The Group 1 Doncaster Mile will take place on Saturday, April 2, 2022 at Royal Randwick.

With prize money of $3 million, the handicap contest is open to horses aged three years and upwards.

We provide you with Doncaster Mile tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream to watch the race unfold.

CONTENTS: Schedule | Live Stream | Bonus Bets | Tips | Nominations | Field & Barrier Draw | Results & Replays | Odds | History | Winners | Top 5 Winners | FAQs


Date April 2
Track Royal Randwick
Distance 1600m
Class Group 1
Race Type Handicap
Prizemoney $3 million
Age 3YO and upwards


TAB members are able to watch the 2022 Doncaster Mile free of charge courtesy of Sky Racing vision.

You can stream the action from your mobile device or desktop for every Australian thoroughbred, greyhound and harness race live.

TAB offers Sky Racing 1, Sky Racing 2 and Sky Thoroughbred Central on their racing live streaming service.

T&Cs Apply. Vision available for all three Sky Racing channels. Data charges may apply.

Watch the 2022 Doncaster Mile with TAB:


With the country’s leading bookmakers offering horse racing promotions and bonus bets every day of the week, you can get more bang for your buck.

The offers really ramp up on Saturday covering most races with promos such as Double Your WinningsCash Back and Bonus Bet Back for finishing 2nd, 3rd and even 4th, there are plenty of promos to sink your teeth into.

Racingbase hunts down all the daily bookmaker promos and bonus bets and displays them on one page with their T&C’s so you can see what is on offer.


When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 Doncaster Mile (1600m) at Randwick, keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the Doncaster Mile runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2022 tips to help you back the winner.

Our team of expert tipsters will provide 2022 Doncaster Mile tips and selections once the final field has been declared.


There are two rounds of nominations for the 2022 Doncaster Mile with the first taking place at 9am on February 9, 2022, while the final nominations are taken at 12:00pm on March 8, 2022.


The final field and barrier draw for the 2022 Doncaster Mile will be released at 8:00am April 5, 2022.

Below is the field and barrier draw from 2021.

1MUGATOO (IRE)Kris LeesHugh Bowman456kg
2AVILIUS (GB)James CummingsJames McDonald1256kg
3SAMADOUBTBjorn BakerJoshua Parr1456kg
4STAR OF THE SEAS (NZ)Chris WallerSam Clipperton954kg
5OLMEDO (FR)Annabel NeashamTommy Berry554kg
6SHOUT THE BARGai Waterhouse & Adrian BottTim Clark2053.5kg
7GEM SONGKris LeesJason Collett1953.5kg
8ZAAKI (GB)Annabel NeashamRegan Bayliss2253.5kg
9AEGON (NZ)Murray Baker & Andrew ForsmanKerrin McEvoy753kg
10CASCADIAN (GB)James CummingsMs Jamie Kah353kg
11DALASANLeon Macdonald & Andrew GluyasJason Holder153kg
12THINK IT OVERKerry ParkerGlen Boss1852.5kg
13FUNSTARChris WallerCraig Williams1752.5kg
14BEST OF DAYS (GB)James CummingsMs Rachel King1552.5kg
15I AM SUPERMAN (IRE)Peter & Paul SnowdenAndrew Adkins1052kg
16ROCKMichael, Wayne & John HawkesJames Innes Jnr852kg
17NETTOYERWendy RocheMichael Poy651kg
18YAO DASHGai Waterhouse & Adrian BottMichael Dee1150.5kg
19MO’UNGA (NZ)Annabel NeashamRobbie Dolan2149.5kg
20FORBIDDEN LOVERichard & Michael FreedmanDean Yendall1349.5kg
21eICEBATH (NZ)Brad WiddupJay Ford250.5kg
22eWHEELHOUSEChris WallerTBA1649.5kg


1stCascadianJamie KahJames Cummings353kg$8
2ndIcebathJay FordBrad Widdup250.5kg$21
3rdDalasanJason HolderLeon Macdonald and Andrew Gluyas153kg$31
4thMugatooHugh BowmanKris Lees456kg$4.20

To see more Doncaster Mile results and replays click here


Leading bookmakers Sportsbet, Ladbrokes, Neds, bet365 & Palmerbet have the latest 2022 Doncaster Mile betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the Doncaster Mile betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.


