Australian Derby 2023 Tips, Field & Race Guide

The Australian Derby will take place on Saturday, April 1, 2023 at Royal Randwick.

Offering prize money of $2 million, the sprint race is open 3 year olds and is run at set weight conditions.

We provide you with Australian Derby tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream to watch the race unfold.

CONTENTS: Schedule | Live Stream | Bonus Bets | Tips | Nominations | Field & Barrier Draw | Results & Replays | Odds | History | Winners | Top 5 Winners


Date April 1
Track Royal Randwick
Distance 2400m
Class  Group 1
Race Type Set Weights
Prizemoney $2 million
Age 3YOs


A strong staying pedigree is one of the essential criteria to assess when looking for the winner of the Group 1 Australian Derby (2400m) at Randwick.

Lead up form in races like the Rosehill Guineas also play a big part in Australian Derby form analysis.

Our experts assess all the Australian Derby runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2023 tips to help you back the winner.

Our team of expert tipsters will provide 2023 Australian Derby tips and selections once the final field has been declared.


There are two rounds of nominations for the 2023 Australian Derby with the first taking place at 11am on February 8, 2023, while the final nominations are taken at 12:00pm on March 7, 2023.


The final field and barrier draw for the 2023 Australian Derby will be released at 9:00am March 28, 2023.

This page will be updated following the barrier draw.


Finish Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight SP
1 HITOTSU Ciaron Maher & David Eustace John Allen 4 56.5kg $3.30F
2 BENAUD John O’Shea Brenton Avdulla 16 56.5kg $13
3 ALEGRON James Cummings Hugh Bowman 3 56.5kg $11
4 ZOUMON Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Tim Clark 5 56.5kg $81
5 SEA TREASURES (NZ) Bjorn Baker Ms Rachel King 15 56.5kg $51
6 RAGING BULL David Payne Craig Williams 13 56.5kg $31
7 MAURICE’S MEDAD Bjorn Baker Joshua Parr 14 56.5kg $51
8 WAR ETERNAL (NZ) Bjorn Baker Damian Lane 8 56.5kg $14
9 CASTLEREAGH KID Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Nash Rawiller 11 56.5kg $18
10 REGAL LION (NZ) Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman James McDonald 9 56.5kg $5
11 CLYDE Gary Portelli Shaun Guymer 7 56.5kg $101
12 CHARACTER James Cummings Tommy Berry 10 56.5kg $11
13 FORGOT YOU (NZ) Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young Mark Zahra 12 56.5kg $15
14 FOOTLIGHTS (NZ) Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young William Pike 2 56.5kg $41
15 WHITE NOISE (NZ) Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman Robbie Dolan 18 56.5kg $41
16 ELZAMEE Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Chad Schofield 1 56.5kg $31
17 CAN’T GO WONG (NZ) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Ms Jamie Kah 6 56.5kg $26
18 AKAHATA (NZ) Bjorn Baker Brock Ryan 17 56.5kg $201
 – LUKEY LUKE Gwenda Markwell Keagan Latham 0
 – MEDIARO Matthew Smith Jay Ford 0
 – ASTERNISHING Mick Bell Dean Holland 0



See more Australian Derby results and replays here.


Leading bookmakers Sportsbet, LadbrokesNedsbet365 & Palmerbet have the latest 2023 Australian Derby betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the Australian Derby betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.


A staying race for the three-year-olds, the Group 1 event takes place at Sydney’s Royal Randwick Racecourse annually in April during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

It was first run in 1861 when won by Kyogle when it was known as the AJC Randwick Derby Stakes.

In 1865 the race was renamed the AJC Australia Derby Stakes then from 1873 through to 1993 it was called the AJC Derby.

From 1994 it was known as the AJC Australian Derby.

The race is now known as the ATC Australian Derby or Australian Derby and was taken out in 2015 by New Zealand stayer Mongolian Khan who emulated New Zealand champion Bonecrusher by claiming the New Zealand Derby-Australian Derby double.

With $2 million in prizemoney, it attracts the best staying three-year-olds from Australia and New Zealand and is part of a fantastic day of racing that includes the $3 million Group 1 Doncaster Mile (1600m), $2.5 million Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) and $1 million Group 1 Sires Produce Stakes (1400m).

The ATC Australian Derby is a set-weights race run over 2400m and is open to fillies, colts and geldings.

Males carry 56.5kg in the race and any fillies taking part in the race get a 2kg allowance as they run with 54.5kg on their back.

Some of the runners in the Australian Derby may have contested the Group 1 Randwick Guineas (1600m) held a month earlier and the Group 1 Rosehill Guineas (2000m) held two weeks earlier.

The honour roll is exceptional with numerous Australian Derby winners going on to become household names with the most famous being Phar Lap who won the race in 1929.

Other former winners of the Australian Derby include The Barb (1866), Robinson Crusoe (1876), Grand Flaneur (1880), Poseidon (1906), Gloaming (1918), Heroic (1924), Peter Pan (1932), Tulloch (1957), Dulcify (1979), Kingston Town (1980), Bonecrusher (1986), Mahogany (1994), Octagonal (1996), Starcraft (2004), It’s A Dundeel (2013) and Criterion (2014).

Many of the horses that have won the Australian Derby have gone on to win some of the country’s most prestigious races in the following years with the Caulfield Cup, Cox Plate and Melbourne Cup being likely targets.

Australian Derby Winners (Since 2000)

2022 Hitotsu
2021 Explosive Jack
2020 Quick Thinker
2019 Angel Of Truth
2018 Levendi
2017 Jon Snow
2016 Tavago
2015 Mongolian Khan
2014 Criterion
2013 It's A Dundeel
2012 Ethiopia
2011 Shamrocker
2010 Shoot Out
2009 Roman Emperor
2008 Nom De Jeu
2007 Fiumicino
2006 Headturner
2005 Eremein
2004 Starcraft
2003 Clangalang
2002 Don Eduardo
2001 Universal Princ
2000 Fairway


Click here to see our Top 5 Australian Derby Winners


TAB customers are able to live stream the 2023 Australian Derby free of charge courtesy of Sky Racing vision.

You can watch the action from your mobile device or desktop for every Australian thoroughbred, greyhound and harness race live.

TAB offers Sky Racing 1, Sky Racing 2 and Sky Thoroughbred Central on their racing live streaming service.

T&Cs Apply. Vision available for all three Sky Racing channels. Data charges may apply.

Watch the 2023 Australian Derby with TAB:


With the country’s leading bookmakers offering horse racing promotions and bonus bets every day of the week, you can get more bang for your buck.

The offers really ramp up on Saturday covering most races with promos such as Double Your WinningsCash Back and Bonus Bet Back for finishing 2nd, 3rd and even 4th, there are plenty of promos to sink your teeth into.

Racingbase hunts down all the daily bookmaker promos and bonus bets and displays them on one page with their T&C’s so you can see what is on offer.


To read all about Royal Randwick Racecourse, including the history of the track and which Group 1 races will be held at Royal Randwick, click the button below.