Melbourne Cup Race Time

 

The 2021 Melbourne Cup race time is scheduled for 3pm AEDT on Tuesday, November 2.

Held at Flemington Racecourse, the $7.75 million Lexus Melbourne Cup (3200m) is one of 10 races held on Melbourne Cup Day.

A capacity field of 24 runners can compete in the Melbourne Cup which is often referred to as ‘the race that stops a nation.’ At 3pm on the first Tuesday in November, millions of viewers stop what they are doing to watch Australia’s most iconic horse race, the Melbourne Cup.

When does the Melbourne Cup start?

Due to time differences in Australia, the following is a list of Melbourne Cup start times:

State  Race Time
Victoria 3:00pm
New South Wales 3:00pm
Queensland 2:00pm
Western Australia 12:00pm
South Australia 2:30pm
Tasmania 3:00pm
Northern Territory 1:30pm
ACT 3:00pm

Melbourne Cup race Time Around The World 

Due to time differences across the globe, the following is a list of Melbourne Cup start times:

Country Race Time
Wellington (NZ) 5:00pm
London (GB) 6:00am
Munich (Germany) 7:00am
New York (USA) 1:00am
Singapore 1:00pm
Dubai (UAE) 9:00am
Cape Town (South Africa) 7:00am
Tokyo (Japan) 2:00pm
Buenos Aires (Argentina) 2:00am
New Dehli (India) 10:30am

Melbourne Cup TV Coverage

There are many ways to watch the Melbourne Cup, whether that be on your TV or any home device.

Channel 10 will be broadcasting the entire raceday on November 2nd at approximately 10am. The Lexus Melbourne Cup is set to run at 3pm, barring any delays. Racing.com and racing based TV channels will also be broadcasting the race. If you are a Victorian resident, Channel 7 will also be covering the event.

If you are not able to watch it on the TV, don’t stress. You can watch it on any home device on the 10-play app. Equally, you can live stream each individual Melbourne Cup raceday event on the app of individual bookmakers, including Sportsbet, Ladbrokes, TAB and more!

Melbourne Cup Time FAQs

What race number is the Melbourne Cup?

The Melbourne Cup is Race 8 at Flemington.

When does the Melbourne Cup finish?

The Melbourne Cup starts at 3pm and lasts for approximately three minutes and 20 seconds. Therefore, it should be finished by 3:04pm AEDT, assuming the race is run on time.

What time is the Melbourne Cup in Victoria?

The Melbourne Cup starts at 3pm if you are watching from Victoria.

What time is the Melbourne Cup in New South Wales?

The Melbourne Cup starts at 3pm if you are watching from New South Wales.

What time is the Melbourne Cup in Queensland?

The Melbourne Cup starts at 2pm if you are watching from Queensland.

What time is the Melbourne Cup in Western Australia?

The Melbourne Cup starts at 12pm if you are watching from Western Australia.

What time is the Melbourne Cup in South Australia?

The Melbourne Cup starts at 2:30pm if you are watching from South Australia.

What time is the Melbourne Cup in Tasmania?

The Melbourne Cup starts at 3pm if you are watching from Tasmania.

What time is the Melbourne Cup in the Northern Territory?

The Melbourne Cup starts at 1:30pm if you are watching from Northern Territory.

What time is the Melbourne Cup in the Australian Capital Territory?

The Melbourne Cup starts at 3pm if you are watching from Australian Capital Territory.