This Group 1 event takes place at Sydney’s Royal Randwick Racecourse annually in April during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival as part of Day 1 of The Championships.

In 2016 the race was taken out by the Chris Waller-trained four-year-old champion mare Winx with jockey Hugh Bowman aboard.

The race tends to attract a capacity field of 20 runners and the final field and barrier draw is determined by ballot in relation to the horse’s handicap.

It was first run in 1866 when won by Dundee and has grown in stature to become one of Australia’s most prestigious races.

Due to the large sum of prizemoney on offer, the Doncaster Mile attracts the best mile/middle-distance staying horses from Australia and New Zealand and is part of a fantastic day of racing that includes the $2.5 million Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes (1200m), $2 million Group 1 Australian Derby (2400m) and $1 million Group 1 Sires’ Produce Stakes (1400m).

The Doncaster Mile is run under handicap conditions over 1600m and is open to males and females aged three-years-old and upwards.

Punters looking for the most reliable lead-up race to the Doncaster Mile should turn to the form out of the Group 1 George Ryder Stakes (1500m) run two weeks prior on Golden Slipper Day at Rosehill Gardens.

The honour roll is exceptional with many of the Doncaster Mile winners being regarded as Australia’s greatest racehorses.

Famous Doncaster Mile winners include Briseis (1876), Wakeful (1901), Chatham (1934), Tobin Bronze (1967), Gunsynd (1972), Emancipation (1983), Super Impose (1990-91), Sunline (1999 & 2002), Haradasun (2007), More Joyous (2012), Sacred Falls (2013-14) and Happy Clapper (2018).

Many of the horses that have won the Doncaster Mile have gone on to win some of the country’s most prestigious races in the following years with the Cox Plate being the most likely target.

DONCASTER MILE Winners (Since 2000)

2021 Cascadian
2020 Nettoyer
2019 Brutal
2018 Happy Clapper
2017 It's Somewhat
2016 Winx
2015 Kermadec
2014 Sacred Falls
2013 Sacred Falls
2012 More Joyous
2011 Sacred Choice
2010 Rangirangdoo
2009 Vision And Power
2008 Triple Honour
2007 Haradasun
2006 Racing To Win
2005 Patezza
2004 Private Steer
2003 Grand Armee
2002 Sunline
2001 Assertive Lad
2000 Over


Click here to see our Top 5 Doncaster Mile Winners.


To read all about Royal Randwick Racecourse, including the history of the track and which Group 1 races will be held at Rosehill, click the button below.

Doncaster Mile FAQs

When and where is the Doncaster Mile?
The Group 1 Doncaster Mile is held at Royal Randwick Racecourse annually in April during The Championships. In 2021 the Doncaster Mile will take place on April 10.
How to watch the Doncaster Mile Live Stream?
Australia’s leading bookmaker TAB offers live streaming of all gallops, harness and greyhound racing in Australia as well as racing from around the world. TAB will be live streaming the Doncaster Mile from Royal Randwick.
Where to find Doncaster Mile Tips and Betting Advice?
Check out our Doncaster Mile Ultimate Guide for the latest Doncaster Mile betting tips.
When is the Doncaster Mile field and barrier draw announced?
The final field and barrier draw for the 2021 Doncaster Mile is announced at 9am on Tuesday, April 6.
How to bet on the Doncaster Mile?
Finding value is key to maximising your profit on the Doncaster Mile. Australian bookmakers have price discrepancies on most runners, so it pays to shop around and find the best odds. Trusted bookmakers to bet on the Doncaster Mile with are TAB, Sportsbet, Ladbrokes, Neds, Palmerbet, Unibet & bet365.