Australian Guineas 2023 Tips, Field & Race Guide

The Group 1 Australian Guineas (1600m) takes place at Flemington Racecourse annually and is a testing mile race for three year olds.

The 2023 renewal of the famous race will take place on Saturday, March 4.

We provide you with Australian Guineas tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field and barrier draw, news, betting odds, and how you can watch a live stream to watch the race unfold.

CONTENTS: Schedule | Live Stream | Bonus Bets | Tips | Nominations | Field & Barrier Draw | Results & Replays | Odds | History | Winners | Top 5 Winners

Australian Guineas

Australian Guineas 2023 Schedule

Date March 4
Track Flemington
Distance 1600m
Class Group 1
Race Type Set Weights
Prize Money $1 million
Age 3YO

Australian Guineas Tips

Fitness and class goes a long way when trying to find the Group 1 Australian Guineas (1600m) winner.

Our experts assess all the Australian Guineas runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2023 tips to help you back the winner.

Our expert tipsters will provide 2023 Australian Guineas tips following the barrier draw.

Australian Guineas Nominations

Nominations for the Australian Guineas will take place at 12 pm on January 30, 2023.

Acceptance closing round 1 will take place at 12p, on February 21, 2023.

Australian Guineas Field & Barrier Draw

The final field and barrier draw for the Australian Guineas will be released at 9:30 am on March 1, 2023.

2022 Australian Guineas Results & Replay

Finish Horse Jockey Trainer Barrier Weight SP
1st Hitotsu John Allen Ciaron Maher & David Eustace 1 57kg $8
2nd Lightsaber Luke Nolen Peter G Moody 3 55kg $19
3rd Bon’s A Pearla Brett Prebble Kevin Corstens 11 57kg $41
4th Forgot You Mark Zahra Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young 5 57kg $6.50
5 Pinstriped Michael Dee Enver Jusufovic 9 57kg $6.50
6 Captivant Ms Jamie Kah Peter & Paul Snowden 8 57kg $6
7 Pascero Damian Lane Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young 6 57kg $14
8 Maurice’s Medad Joshua Parr Bjorn Baker 12 57kg $26
9 Sharp Response Beau Mertens Julius Sandhu 10 57kg $51
10 Ranch Hand Craig Williams Chris Waller 7 57kg $11
11 Alegron Damien Oliver James Cummings 2 57kg $41
12 Prix De Turn Ben Allen Matthew Brown 14 57kg $61
13 Profondo Robbie Dolan Richard Litt 13 57kg $4.60
14 Rhinoceros Jamie Mott Emma-Lee & David Browne 4 57kg $201
15 Zerelle Craig Newitt Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young 15 57kg $81
  Corona Lad Thomas Stockdale (a/54kg) Nathan Dunn 0  
  Spirit Of Gaylard Jordan Childs Mitchell Freedman 0  
  Coastwatch Craig Williams Chris Waller 0  

See more Australian Guineas results and replays.

Australian Guineas Odds

Leading bookmakers Sportsbet, Ladbrokes, Neds, bet365 & Palmerbet have the latest 2023 Australian Guineas betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the Australian Guineas betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you directly to the bookmakers.

Australian Guineas History

The country’s best fillies, colts, and geldings converge on the Australian Guineas, a set-weights race for three-year-olds that is held at Flemington during the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival.

The race often sees a future (or current) star racehorse emerge victorious.

The Australian Guineas is clearly the star attraction on the Flemington program with two support races – Group 3 TAB Rewards Stakes (1400m) and Group 3 Frances Tressady Stakes (1400m).

Taking place on the first day of the two-day VRC Autumn Carnival, the Australian Guineas takes place one week prior to Super Saturday where the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 Australian Cup (2000m) are the highlights of the Flemington raceday.

From 1998 to 2000, the Australian Guineas was run over 2000m, and in 2007 the race was transferred to Caulfield Racecourse while track reconstruction took place at Flemington.

David Hayes and Lee Freedman have trained three Australian Guineas winners each; Hayes prepared King’s High (1989), Zabeel (1990) and Miss Finland (2007) while Freedman trained Mahogany (1994), Flying Spur (1996) and Mr Murphy (2001).

Favourites have claimed 11 of the past 30 Australian Guineas, but they have a terrible record in recent years with Light Fantastic the last favourite to win the race in 2008. Since then, eight favourites have gone under with all of them unplaced and only three finishing in the top five.

The Group 3 CS Hayes Stakes (1400m) for colts & geldings and the Group 3 The Vanity (1400m) for fillies are widely recognised as the ideal lead-up races to this event.

First run in 1986, the Australian Guineas was won by True Version when the race held Group 3 status before being elevated to a Group 1 the following year.

Other former winners of the Australian Guineas include Military Plume (1987), Zabeel (1990), Triscay (1991), Mahogany (1994), Dash For Cash (2002), Reset (2004), Apache Cat (2006), Miss Finland (2007), Mosheen (2012), Shamus Award (2014), Wandjina (2015), Hey Doc (2017) and Grunt (2018).

Australian Guineas Winners (Since 2000)

2022 Hitotsu
2021 Lunar Fox
2020 Alligator Blood
2019 Mystic Journey
2018 Grunt
2017 Hey Doc
2016 Palentino
2015 Wandjina
2014 Shamus Award
2013 Ferlax
2012 Mosheen
2011 Shamrocker
2010 Rock Classic
2009 Heart Of Dreams
2008 Light Fantastic
2007 Miss Finland
2006 Apache Cat
2005 Al Maher
2004 Reset
2003 Delago Brom
2002 Dash For Cash
2001 Mr Murphy
2000 Pins

Top 5 Australian Guineas Winners

Click here to see our Top 5 Australian Guineas Winners.

Australian Guineas Live Stream

Australia’s leading bookmaker TAB offers you the chance to watch the 2023 Australian Guineas free of charge courtesy of their Sky Racing vision.

TAB will be streaming the action from every Australian thoroughbred, greyhound and harness race live after linking up with Sky Racing to broadcast Sky Racing 1, Sky Racing 2 and Sky Thoroughbred Central.

As well as watching every race in all three racing codes, you can also check the form and bet on them too at TAB via Desktop or the impressive App.

T&Cs Apply. Vision available for all three Sky Racing channels. Data charges may apply.

Watch the 2023 Australian Guineas with TAB.

Australian Guineas Bonus Bets

Australia’s leading bookmakers offer horse racing promotions and bonus bets every day of the week and the offers really ramp up on Saturday covering most races

From Double Your WinningsCash Back offers and Bonus Bet Back for finishing 2nd, 3rd and even 4th, there are plenty of promos to sink your teeth into.

Racingbase hunts down all the daily bookmaker promos and bonus bets and displays them on one page with their T&C’s so you can see what is on offer.

Flemington Racecourse: Everything You Need To Know

To read all about Flemington Racecourse, including the history of the track and which Group 1 races will be held at Flemington, click the button below.