Top 5 Doncaster Mile winners

Winx is a winner of the Doncaster Mile Winx is a former winner of the Doncaster Mile

The Doncaster Mile (1600m), also known as the Doncaster Handicap is one of the big races on Day One of The Championships at Randwick. See who made our top Doncaster MIle winners list.

The race has featured its fair share of champions over the years and we have picked out our top five winners since 1990, the year that Super Impose chalked up his first of two wins in the famous mile.

Top 5 Doncaster Mile winners

1. Winx (2016)

What can we say about Winx? The recently retired champion claimed 33 victories in a row, including 25 Group 1 wins. The Doncaster was her ninth of the streak that could have ended prematurely due to a tough run she sustained that day with the 56.5kg on her back. But her class got her through, just like it did in her four Cox Plate (2040m) and three Queen Elizabeth Stakes (2000m) triumphs.

2. Sunline (1999 & 2002)

Another famous mare that starred in the Doncaster was Sunline, who claimed victory as a three-year-old in 1999 before backing up in 2002 with 58kg on her back and making it two wins in the race in a thrilling finish from Shogun Lodge. The Kiwi champion was a two time winner of the Cox Plate (2040m) and dominated races from the 1200m to the 2000m until Northerly took over in the spring of 2002.

3. Super Impose (1990 & 1991)

Well known for his win as an eight-year-old in what was a demolition derby edition of the 1992 Cox Plate (2040m), Super Impose had previously established himself as the best miler in the country by taking out the Doncaster and Epsom Handicaps at Randwick in both 1990 and 1991. He came home like a bullet in those wins and would go on to become a then record prize money winner, banking $5.6 million for connections with 20 wins from 74 starts.

4. Grand Armee (2003)

Grand Armee shot to prominence with a dominant win in the 2003 Doncaster and at a time when we were spoiled for champions via the likes of Norterhly, Lonhro and Makybe Diva, this guy such under the guard a little bit. But his record reads as 13 wins from 31 starts and he spoiled Lonhro’s farewell party with a six-length romp in the 2005 Queen Elizabeth Stakes (2000m), one of his seven Group 1 wins.

5. More Joyous (2012)

The Gai Waterhouse mare sneaks into the top 5 and took out the Doncaster towards the end of her career in 2012 as a five-year-old with 57.5kg, just shy of the 58kg that Sunline carted to victory in 2002. The dominant mare of her generation, More Joyous won eight Group 1 races and was the Champion Middle Distance Racehorse in 2012.



Follow the link to find our free Randwick tips today and best bets for each and every meeting. Our Randwick tipster previews each meeting and highlights a Best Bet, Next Best & Best Value.

Current Offers