Verry Elleegant Stakes 2025 Tips, Field & Race Guide

The 2025 Verry Elleegant Stakes (1600m) was formerly the Chipping Nortong Stakes and takes place at Randwick on Saturday, March 2.

The race is open to horses three years old and upward and is worth $61 million in prizemoney.

We provide you with Verry Elleegant Stakes tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream to watch the race unfold.

CONTENTS: Schedule | Live Stream | Bonus Bets | TipsNominations | Field & Barrier Draw | Results & Replays | Odds | History | Winners | Top 5 Winners

Chipping Norton Stakes winners

Verry Elleegant Stakes 2025 Schedule

Date March 1
Track Randwick
Distance 1600m
Class Group 1
Race Type Weight-for-age
Prize Money $1 Million
Age 3YO and Upwards

Verry Elleegant Stakes Tips

When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 Verry Elleegant Stakes (1600m) at Randwick, keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the Verry Elleegant Stakes runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2025 tips to help you back the winner.

Our expert tipsters will provide their 2025 Verry Elleegant Stakes Tips following the barrier draw.


Verry Elleegant Stakes Nominations

Nominations for the Verry Elleegant Stakes will take place at 11am on February 24, 2025.

Verry Elleegant Stakes Field & Barrier Draw

The final field and barrier draw for the Verry Elleegant Stakes will be released at 9:00am February 26, 2025.

Check out the Verry Elleegant Stakes Barrier Draw trends and stats.

2024 Verry Elleegant Stakes Results & Replay

Finish Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight SP
1 THINK IT OVER Kerry Parker Nash Rawiller 2 59kg $8.50
2 FANGIRL Chris Waller James McDonald 8 57kg $1.30F
3 LINDERMANN Chris Waller Tim Clark 4 59kg $14
4 CASCADIAN (GB) James Cummings Tom Marquand 7 59kg $21
5 ARAPAHO (FR) Bjorn Baker Zac Lloyd (a) 6 59kg $81
6 ATHABASCAN (FR) John O’Shea Tyler Schiller 5 59kg $101
7 NAVAJO PEAK David Payne Jason Collett 3 59kg $18
8 JUST FINE (IRE) Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Regan Bayliss 1 59kg $13


See previous Verry Elleegant Stakes Results & Replays

Verry Elleegant Stakes Odds

Leading bookmakers Ladbrokes, Neds, bet365 & Palmerbet have the latest 2024 Verry Elleegant Stakes betting odds available.

There will be plenty of movements in the Verry Elleegant Stakes betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.

Chipping Norton Stakes History

A weight-for-age race held during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival, the Chipping Norton Stakes is open to horses three-years-old and upwards.

Supporting the Chipping Norton Stakes is the Group 2 Skyline Stakes (1200m), Group 2 Sweet Embrace Stakes (1200m), Group 2 Surround Stakes (1400m) and Group 2 Guy Walter Stakes (1400m). The Group 3 Liverpool City Cup (1300m) often attracts a nice field also.

Wallace Mortlake won the inaugural Chipping Norton Stakes in 1925 when the race was a Principle race and run over 1¼ miles (approximately 2000m).

In 1972 the race distance was raised to 2100m and in 1980 the distance was shortened to its current 1600m and elevated to Group 2 status.

The Chipping Norton Stakes was awarded Group 1 status in 1986 and has been the most highly-regarded Warwick Farm feature since that time.

Although the race is Warwick Farm’s feature race of the year, it was run at Randwick Racecourse in 1992, 2001, 2008, 2009 and 2016.

With $600,000 in prizemoney the Chipping Norton Stakes attracts the country’s best milers and middle-distance horses as they prepare for further Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival targets.

The Group 2 Apollo Stakes (1400m) held at Royal Randwick Racecourse two weeks earlier is the most reliable guide to the Chipping Norton.

Some of Australia’s most talented horses have won the premier weight-for-age event with Tie The Knot winning it across four consecutive editions.

Other notable winners of the Chipping Norton Stakes include Amounis (1927), Phar Lap (1930), Rogilla (1935), Tranquil Star (1941), Bernborough (1946), Comic Court (1951), Tulloch (1958 & 1960), Sky High (1962), Rain Lover (1969), Emancipation (1984), Our Waverley Star (1987), Super Impose (1991-92), Octagonal (1997), Tie The Knot (1999-2002), Lonhro (2003), Starcraft (2004), Grand Armee (2005), Desert War (2006), Shoot Out (2012-13), Boban (2014) and Winx (2016-19).

Verry Elleegant Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2024 Think It Over
2023 Anamoe
2022 Verry Elleegant
2021 Verry Elleegant
2020 Te Akau Shark
2019 Winx
2018 Winx
2017 Winx
2016 Winx
2015 Contributer
2014 Boban
2013 Shoot Out
2012 Shoot Out
2011 Danleigh
2010 Theseo
2009 Tuesday Joy
2008 Casino Prince
2007 He's No Pie Eater
2006 Desert War
2005 Grand Armee
2004 Starcraft
2003 Lonhro
2002 Tie The Knot
2001 Tie The Knot
2000 Tie The Knot

Top 5 Chipping Norton Stakes Winners

Click here to see our Top 5 Chipping Norton Stakes Winners.

Verry Elleegant Stakes Live Stream


Verry Elleegant Stakes Bonus Bets

Australia’s leading bookmakers offer horse racing promotions and bonus bets every day of the week and the offers really ramp up on Saturday covering most races.

From Double Your WinningsCash Back offers and Bonus Bet Back for finishing 2nd, 3rd and even 4th, there are plenty of promos to sink your teeth into.

Racingbase hunts down all the daily bookmaker promos and bonus bets and displays them on one page with their T&C’s so you can see what is on offer.

Free Randwick Betting Tips

Follow the link to find our free tips for Randwick races today and best bets for each and every meeting. Our Randwick tipster previews each meeting and highlights a Best Bet, Next Best & Best Value.