2019 Doomben Cup Tips & Betting Advice

Doomben Cup Results
Doomben Cup

Doomben Cup Results & Replays

Previous Doomben Cup results including top four finishing horses, jockeys and trainers, as well as winning barriers, weights and starting price (SP).

Racingbase.com.au is your home of the 2019 Doomben Cup. The race will take place on Saturday, 18 May, 2019 at Doomben Racecourse.

We provide you with Doomben Cup tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream to watch the race unfold.

Doomben Cup 2019

Date Saturday, May 18, 2019
Track Doomben Racecourse
Distance 2000m
Class Group 1
Race Type Weight for Age
Prizemoney $700,000
Age 3YO and Upwards


When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 Doomben Cup (2000m) at Doomben, keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the Doomben Cup runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2019 tips to help you back the winner.

Tipster Aaron Hamilton will provide his tips and selections for the 2019 Doomben Cup once the field has been finalised.


Leading bookmakers Sportsbet and BetEasy have the latest 2019 Doomben Cup betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the Doomben Cup betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.


Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Doomben Cup (and all other races from Queensland tracks) free of charge. You can watch all Doomben races including the Doomben Cup streamed live online at Ladbrokes, BetEasy or Sportsbet. To find out how to stream the Doomben Cup live, see our guide to watch the race.


The Doomben Cup features a host of special offers from bookmakers and that includes the opportunity to claim bonus bets when becoming a new customer before the race. A range of bonus bets and special offers, deposit matches, first bet matches and no deposit bets are available from the bookmakers to take advantage of throughout the year.


A weight-for-age staying race that is open to horses aged three-years-old and upwards, the Doomben Cup carries $700,000 in prizemoney and is one of the major races held during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

The feature attracts some of the best middle-distance and staying performers bidding for success in the Group 1 race.

A number of features support the Doomben Cup, including the Group 2 The Roses (2000m) and Group 3 BRC Sprint (1350m).

Rough Habit is the only horse to have won the Doomben Cup on three occasions; he first claimed the feature as a four-year-old by a dominant 4.3 lengths as the $1.40 favourite in 1991.

Rough Habit then scored narrowly in 1992 as the $1.70 favourite before completing the hat-trick in 1993 as the $3.50 popular elect.

The Doomben Cup was first held in 1933 when won by Pentheus and has been held over varying distances between 2000m and 2200m until the current trip was settled on in 2012.

It has carried Group 1 status since 1980 when taken out by Golden Rhapsody.

Other notable winners of the Doomben Cup include Bernborough (1946), Earlwood (1959-60), Lord Ben (1974), Marceau (1978), Danewin (1995), Juggler (1996), Might And Power (1998), Intergaze (1999), Mr Bureaucrat (2002), Above Deck (2006), Metal Bender (2010), Scenic Shot (2009 & 2011), Streama (2014), Our Ivanhowe (2016) and Comin’ Through (2018).

Lord Hybrow (1988) and Scenic Shot (2009) are the only two gallopers to have captured the Doomben Cup-Brisbane Cup double.

Doomben Cup Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Akhenaton
2001 King Keitel
2002 Mr Bureaucrat
2003 Bush Padre
2004 Defier
2005 Perlin
2006 Above Deck
2007 Cinque Cento
2008 Sarrera
2009 Scenic Shot
2010 Metal Bender
2011 Scenic Shot
2012 Mawingo
2013 Beaten Up
2014 Streama
2015 Pornichet
2016 Our Ivanhowe
2017 Sense Of Occasion
2018 Comin' Through
2019 Kenedna


The racecourse’s construction was completed in 1933 and was subsequently shut down during the Second World War, when it was used by allied troops during the Pacific War.

The course reopened in 1946 when the TM Ahern Cup and the Doomben Cup were held for the first time.

The Doomben Cup is now considered to be one of the best middle-distance racing events in the country. Doomben received a major upgrade in 1982, and is now home to world class facilities.

It is situated in the suburb of Ascot, approximately 7 kilometres north of the Brisbane CBD.


Races are run in a clockwise direction, while the track is a turf track and is banked at varying degrees around the course proper.

Front runners have a distinct advantage at Doomben, especially when the track is rain-affected.