Winterbottom Stakes 2024 Tips, Field & Race Guide is your home of the 2024 Winterbottom Stakes. The race will take place on Saturday, November 30, 2024, at Perth’s Ascot Racecourse in Western Australia.

Some interstate gallopers will clash with the best local performers in the second of three Group 1s staged during the Perth Summer Carnival.

We provide you with Winterbottom Stakes tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, news, betting odds and information.

CONTENTS: Schedule | Live Stream | Bonus Bets | Tips & Trends | NewsNominations | Field & Barrier Draw | Results & Replays | Odds | History | Winners | Top 5 Winners

Winterbottom Stakes

2024 Winterbottom Stakes Schedule

Date November 30, 2024
Track Ascot
Distance 1200m
Class Group 1
Race Type Weight For Age
Prize Money $1,000,000
Age 3YO & Upwards

Winterbottom Stakes Tips

Looking for the winner of the Winterbottom Stakes can be a daunting task, but keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the Winterbottom Stakes runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2024 tips to help you back the winner.

Tipster Adam McGrath provides his 2024 Winterbottom Stakes tips and predictions following the barrier draw.

Latest Winterbottom Stakes News

Winterbottom Stakes Nominations

Nominations for the Winterbottom Stakes will be released on October 14, 2024.

Winterbottom Stakes Final Field

The final field for the 2024 Winterbottom Stakes will be declared on Tuesday, November 26th with the barrier draw to follow on Wednesday, November 27th.

This page will be updated following the barrier draw.

See the Winterbottom Stakes final field & barrier draw here.

Winterbottom Stakes Odds

Leading bookmakers Sportsbet, Ladbrokes, Neds, bet365 & Palmerbet have the latest 2024 Winterbottom Stakes betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the betting markets in the days leading up to the race.

2023 Winterbottom Stakes Results & Replay

Finish Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight SP
1 OVERPASS Bjorn Baker Joshua Parr 10 58.5kg $3
2 OSCAR’S FORTUNE Dion Luciani William Pike 12 54.5kg $8
3 RIPCORD Luke Fernie Clint Johnston-Porter 6 54.5kg $6.50
4 RED CAN MAN Steve Wolfe Paul Harvey 9 58.5kg $21
5 MY BELLA MAE Dion Luciani Patrick Carbery 4 56.5kg $16
6 HOT ZED Lou Luciani Jason Whiting 2 58.5kg $9.50
7 LAVERROD Sean & Jake Casey Jordan Turner 14 58.5kg $61
8 RESORTMAN Michael Lane Brad Rawiller 8 58.5kg $19
9 MAN CRUSH Luke Fernie Mr Michael Poy 11 58.5kg $101
10 TRIPLE MISSILE Lindsey Smith Damien Oliver 1 58.5kg $8
11 FLYING MISSILE Neville Parnham Steven Parnham 3 56.5kg $101
12 GO FORWARD Chris & Michael Gangemi Laqdar Ramoly 5 58.5kg $51
13 SNOWDOME Neville Parnham Chris Parnham 16 58.5kg $14
14 PHANTA Chris & Michael Gangemi Brad Parnham 15 58.5kg $51
15 CLEMENCEAU Chris & Michael Gangemi Jarrad Noske 13 58.5kg $61
16 SAVATOXL Will Savage Ms Holly Watson 7 58.5kg $51
VALENCY Robyn Lockwood 0
CORN COB Julia Martin Austin Galati 0


See more Winterbottom Stakes results & replays here.

Winterbottom Stakes History

The Winterbottom Stakes is Group 1 weight-for-age sprint race over 1200m, run during the Perth Summer Racing Carnival in November each year.

Upgraded to Group 1 status in 2011, the race was originally run on the same day as the Railway Stakes but now takes place a week later when it is the feature race.

The Winterbottom Stakes is worth a total of $1 million in prizemoney and attracts some of the best sprinters from around the country.

The two-time winner Buffering is just one of the big names to take out this prestigious event having won in 2013 and 2015.

Other big name winners of the Winterbottom Stakes include Takeover Target (2008) and Miss Andretti (2005).

First run in 1952 when Raconteur won the trophy, the race was then run over the longer 1400m distance. It wasn’t until 1993 that it was reduced to the 1200m race it is today.

Up until 1979, it was classed as a Principal race before being re-classified as a Group 2 contest. The race then earned Group 1 status in 2011 when favourite Ortensia won first prize.

In recent years, some of the Winterbottom Stakes runners head to the Group 3 AJ Scahill Stakes which is also a weight-for-age event run two weeks later over 1400m.

Winterbottom Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2023 Overpass
2022 Paulele
2021 Graceful Girl
2020 Elite Street
2019 Hey Doc
2018 Voodoo Lad
2017 Viddora
2016 Takedown
2015 Buffering
2014 Magnifisio
2013 Buffering
2012 Barakey
2011 Ortensia
2010 Hadabeclorka
2009 Ortensia
2008 Takeover Target
2007 Glory Hunter
2006 Marasco
2005 Miss Andretti
2004 Ellicorsam
2003 Hardrada
2002 Hardrada
2001 Fair Alert
2000 Noble Sky

Winterbottom Stakes Live Stream

Australia’s leading bookmaker TAB offers you the chance to watch the 2024 Winterbottom Stakes free of charge courtesy of their Sky Racing vision.

TAB will be streaming the action from every Australian thoroughbred, greyhound and harness race live after linking up with Sky Racing to broadcast Sky Racing 1, Sky Racing 2 and Sky Thoroughbred Central.

As well as watching every race in all three racing codes, you can also check the form and bet on them too at TAB via Desktop or the impressive App.

T&Cs Apply. Vision available for all three Sky Racing channels. Data charges may apply.

Watch the 2024 Winterbottom Stakes with TAB.

Winterbottom Stakes Bonus Bets

Australia’s leading bookmakers offer horse racing promotions and bonus bets every day of the week and the offers really ramp up on Saturday covering most races

From Double Your WinningsCash Back offers and Bonus Bet Back for finishing 2nd, 3rd and even 4th, there are plenty of promos to sink your teeth into.

Racingbase hunts down all the daily bookmaker promos and bonus bets and displays them on one page with their T&C’s so you can see what is on offer.

Ascot Racecourse History

Perth Racing (formerly the Western Australian Turf Club) has been hosting thoroughbred race meetings at Ascot Racecourse for over 150 years.

Although the course hosts three Group 1 events throughout the year, the time-honoured Perth Cup (2400m) remains one of Perth’s feature races and is held on New Year’s Day.

The racecourse is situated approximately 8 kilometres east of the Perth City Centre with the head office of The Western Australian Turf Club positioned directly opposite.

Ascot Track Description

Regarded as the ‘grand old lady’ of Australian racecourses, Perth’s Ascot Racecourse is a well-drained turf track with a 300 metre inclining straight regarded by experts as the most severe test of stayers in Australia.

Ascot is one of the smaller racecourses in Australia and inside barriers can be an advantage.

Races are run in an anti-clockwise direction.

Free Ascot Betting Tips

Follow the link to find our free Ascot horse racing tips and best bets for each and every meeting. Our Ascot tipster previews each meeting and highlights a Best Bet, Next Best & Best Value.