbrokes, Neds, Pointsbet, bet365 & Palmberbet  have the latest 2020 Toorak Handicap betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the Toorak Handicap betting markets in the days leading up to the race and prior to as contenders emerge.


Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Toorak Handicap (and all other races from Victorian tracks) free of charge. You can watch all Caulfield races including the Toorak Handicap streamed live online at Ladbrokes and Sportsbet. To find out how to stream the 2020 Toorak Handicap live, see our guide to watch the race.


The Toorak Handicap has a rich and prestigious history which dates back to its first running in 1881 when Josephine won the race.

It has had a number of name variations during its history which started with the Toorak Handicap, The IXL, The Elders Mile and then back to the Toorak Handicap.

Read more about the History of the Toorak Handicap

Toorak Handicap Winners (Since 2000)

2019 Fierce Impact
2018 Land Of Plenty
2017 Tosen Stardom
2016 He's Our Rokkii
2015 Lucky Hussler
2014 Trust In A Gust
2013 Solzhenitsyn
2012 Solzhenitsyn
2011 King Mufhasa
2010 More Joyous
2009 Allez Wonder
2008 Alamosa
2007 Divine Madonna
2006 Red Dazzler
2005 Barely A Moment
2004 Regal Roller
2003 Roman Arch
2002 Shot Of Thunder
2001 Show A Heart
2000 Umrum

TOP 5 Toorak handicap WINNERS

Check out our Top 5 Toorak Handicap Winners and see which champion gallopers made the cut.


Founded in 1859, Caulfield Racecourse hosts around 20 race days every year, headlined by the Caulfield Cup.

The track is commonly known at ‘The Heath’ following the early days in which jockeys would ride through rough bush, heath and sand hills during races.

The name is now renowned across Australia and New Zealand for representing Caulfield’s superb racing and entertainment venue.

The first Caulfield Cup was run in the autumn of 1879, and was transferred to the spring in 1881.

The track was closed during the war and was used as an army camp, with the Caulfield Cup being run at Flemington.

Following the 1995 Caulfield Cup, the course underwent a significant reconstruction and reopened in 1996. The track’s circumference was widened to 30m and lengthened inside the home straight by around 43m.


Racing is contested in a left-handed direction at Caulfield and features long, sweeping turns. As a result, there can be a slight draw bias for those drawn low over distances further than seven-furlongs.

The course has a total circumference of 2080m including a home straight of just over 360m.

In terms of the Caulfield Cup, records throughout the 21st century have showcased a slight advantage for single digit stalls due to the course’s swift anti-clockwise bends.

Favourable positioning at Caulfield can be crucial to a contenders’ winning claims, as the setting has a short home straight of less than 400m. It means hold-up performers routinely encounter trouble in-running, resulting in many hard-luck stories.

Over shorter distances, the emphasis is placed on speed as horses seek a prominent position before turning for home. A below-par start in Caulfield’s sprint races usually results in a poor finishing position for horses, showcasing the need for sharp early pace.