Top 5 Australian Derby winners

Australian Derby winners It's A Dundeel is a former Australian Derby winner

The Australian Derby is one of the time honoured races of the Australian Horse Racing scene, first run in 1861. See who made our top 5 Australian Derby winners list. 

In modern times, it has provided a platform for a number to go on to have successful careers and we have picked out our Top 5 winners of the race since 1990.

Top 5 Australian Derby winners.

1. Octagonal (1996)

One of the stars of the Australian turf in the 1990s, the Big ‘O’, as he was affectionately known, won the Australian Derby in 2006 in what was a vintage year for the three-year-olds. His win came ahead of the champion Saintly, while Filante and Nothin Leica Dane finished a close up 3rd and 4th. Octagonal had previously won the Cox Plate (2040m) in the Melbourne spring and finished his career with 10 Group 1 wins.

2. Mahogany (1994)

One of the most versatile horses of the modern era, Mahogany streeted his rivals in the 1993 VRC Derby (2500m) before becoming a rare winner of the VRC/Australian Derby double, holding on from Waikikamukau. He earned close to $4 million in prizemoney and was just pipped by Octagonal in the 1995 Cox Plate. He amassed eight career Group 1 and developed into a gun sprinter in his latter years, claiming races such as the Lightning Stakes (1000m).

3. It’s A Dundeel (2013)

The Murray Baker-trained New Zealander is one of few horses to take out the Triple Crown for the three-year-olds by winning the Randwick Guineas (1600m), Rosehill Guineas (2000m) before claiming the Australian Derby (2400m) by six lengths. He came back to Randwick the following year when he took out the $4 million Queen Elizabeth Stakes (2000m) and retired with over $5 million in prize money for connections.

4. Starcraft (2004)

Starcraft featured in a vintage edition of the Australian Derby in 2004 and was too good for the likes of Elvstroem, Delzao and Special Harmony. The Queenslander won the Mudgway Stakes (1400m) in New Zealand and the Chipping Norton Stakes (1600m) later that year before becoming a dominant miler in Europe, claiming the Queen Elizabeth II Stakes.

5. Eremein (2005)

Eremein took out the Australian Derby in 2005 and developed into one of the best middle distance gallopers of his time, claiming the Ranvet Stakes (2000m), Tancred Stakes (2400m) and the Queen Elizabeth Stakes (2000m). Injuries and the 2007 Equine Influenza outbreak may have possibly reduced the amount of feature races that the Allan Denham-galloper could have won but his class gets him into our top 5.



Follow the link to find our free Randwick horse race tips and best bets for each and every meeting. Our Randwick tipster previews each meeting and highlights a Best Bet, Next Best & Best Value.

Current Offers