Might And Power Tribute

Aaron Hamilton Aaron Hamilton
Might And Power Tribute

Racehorses don’t come much tougher than Might And Power. The New Zealand-bred son of Zabeel crushed his rivals in some of the most dominant front-running displays ever witnessed on a racetrack.

He was foaled on October 6, 1993 at Windsor Park Stud and was out of the Irish mare Benediction.

Trained by Jack Denham and owned by Nick Moraitis, Might And Power debuted at Canterbury on June 12, 1996, and finished 4th over 1290m.

He broke through at his third start winning a 1400m race at Randwick with jockey John Marshall in the saddle.

Having won two races in succession at Canterbury, Might And Power tackled Group 1 company for the first time in the Canterbury Guineas (1800m) at Rosehill Gardens where he beat all bar Intergaze who would go on to win a further six Group 1 races.

Might And Power would have to wait another eight starts to claim his first of seven Group 1 wins, and in the spring of 1997, jockey Jim Cassidy piloted him to an all the way Caulfield Cup (2400m) victory.

Having run them into the ground in the Caulfield Cup and winning by 7.5 lengths, Might And Power’s stamina was tested in the Melbourne Cup (3200m) where he held on to win by the narrowest margin over Doriemus.

The following autumn Might And Power claimed his third Group 1 victory in the Mercedes Classic (2400) (now the Tancred Stakes) before taking out the Queen Elizabeth Stakes (2000m) by more than 10 lengths.

Further Group 1 wins came in the Doomben Cup (2020m) and Caulfield Stakes (2000m) before etching his name in racing folklore by winning the Cox Plate (2040m) and joining a select few to have won the Cox Plate, Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup.

Might And Power finished his stellar career with 15 wins and eight placings from 33 starts and amassed more than $5 million in prizemoney.

And while the names Might And Power and Jim Cassidy go hand in hand, jockey Brian York played an integral role in his career riding him on 12 occasions and steering him to three Group 1 victories.

He was awarded World Champion Stayer honours in 1997 and was hailed Australian Horse of the Year in 1998 and 1999 as well as being inducted into the Australian Racing Hall of Fame and New Zealand Racing Hall of Fame.


1997 Caulfield Cup

1997 Melbourne Cup

1998 Queen Elizabeth Stakes

1998 Cox Plate