Top 5 Moir Stakes Winners

Robert Sangster Stakes Winners


The Moir Stakes (1000m) sees the sprinters go for Group 1 glory at Moonee Valley and has been won by some champion gallopers over the years. See who made our list of top 5 Moir Stakes winners since 2000.

In modern times, the feature race has been taken out by some outstanding gallopers.

Here are our top 5 Moir Stakes winners:

1. BLACK CAVIAR (2010 & 2011)

It’s pretty hard to go past Black Caviar as the best to have won the Moir Stakes. The mighty mare was unbeaten in her 25 race starts, 15 of which came at Group 1 level. She won the Moir on two occasions when it was run on Cox Plate day back in 2010 and 2011 and known as the Schweppes Stakes. The Peter Moody-trained champion won by five lengths in 2010 when the Moir was a Group 2 before smashing the likes of Hay List in the VRC Sprint Classic (1200m) at Flemington. In the 2011 edition she won by a lazy six lengths.


One of the best to come out of Perth, Miss Andretti was the 2007 Australian Horse of the Year and also won the Moir when it was a Group 2 known as the Schweppes. The top mare cleaned up early on in her career in WA before being transferred to the Freedman stables in Melbourne and retired with 19 wins from 31 starts. She won five Group 1 races but the highlight of her career was arguably her performance in the Group 2 Kings Stand Stakes at Royal Ascot in the UK in 2007, claiming that race ahead of Dandy Man.

3. BUFFERING (2014 & 2015)

What a marvel Buffering was. The warhorse spent much of his early career mixing it with the likes of Black Caviar and Hay List before running into horses of the calibre of Chautauqua later on. But the Robert Heathcote gelding was able to make a name for himself and won the Moir Stakes in 2014 and 2015, after it had been elevated to Group 1 status. Other big wins came in the Winterbottom Stakes (1200m), the VRC Sprint Classic and the Manikato Stakes (1200m). He surpassed $7 million in earnings when claiming the Al Quoz Sprint in Dubai at the tail end of his career.

4. APACHE CAT (2009)

The popular Apache Cat claimed eight wins at Group 1 level and staged a memorable duel with one of New Zealand’s finest, Darci Brahma, in the 2006 Australian Guineas (1600m) but would later develop into a sprinter. The baldy faced galloper picked up the remainder of his big wins at the highest level over trips shorter than that of the Guineas and claimed the Moir in 2009 on Cox Plate day, the same day that So You Think burst on to the scene. He was successful at the highest level in Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane and retired with 19 wins from 43 starts.

5. NATURE STRIP (2019)

At his best, Nature Strip would not be out of place against some of the names on this list and at the time of writing had won four Group 1 races with others coming in the Galaxy (1100m), VRC Sprint Classic (1200m) and TJ Smith Stakes (1200m). After failing in the 2018 version of the Moir, he was able to bounce back (just) in 2019.



Follow the link to find our Moonee Valley best bets and free racing tips for each and every meeting. Our Moonee Valley tipster previews each meeting and highlights a Best Bet, Next Best & Best Value.

Current Offers