Te Akau Shark heads Chipping Norton nominations

Caryl Williamson
Te Akau Shark

Te Akau Shark is among 18 nominations for the Group 1 Chipping Norton Stakes (1600m) as he attempts to record his second Group 1 win in two summer starts.

Runner-up in the Epsom Handicap and third in the Cox Plate, Te Akau Shark claimed a first Group One win in the BCD Sprint at Te Rapa on February 8.

He has been posted the favourite for Saturday’s Chipping Norton, Sydney’s first Group 1 day for 2020 with the weight-for-age feature won for the past four years by the now-retired Winx.

Group One winners Avilius and Fierce Impact are also among the 18 entries taken on Monday.

Chris Waller has entered seven runners including Come Play With Me, Djukon, Imaging, Life Less Ordinary, Night’s Watch and Verry Elleegant.

Happy Clapper could bid to add to his Group 1 success having been given an entry.

Chipping Norton Stakes Nominations

1 ANGEL OF TRUTH – Gwenda Markwell
2 AVILIUS (GB) – James Cummings
3 CARIF – Peter & Paul Snowden
4 COME PLAY WITH ME – Chris Waller
5 DANCETERIA (FR) – Kris Lees
6 DANZDANZDANCE – Chris Waller
7 DJUKON (GB) – Chris Waller
8 DREAMFORCE – John Thompson
9 FIERCE IMPACT (JPN) – Matthew Smith
11 HAPPY CLAPPER – Patrick Webster
12 HOMESMAN (USA) – Anthony Freedman
13 IMAGING (GB) – Chris Waller
14 LIFE LESS ORDINARY (IRE) – Chris Waller
15 NIGHT’S WATCH (NZ) – Chris Waller
16 RINGERDINGDING – Anthony Freedman
17 TE AKAU SHARK (NZ) – Jamie Richards
18 VERRY ELLEEGANT (NZ) – Chris Waller