Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Barrier Draw Behemoth (PA Images)

2022 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Barrier Draw & Final Field

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes barrier draw and final field will be announced at 9.00am on Wednesday, Sept 14, 2022. 

Check back here following the barrier draw for an assessment of the 2022 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes field.

Below is the field and barrier draw from 2021.

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes (1400m) barrier draw was conducted on Wednesday morning with a final field of 16 plus one emergency being named for the Caulfield Group 1.

Five-year-old New Zealand mare Probabeel has drawn barrier two for Saturday’s assignment with Brett Prebble picking up the ride.

Trained by Jamie Richards, Probabeel was a winner of the Group 3 Cockram Stakes (1200m) at her return to racing. The Group 1 Futurity Stakes (1400m) winner from the autumn has won four of her six starts over the 1400m.

Drawn alongside Probabeel is defending winner Behemoth for trainer David Jolly. The six-year-old gelding carries the topweight of 59kg in the race as he seeks back-to-back Group 1 races after his victory in the Memsie Stakes (1400m).

Will Clarken’s four-year-old gelding Beau Rossa continues his rivalry with Behemoth this campaign and will look to turn the tables after a narrow second in the Memsie. Beau Rossa will once again have Linda Meech riding but meets Behemoth much better at the weights this time around.

The Mick Price and Michael Kent Jnr-trained four-year-old gelding I’m Thunderstruck is the lone emergency for the race. He will be a major player if he gains a start as he carries 52kg in the race despite gate 17.

See below for the full field and barrier draw for the $1 million Caulfield feature.

2021 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes barrier draw and final field

No. Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 BEHEMOTH David Jolly Craig Williams 3 59kg
2 PROBABEEL (NZ) Jamie Richards Brett Prebble 2 57kg
3 STREETS OF AVALON Shane Nichols Damien Oliver 14 56kg
4 DALASAN Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Ben Allen 16 55.5kg
5 BEAU ROSSA Will Clarken Ms Linda Meech 1 55kg
6 BUFFALO RIVER (USA) Michael Moroney Patrick Moloney 4 52.5kg
7 SIERRA SUE (NZ) Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young Daniel Moor 10 52.5kg
8 GROUNDSWELL Anthony & Sam Freedman Damien Thornton 9 52kg
9 AYSAR Ben & JD Hayes Harry Coffey 13 52kg
10 IRISH FLAME (NZ) Brett Scott Matthew Cartwright (a) 5 52kg
11 ROMANCER (NZ) Grahame Begg Michael Dee 8 52kg
12 SAMIZDAT Chris & Michael Gangemi Craig Newitt 6 52kg
13 AMISH BOY Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Dean Yendall 15 52kg
14 DICE ROLL (FR) Nick Ryan Fred Kersley 7 52kg
15 REGARDSMAREE Nick Ryan Dean Holland 11 52kg
16 POLAND Michael Moroney Teodore Nugent (a) 12 52kg
17e I’M THUNDERSTRUCK (NZ) Mick Price & Michael Kent (Jnr) Jye McNeil 17 52kg