Golden Slipper 2023 Tips, Field & Race Guide

The 2023 Golden Slipper Stakes will take place on Saturday, March 18, 2023 at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse.

The $5 million event is the richest two-year-old race in the world and attracts the very best juveniles year after year.

We provide you with Golden Slipper tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream to watch the race unfold.

CONTENTS: Schedule | Live Stream | Bonus Bets | Tips | Nominations | Field & Barrier Draw | Results & Replays | Odds | History | Winners | Top 5 Winners

Golden Slipper Stakes 2023 Schedule

Date March 18
Track Rosehill Gardens
Distance 1200m
Class Group 1
Race Type Set Weights
Prize Money $5 million
Age 2YO

Golden Slipper Tips

When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 Golden Slipper (1200m) at Rosehill, keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the Golden Slipper runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2023 tips to help you back the winner.

Golden Slipper Stakes Nominations

Nominations for the 2023 Golden Slipper Stakes take place at 3.00 pm on 5 July, 2023.

Golden Slipper Stakes Field & Barrier Draw

The final field and barrier draw for the 2023 Golden Slipper Stakes will be released on March 14, 2023.

2021 Golden Slipper Results & Replay

Finish Horse Jockey Trainer Barrier Weight SP
1st Stay Inside Tommy Berry Richard and Michael Freedman 3 56.5kg $4.60
2nd Anamoe Rachel King James Cummings 15 56.5kg $15
3rd Ingratiating Damien Oliver James Cummings 10 56.5kg $20
4th Four Moves Ahead Nash Rawiller John Sargent 9 54.5kg $5

To see more Golden Slipper Stakes results and replays click here.

Golden Slipper Odds

Leading bookmakers Sportsbet, Ladbrokes, Neds, bet365 & Palmerbet have the latest 2023 Golden Slipper betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the Golden Slipper betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.

Golden Slipper History

Staged during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival, the Golden Slipper is the world’s richest two-year-old race and is held at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse each year.

It is considered one of four Grand Slam races on the Australian racing calendar with the Melbourne Cup, Caulfield Cup and Cox Plate representing the other three majors.

Taking Group 1 status for the first time in 1980, the Golden Slipper was won by Todman during its inaugural running in 1957 as he dispatched rivals by eight lengths.

Remarkably his sire, Star Kingdom, was also the sire of the next four winners of the Golden Slipper.

Carrying $3.5 million worth of prizemoney, the race attracts the speediest of the two-year-old brigade and is a set-weights race open to males and females.

The 1200m start is located in a chute in the middle of the course where there is a long straight run to the first turn; it is possible to win from an outside gate when the track conditions are suiting horses that are finishing on down the centre of the track.

As this is the second of three consecutive weekends of racing at this track during the autumn carnival, the rail can often be moved out and horses will race wide in search of better going, particularly if the ground is rain affected.

There are a number of lead-up races prior to the Golden Slipper Stakes; these races include the Reisling Stakes, the Magic Night Stakes for fillies, the Todman Stakes and the Pago Pago Stakes for colts & geldings.

These lead-up races are all named after past winners of the race with Reisling (1965), Magic Night (1961), Todman (1957) and Pago Pago (1963) being famous winners of the two-year-old feature.

Other former winners of the Golden Slipper include Storm Queen (1966), Sweet Embrace (1967), Vain (1969), Baguette (1970), Luskin Star (1977), Manikato (1978), Marscay (1982), Rory’s Jester (1985), Courtza (1989), Tierce (1991), Burst (1992), Danzero (1994), Catbird (1999), Dance Hero (2004), Stratum (2005), Miss Finland (2006), Sebring (2008), Sepoy (2011), Pierro (2012), Vancouver (2015), Capitalist (2016) and She Will Reign (2017).

The race is also the first leg of the Sydney two-year-old Triple Crown with only six horses going on to complete the rare feat of the Golden Slipper, Sires Produce Stakes (1400m) and the Champagne Stakes (1600m).

Pierro won the Triple Crown in 2012 and now joins the elite group of Baguette (1970), Luskin Star (1977), Tierce (1991), Burst (1992) and Dance Hero (2004) to complete the rare treble.

Golden Slipper Winners (Since 2000)

2022 Fireburn
2021 Stay Inside
2020 Farnan
2019 Kiamichi
2018 Estijaab
2017 She Will Reign
2016 Capitalist
2015 Vancouver
2014 Mossfun
2013 Overreach
2012 Pierro
2011 Sepoy
2010 Crystal Lily
2009 Phelan Ready
2008 Sebring
2007 Forensics
2006 Miss Finland
2005 Stratum
2004 Dance Hero
2003 Polar Success
2002 Calaway Girl
2001 Ha Ha
2000 Belle Du Jour

Top 5 Golden Slipper Stakes Winners

Click here to see our Top 5 Golden Slipper Stakes Winners.

Golden Slipper Stakes Live Stream

TAB members are able to watch the 2023 Golden Slipper Stakes free of charge courtesy of Sky Racing vision.

You can stream the action from your mobile device or desktop for every Australian thoroughbred, greyhound and harness race live.

TAB offers Sky Racing 1, Sky Racing 2 and Sky Thoroughbred Central on their racing live streaming service.

T&Cs Apply. Vision available for all three Sky Racing channels. Data charges may apply.

Watch the 2023 Golden Slipper Stakes with TAB.

Golden Slipper Stakes Bonus Bets

With the country’s leading bookmakers offering horse racing promotions and bonus bets every day of the week, you can get more bang for your buck.

The offers really ramp up on Saturday covering most races with promos such as Double Your WinningsCash Back and Bonus Bet Back for finishing 2nd, 3rd and even 4th, there are plenty of promos to sink your teeth into.

Racingbase hunts down all the daily bookmaker promos and bonus bets and displays them on one page with their T&C’s so you can see what is on offer.


To read all about Rosehill Gardens Racecourse, including the history of the track and which Group 1 races will be held at Rosehill, click the button below.