The Metropolitan Field & Barrier Draw

The Metropolitan barrier draw


The final field and barrier draw have been announced for Saturday’s Group 1 The Metropolitan (2400m) at Royal Randwick with 18 stayers competing for $750,000 in prizemoney.

Trainer Kris Lees saddles up three strong chances in race favourite Mugatoo, Tancred Stakes (2400m) runner-up Mustajeer and Chairman’s Quality (2600m) winner Raheen House as well as the second emergency Attention Run.

Mugatoo has won all three start this campaign and was impressive taking out the Newcastle Cup (2300m) last start.

Sydney’s leading trainer Chris Waller will be shooting for a hat-trick of wins in the staying feature having claimed it last year with Come Play With Me and in 2018 with Patrick Erin.

Waller will saddle up five chances including last start Kingston Town Stakes (2000m) 2nd and 3rd placegetters Shared Ambition and Brimham Rocks.

Ciaron Maher and David Eustace have accepted with Lord Belvedere who made it three wins in a row when he resumed with an impressive victory at Flemington over 2500m where he defeated Persan and Schabau.

2020 The Metropolitan barrier draw and final field

No. Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 MUSTAJEER (GB) Kris Lees Hugh Bowman 5 58kg
2 MUGATOO (IRE) Kris Lees Kerrin McEvoy 7 57kg
3 MIRAGE DANCER (GB) Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young Nash Rawiller 3 55.5kg
4 WU GOK Chris Waller Sam Clipperton 13 55kg
5 RAHEEN HOUSE (IRE) Kris Lees Jason Collett 12 54.5kg
6 ETAH JAMES (NZ) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Regan Bayliss 6 53.5kg
7 SHARED AMBITION (IRE) Chris Waller James McDonald 19 53.5kg
8 BRIMHAM ROCKS (GB) Chris Waller Brenton Avdulla 16 53.5kg
9 HUSH WRITER (JPN) Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Tim Clark 2 53kg
10 LORD BELVEDERE (GB) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Ms Kathy O’Hara 10 52.5kg
11 CARIF Peter & Paul Snowden Robbie Dolan 9 52.5kg
12 RONDINELLA (NZ) John O’Shea Ms Rachel King 15 51.5kg
13 ANGEL OF TRUTH Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Tommy Berry 11 51.5kg
14 AZURO (FR) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Ms Louise Day (a) 21 51.5kg
15 PATHS OF GLORY (GB) Richard & Michael Freedman TBA 17 50.5kg
16 GIRL TUESDAY Clarry Conners Glen Boss 22 50kg
17 MISS SENTIMENTAL (NZ) Chris Waller Ms Jess Taylor 18 50kg
18 ZEBROWSKI (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes James Innes Jnr 4 50kg
19e NORWAY (IRE) Chris Waller Ms Alysha Collett 20 50.5kg
20e ATTENTION RUN (GER) Kris Lees Andrew Gibbons 1 50kg
21e SIR CHARLES ROAD Lance O’Sullivan & Andrew Scott TBA 8 51kg
22e GREY LION (IRE) Matthew Smith TBA 14 50kg