Futurity Stakes 2025 Tips, Field & Race Guide

The Group 1 Futurity Stakes takes place annually at Caulfield Racecourse in February and is a standard weight-for-age race.

The race offers $750,000 in prizemoney and attracts a quality line up of sprinter-milers.

Our Futurity Stakes race guide will provide up to date nominations, barrier draw, tips and more information so you don’t miss out on anything to do with the 1400m weight-for-age feature.

CONTENTS: Schedule | Live Stream | Bonus Bets | Tips | Nominations | Field & Barrier Draw | Results & Replays | Odds | History | Winners | Top 5 Winners

2025 Futurity Stakes Schedule

Date February 22
Track Caulfield
Distance 1400m
Class Group 1
Race Type Weight-For-Age
Prizemoney $750,000
Age 3YO and Upwards

Futurity Stakes Tips

Horses with a strong 1400m record at Sandown should also be considered in the Futurity Stakes.

Often, fitness can outshine class, and our expert analysis will give you the lowdown on how each runner profiles.

Our experts assess all the Futurity Stakes runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2025 Futurity Stakes Tips to help you back the winner.


Futurity Stakes Nominations

Nominations for the 2025 Futurity Stakes Stakes takes place at 12pm on February 17, 2025.

Futurity Stakes Field & Barrier Draw

The final field and barrier draw for the 2025 Futurity Stakes will be released at 9:30am February 19, 2025.

This page will be updated following the barrier draw.

Click here to see the Futurity Stakes Barrier Draw trends and stats.

2024 Futurity Stakes Results & Replay

Finish Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight SP
1 MR BRIGHTSIDE (NZ) Ben, Will & JD Hayes Craig Williams 5 59kg $1.50F
2 PERICLES James Cummings Ms Jamie Kah 1 59kg $9.50
3 BUFFALO RIVER (USA) Michael Moroney Ms Celine Gaudray (a) 7 59kg $11
4 DOM TO SHOOT Sean & Jake Casey Damian Lane 6 59kg $31
5 HEY FAT CAT Robbie Laing Jordan Childs 3 55.5kg $26
6 MUNHAMEK (GB) Nick Ryan Blake Shinn 4 59kg $41
7 NUGGET (GB) Ciaron Maher Mark Zahra 2 59kg $10
8 ATTRITION Mitchell Freedman Ben Melham 8 59kg $10

See more Futurity Stakes results and replays here.

Futurity Stakes Odds

Leading bookmakers Sportsbet, Ladbrokes, Neds, bet365 & Palmerbet have the latest 2025 Futurity Stakes betting odds available.

There will be plenty of movements in the Futurity Stakes betting markets in the days leading up to the race.

See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.

Futurity Stakes History

The Group 1 Futurity Stakes (1400m) takes place annually in February during the Melbourne Autumn Carnival and is weight-for-age race for milers/middle distance horses.

It attracts some high quality gallopers and is part of a fantastic day of racing that includes the $1 million Group 1 Blue Diamond Stakes (1200m), Group 1 Oakleigh Plate (1100m), Group 2 Angus Armanasco Stakes (1400m), Group 2 St George Stakes (1800m), Group 2 Autumn Classic (1800m) and the Group 3 Mannerism Stakes (1400m).

The race is the first leg of the Asian Mile Challenge which is a four-race international series with prizemoney totalling $12.5 million; the four races in the challenge are the Futurity Stakes, the The Dubai Duty Free in Dubai, The Champions Mile in Hong Kong and the The Yasuda Kinen in Japan.

The most reliable lead-up race in recent times is the Group 1 CF Orr Stakes (1400m) held two weeks earlier at the same track, with eight of the past 13 Futurity winners coming through the CF Orr.

The Futurity Stakes was first run in 1897 when won by Resolute and has since been won by some of Australia’s most famous and talented horses.

Some of the country’s best gallopers have won the race during its illustrious history, including Amounis (1929), Phar Lap (1930), Ajax (1938-40), Bernborough (1946), Todman (1960), Gunsynd (1972), Manikato (1979-83 & 1984), Rubiton (1987), Vo Rogue (1988), Schillaci (1993 & 1995), Reset (2004), Fields Of Omagh (2006), Typhoon Tracy (2010), More Joyous (2011), All Too Hard (2013), Black Heart Bart (2017) and Brave Smash (2018).

Futurity Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2024 Mr Brightside
2023 Alligator Blood
2022 Sierra Sue (Nz)
2021 Probabeel
2020 Streets Of Avalon
2019 Alizee
2018 Brave Smash
2017 Black Heart Bart
2016 Turn Me Loose
2015 Suavito
2014 Moment Of Change
2013 All Too Hard
2012 King Mufhasa
2011 More Joyous
2010 Typhoon Tracy
2009 Niconero
2008 Niconero
2007 Aqua D'Amore
2006 Fields Of Omagh
2005 Regal Roller
2004 Reset
2003 Yell
2002 Dash For Cash
2001 Desert Sky and Mr Murphy
2000 Testa Rossa

Top 5 Futurity Stakes Winners

Click here to see our Top 5 Futurity Stakes Winners.

Futurity Stakes Live Stream

Australia’s leading bookmaker TAB offers you the chance to watch the 2025 Futurity Stakes free of charge courtesy of their Sky Racing vision.

TAB will be streaming the action from every Australian thoroughbred, greyhound and harness race live after linking up with Sky Racing to broadcast Sky Racing 1, Sky Racing 2 and Sky Thoroughbred Central.

As well as watching every race in all three racing codes, you can also check the form and bet on them too at TAB via Desktop or the impressive App.

T&Cs Apply. Vision available for all three Sky Racing channels. Data charges may apply.

Watch the 2025 Futurity Stakes with TAB.

Futurity Stakes Bonus Bets

Australia’s leading bookmakers offer horse racing promotions and bonus bets every day of the week and the offers really ramp up on Saturday covering most races.

From Double Your WinningsCash Back offers and Bonus Bet Back for finishing 2nd, 3rd and even 4th, there are plenty of promos to sink your teeth into.

Racingbase hunts down all the daily bookmaker promos and bonus bets and displays them on one page with their T&C’s so you can see what is on offer.

Free Caulfield Betting Tips

Follow the link to find our free racing tips for Caulfield and best bets for each and every meeting. Our Caulfield tipster previews each meeting and highlights a Best Bet, Next Best & Best Value.