South Australian Derby 2022 Tips, Field & Race Guide

The South Australian Derby will take place on Saturday, 14th May, 2022 at Morphettville.

The $502,250, 2500m event is open to 3YOs with set weights conditions.

We provide you with South Australian Derby tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream to watch the race unfold.

CONTENTS: Schedule | Live Stream | Bonus Bets | Tips | Nominations | Field & Barrier Draw | Results & Replays | Odds | History | Winners | Top 5 Winners

South Australian Derby 2022 Schedule

Date May 14
Track Morphettville Racecourse
Distance 2500m
Class Group 1
Race Type Set Weights
Prizemoney $502,250
Age 3YO

South Australian Derby Live Stream

TAB customers are able to live stream the 2022 South Australian Derby free of charge courtesy of Sky Racing vision.

You can watch the action from your mobile device or desktop for every Australian thoroughbred, greyhound and harness race live.

TAB offers Sky Racing 1, Sky Racing 2 and Sky Thoroughbred Central on their racing live streaming service.

T&Cs Apply. Vision available for all three Sky Racing channels. Data charges may apply.

Watch the 2022 South Australian Derby with TAB.

South Australian Derby Tips

When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 South Australian Derby (2500m) at Morphettville, keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the South Australian Derby runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2022 tips to help you back the winner.

Our team of expert tipsters will provide 2022 South Australian Derby tips and selections once the final field has been declared.

South Australian Derby Nominations

Nominations for the 2022 South Australian Derby takes place at 12:00am on April 26, 2022.

South Australian Derby Field & Barrier Draw

The final field and barrier draw for the 2022 South Australian Derby will be released at 9:00am May 10, 2022.

2022 South Australian Derby field and barrier draw:

No. Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier  Weight
1 ALEGRON James Cummings Damien Oliver 3 56.5kg
2 TEEWATERS Archie Alexander Declan Bates 1 56.5kg
3 JUNGLE MAGNATE (NZ) Mick Price & Michael Kent (Jnr) Mark Zahra 12 56.5kg
4 COMMANDER HARRY (NZ) Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young Daniel Moor 8 56.5kg
5 HARLEYMOVEN Dan Clarken & Oopy MacGillivray Ryan Hurdle 11 56.5kg
6 DETONATOR JACK (NZ) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace John Allen 15 56.5kg
7 THE NEPHEW Patrick Payne Billy Egan 4 56.5kg
8 SON OF EMPEROR Mick Price & Michael Kent (Jnr) Jason Holder 19 56.5kg
9 SAINT TROPEZ Lloyd Kennewell Beau Mertens 17 56.5kg
10 WATER INTO WINE Tony & Calvin McEvoy Barend Vorster 7 56.5kg
11 YAPHET Cliff Brown Ben Allen 13 56.5kg
12 KING OF PHARAOHS Roslyn Day Callan Murray 16 56.5kg
13 CLAIDHEAMH MOR Gemma Rielly Joe Bowditch 18 56.5kg
14 SEBASTIAN THE FOX Shay Keating Jake Noonan 20 56.5kg
15 PHERE THE EX Ben & JD Hayes Luke Nolen 6 56.5kg
16 LADY CHANT Brock Lewthwaite 5 54.5kg
17e TEXAS TEA (NZ) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace 10 56.5kg
18e TURFIE Patrick Keane 9 56.5kg
19e BRING THE STARS Robbie Griffiths & Mathew de Kock 14 56.5kg
20e SIX FOOT SONG John Macmillan 2 56.5kg

2021 South Australian Derby Results & Replay

Finish Horse Jockey Trainer Barrier Weight SP
1st Explosive Jack John Allen Ciaron Maher and David Eustace 10 56.5kg $4
2nd Let’s Karaka Deel Ben Allen Ciaron Maher and David Eustace 15 56.5kg $13
3rd Nobel Heights Will Price Matt Cumani 4 56.5kg $18
4th Shebringzit Karl Zechner Mick Huxtable 3 54.5kg $101

See more South Australian Derby results and replays here

South Australian Derby Odds

Leading bookmakers  LadbrokesNedsbet365 & Palmerbet have the latest 2022 South Australian Derby betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the South Australian Derby betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.

South Australian Derby History

In its rich history dating back to 1860, the South Australian Derby has been won by plenty of smart stayers who have gone on to great things.

The long list of South Australian Derby winners include Melbourne Cup winner Subzero, who did the double in 1992, and Mummify, who went on to land the Caulfield Cup in 2003 following victory in the Morphettville classic.

South Australian Derby winners Shiva’s Revenge (1991) and Count Chivas (1995) both went agonisingly close to Melbourne Cup glory when finishing runner-up in Australia’s biggest race at Flemington.

Shiva’s Revenge was beaten 2.5 lengths by Let’s Elope in 1991 whilst Count Chivas finished 2.3 lengths away from Saintly in the 1996 edition of ‘the race that stops a nation.’

The South Australian Derby takes place at Morphettville Racecourse in May, on occasion it is held in April, and is one of the highlights of the Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival each year.

It has been held over a variety of distances since its inception in 1860 when claimed by Midnight over approximately 2400m. It was run over 2600m in 1980 but now takes place over 2500m which has been the case since 1995.

Carrying $500,000 in prizemoney, the Derby has carried Group 1 status since 1979 with Top Ware claiming the event during its first running at the elite level.

The race is the premier staying race for three-year-olds during the Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival and attracts South Australia’s top-performed stayers, as well as raiders from Sydney, Melbourne and WA.

Notable winners of the South Australian Derby include Tim Whiffler (1865), The Assyrian (1880), Auraria (1895), Gatum Gatum (1961), Zarita (2008), Rebel Raider (2009) and Delicacy (2015).

Tim Whiffler (1867), The Assyrian (1882), Auraria (1895) and Gatum Gatum (1963) would all go on to claim the Melbourne Cup at some point following their victories in the South Australian Derby.

South Australian Derby Winners (SINCE 2000)

2021 Explosive Jack
2020 Russian Camelot
2019 Qafila
2018 Leicester
2017 Volatile Mix
2016 Howard Be Thy Name
2015 Delicacy
2014 Kushadasi
2013 Escado
2012 Zabeelionaire
2011 Shadows In The Sun
2010 Kidnapped
2009 Rebel Raider
2008 Zarita
2007 Lazer Sharp
2006 Testifiable
2005 Tails Of Triomphe
2004 Hard To Get
2003 Mummify
2002 Pantani
2001 Big Pat
2000 Blue Murder

Top 5 South Australian Derby Winners

Click here to see our Top 5 South Australian Derby Winners

South Australian Derby Bonus Bets

With the country’s leading bookmakers offering horse racing promotions and bonus bets every day of the week, you can get more bang for your buck.

The offers really ramp up on Saturday covering most races with promos such as Double Your WinningsCash Back and Bonus Bet Back for finishing 2nd, 3rd and even 4th, there are plenty of promos to sink your teeth into.

Racingbase hunts down all the daily bookmaker promos and bonus bets and displays them on one page with their T&C’s so you can see what is on offer.


To read all about Morphettville Racecourse, including the history of the track and which Group 1 races will be held at Morphettville, click the button below.