Oakleigh Plate 2025 Tips, Field & Race Guide

The Group 1 Oakleigh Plate (1100m) is held at Caulfield each year and is a handicap race with no class, age or sex restrictions.

The race is worth $750,000 in 2025 and attracts a high class field of sprinters.

Our Oakleigh Plate race guide will provide up to date nominations, barrier draw, tips and more information so you don’t miss out on anything to do with the 1100m sprint.

CONTENTS: Schedule | Live Stream | Bonus Bets | Tips | Nominations | Field & Barrier Draw | Results & Replays | Odds | History | Winners | Top 5 Winners

2025 Oakleigh Plate Schedule

Date February 22
Track Caulfield
Distance 1100m
Class Group 1
Race Type Handicap
Prize Money $750,000
Age No Restrictions

Oakleigh Plate Tips

Speed is generally the most crucial factor when trying to find the winner of the Group 1 Oakleigh Plate (1100m) winner.

Our experts assess all the Oakleigh Plate runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2025 tips to help you back the winner.

Our Oakleigh Plate Tips & Preview will be available following the barrier draw.

Oakleigh Plate Nominations

Nominations for the 2025 Oakleigh Plate takes place at 12pm on February 19, 2025.

Oakleigh Plate Field & Barrier Draw

The final field and barrier draw for the 2025 Oakleigh Plate will be released at 9:30am February 19, 2025.

Click here to see the 2025 Oakleigh Plate Barrier Draw & Final Field trends and statistics.

2024 Oakleigh Plate Results & Replay

Finish Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight SP
1 QUEMAN Shane & Cassie Oxlade Harry Coffey 2 52kg $17
2 HYPOTHETICAL Anthony & Sam Freedman Michael Dee 9 52kg $11
3 MORNINGTON GLORY Gavin Bedggood Dean Yendall 7 52kg $41
4 BENEDETTA Jason Warren Daniel Stackhouse 5 53kg $7.50
5 BRUDENELL Kris Lees Daniel Moor 6 52kg $21
6 RECOMMENDATION Ciaron Maher Declan Bates 4 53.5kg $17
7 SGHIRRIPA Shane & Cassie Oxlade Craig Newitt 13 55kg $7.50
8 KING’S GAMBIT Peter & Paul Snowden Ms Jamie Kah 1 50kg $4.20F
9 REY MAGNERIO Robbie Griffiths & Mathew de Kock Jye McNeil 12 52kg $12
10 ASFOORA Henry Dwyer Mitchell Aitken 11 57.5kg $9
11 KALLOS James Cummings Blake Shinn 15 58kg $12
12 CHAIN OF LIGHTNING Peter G Moody & Katherine Coleman Ms Carleen Hefel 10 53.5kg $31
13 SKEW WIFF (NZ) Mark Walker Craig Williams 3 55.5kg $26
14 LEMPICKA Ken & Kasey Keys Blaike McDougall 14 52kg $41
15 NAJEM SUHAIL Robbie Griffiths & Mathew de Kock Ms Celine Gaudray (a) 8 53.5kg $21

See more Oakleigh Plate results and replays.

Oakleigh Plate Odds

Leading bookmakers Sportsbet, Ladbrokes, Neds, bet365 & Palmerbet have the latest 2025 Oakleigh Plate betting odds available.

There will be plenty of movements in the Oakleigh Plate betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.

Oakleigh Plate History

The Group 1 Oakleigh Plate (1100m) takes place at Caulfield Racecourse annually in February during the Melbourne Autumn Carnival and is an Open Handicap race for sprinters.

The race attracts the country’s best up and coming sprinters and is one of three Group 1 races to be run on Blue Diamond Stakes Day.

Other races include the Group 1 Blue Diamond Stakes (1200m), Group 1 Futurity Stakes (1400m), Group 2 Angus Armanasco Stakes (1400m), Group 2 St George Stakes (1800m), Group 2 Autumn Classic (1800m), and the Group 3 Mannerism Stakes (1400m).

The best lead-up race to the Oakleigh Plate is the Group 1 Lightning Stakes (1000m) held at Flemington Racecourse one week earlier.

Sprinters tackling this race may then continue on to the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap (1200m) down the Flemington straight course on Super Saturday of Racing.

First run in 1884, the Oakleigh Plate was won by champion racehorse Malua when the race was run over six furlongs. In 1973 the race was adjusted to 1200 and has remained that way since.

The illustrious honour roll lists some very accomplished sprinters including Wakeful (1901), Power Duke (1960), Placid Ark (1987), Schillaci (1992), Fastnet Rock (2005), Snitzel (2006), Weekend Hussler (2008) and Starpgledbanner (2010).

Oakleigh Plate Winners (Since 2000)

2024 Queman
2023 Uncommon James
2022 Marabi
2021 Celebrity Queen & Portland Sky (Dead Heat)
2020 Pippie
2019 Booker
2018 Russian Revolution
2017 Sheidel
2016 Flamberge
2015 Shamal Wind
2014 Lankan Rupee
2013 Mrs Onassis
2012 Woorim
2011 Eagle Falls
2010 Starspangledbanner
2009 Swiss Ace
2008 Weekend Hussler
2007 Undue
2006 Snitzel
2005 Fastnet Rock
2004 Reactive
2003 River Dove
2002 Sudurka
2001 Miss Kournikova
2000 Sports

Top 5 Oakleigh Plate Winners

See our Top 5 Oakleigh Plate Winners.

Oakleigh Plate Live Stream

Australia’s leading bookmaker TAB offers you the chance to watch the 2025 Oakleigh Plate free of charge courtesy of their Sky Racing vision.

TAB will be streaming the action from every Australian thoroughbred, greyhound and harness race live after linking up with Sky Racing to broadcast Sky Racing 1, Sky Racing 2 and Sky Thoroughbred Central.

As well as watching every race in all three racing codes, you can also check the form and bet on them too at TAB via Desktop or the impressive App.

T&Cs Apply. Vision available for all three Sky Racing channels. Data charges may apply.

Watch the 2025 Oakleigh Plate with TAB.

Oakleigh Plate Bonus Bets

Australia’s leading bookmakers offer horse racing promotions and bonus bets every day of the week and the offers really ramp up on Saturday covering most races.

From Double Your WinningsCash Back offers and Bonus Bet Back for finishing 2nd, 3rd and even 4th, there are plenty of promos to sink your teeth into.

Racingbase hunts down all the daily bookmaker promos and bonus bets and displays them on one page with their T&C’s so you can see what is on offer.

Free Caulfield Betting Tips

Follow the link to find our free Caulfield horse racing tips and best bets for each and every meeting. Our Caulfield tipster previews each meeting and highlights a Best Bet, Next Best & Best Value.