The Group 1 Tancred Stakes will take place on Saturday March 26, 2022 at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse.

The $1.5 million event is run at standard weight-for-age conditions and is open to horses aged three years old and upward.

We provide you with Tancred Stakes tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream to watch the race unfold.

CONTENTS: Schedule | Live Stream | Bonus Bets | Tips | Nominations | Field & Barrier Draw | Results & Replays | Odds | History | Winners | Top 5 Winners

TANCRED stakes 2022 Schedule ?

Date March 26
Track Rosehill Gardens
Distance 2400m
Class Group 1
Race Type Weight-For-Age
Prizemoney $1.5 million
Age 3YO and Upwards


TAB members are able to watch the 2022 Tancred Stakes free of charge courtesy of Sky Racing vision.

You can stream the action from your mobile device or desktop for every Australian thoroughbred, greyhound and harness race live.

TAB offers Sky Racing 1, Sky Racing 2 and Sky Thoroughbred Central on their racing live streaming service.

T&Cs Apply. Vision available for all three Sky Racing channels. Data charges may apply.

Watch the 2022 Tancred Stakes with TAB


With the country’s leading bookmakers offering horse racing promotions and bonus bets every day of the week, you can get more bang for your buck.

The offers really ramp up on Saturday covering most races with promos such as Double Your WinningsCash Back and Bonus Bet Back for finishing 2nd, 3rd and even 4th, there are plenty of promos to sink your teeth into.

Racingbase hunts down all the daily bookmaker promos and bonus bets and displays them on one page with their T&C’s so you can see what is on offer.


Strong staying form is essential for any horse contesting the Group 1 Tancred Stakes.

Previous winners of the race have also been victorious in races like the Melbourne Cup and Sydney Cup as well as Derbies and Caulfield Cups.

The Tancred Stakes is one of the highlights of the Rosehill autumn and has been won by some champion gallopers over the years.

The 2021 edition features the Cox Plate (2040m) winner, Sir Dragonet, as well New Zealand’s champion mare, Melody Belle. There are also a number of handy stayers that are on the Sydney Cup (3200m) path.

Sir Dragonet is a $5 favourite in markets with NEDS and comes out of the Group 1 Ranvet Stakes (2000m), that was taken out by Verry Elleegant from Addeybb. Those two aren’t lining up in the Tancred but the 3rd placegetter, Angel Of Truth ($8.50), is in action, as is Miami Bound, who finished 8th last weekend and is at the $26 quote.



Nominations for the 2022 Tancred Stakes takes place at 11am on March 21, 2022.


The final field and barrier draw for the 2022 Tancred Stakes will be released at 9:00am March 23, 2022.

Below is the field and barrier draw from 2021.

No. Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 SIR DRAGONET (IRE) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Glen Boss 1 59kg
2 MIRAGE DANCER (GB) Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young Damien Oliver 4 59kg
3 THE CHOSEN ONE (NZ) Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman Hugh Bowman 14 59kg
4 SOUTHERN FRANCE (IRE) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Mark Zahra 9 59kg
5 SOUND (GER) Michael Moroney Craig Williams 8 59kg
6 SPIRIT RIDGE (GB) Mark Newnham Robbie Dolan 6 59kg
7 CHAPADA Michael Moroney Tim Clark 7 59kg
8 NICKAJACK CAVE (IRE) Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 11 59kg
9 ANGEL OF TRUTH Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Kerrin McEvoy 5 59kg
10 SHRAAOH (IRE) Chris Waller Brenton Avdulla 3 59kg
11 MELODY BELLE (NZ) Jamie Richards James McDonald 12 57kg
12 SHE’S IDEEL Bjorn Baker Jason Collett 10 57kg
13 TOFFEE TONGUE (NZ) Chris Waller Tom Marquand 2 56.5kg
14 MIAMI BOUND (NZ) Danny O’Brien Ms Rachel King 13 56.5kg


Finish Horse Jockey Trainer Barrier Weight SP
1st Sir Dragonet Glen Boss Ciaron Maher and David Eustace 1 59kg $5.50
2nd She’s Ideel Jason Collett Bjorn Baker 10 57kg $13
3rd Miami Bound Rachel King Danny O’Brien 13 56.5kg $51
4th Toffee Tongue Tom Marquand Chris Waller 2 56.5kg $9

To see more Tancred Stakes results and replays click here


Leading bookmakers Sportsbet, Ladbrokes, Neds, bet365 & Palmerbet have the latest 2022 Tancred Stakes betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the Tancred Stakes betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.


One of the key races held during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival, the Tancred Stakes attracts a star field with $1.5 million in prizemoney on offer for the middle-distance and stayers.

The Tancred Stakes is the feature race on the day and is held alongside the Group 1 Vinery Stud Stakes (2000m) which is run for the three-year-old fillies.

The most reliable guide to the Tancred Stakes is the Group 1 Ranvet Stakes (2000m) held one week earlier at the same track.

Some of Australia’s greatest horses have won the Tancred Stakes with the most notable being three-time Melbourne Cup winner Makybe Diva.

Other notable winners of the Tancred Stakes include Hyperno (1978), Kingston Town (1980), Bonecrusher (1986), Sydeston (1990), Octagonal (1996-97), Might And Power (1998), Tie The Knot (1999-2000), Ethereal (2002), Makybe Diva (2005), Eremein (2006), Manighar (2012), Silent Achiever (2014), Hartnell (2015), Preferment (2016), Jameka (2017) and Almandin (2018).

The Tancred Stakes is an open weight-for-age race that takes place at Rosehill Racecourse.

Maidenhead won the inaugural Tancred Stakes in 1963 when the race was held over 1½ miles (approximately 2400m) and was named the HE Tancred Cup.

The following year the race distance was shortened to 1¼ miles (approximately 2000m) and then reverted back to its original distance the year after that.

In 1973 the race took on its current distance of 2400m and has remained that way since.

As well as enduring a few distance changes, the race has had many name changes in its short but illustrious history.

In 1977 its name was changed from the HE Tancred Cup to the HE Tancred Stakes and in 1981 it was shortened to the Tancred Stakes.

The races association with BMW started in 1990 and was named The BMW International Stakes and the following year adjusted the name to The BMW Stakes.

In 1996 the race became the Mercedes Classic and from 2002-2017, the race was known as The BMW. As of 2018, the race is known as the Tancred Stakes.

TANCRED STAKES Winners (Since 2000)

2021 Sir Dragonet
2020 Verry Elleegant
2019 Avilius
2018 Almandin
2017 Jameka
2016 Preferment
2015 Hartnell
2014 Silent Achiever
2013 Fiveandahalfstar
2012 Manighar
2011 Cedarberg
2010 Littorio
2009 Fiumicino
2008 Tuesday Joy
2007 Blutigeroo
2006 Eremein
2005 Makybe Diva
2004 Grand Zulu
2003 Freemason
2002 Ethereal
2001 Curata Storm
2000 Tie The Knot


Click here to see our Top 5 Tancred Stakes Winners.


To read all about Rosehill Gardens Racecourse, including the history of the track and which Group 1 races will be held at Rosehill, click the button below.