2019 Queensland Derby Tips & Betting Advice

Queensland Derby Results
Queensland Derby

Queensland Derby Results & Replays

Previous Queensland Derby results including top four finishing horses, jockeys and trainers, as well as winning barriers, weights and starting price (SP).

Racingbase.com.au is your home of the 2019 Queensland Derby. The race will take place on Saturday, 8 June, 2019 at Eagle Farm Racecourse.

We provide you with Queensland Derby tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream to watch the race unfold.

Queensland Derby 2019

Date Saturday, June 8, 2019
Track Eagle Farm Racecourse
Distance 2400m
Class Group 1
Race Type Set Weights
Prizemoney $600,000
Age 3YO


When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 Queensland Derby (2400m) at Eagle Farm, keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the Queensland Derby runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2019 tips to help you back the winner.

Tipster Aaron Hamilton will provide his tips and selections for the 2019 Queensland Derby once the field has been finalised.


Leading bookmakers Sportsbet and BetEasy have the latest 2019 Queensland Derby betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the Queensland Derby betting markets in the days leading up to the race. See the latest market below or click on the links to take you direct to the bookmakers.


Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Queensland Derby (and all other races from Queensland tracks) free of charge. You can watch all Eagle Farm races including the Queensland Derby streamed live online at Ladbrokes, BetEasy or Sportsbet. To find out how to stream the Queensland Derby live, see our guide to watch the race.


Three-year-old stayers compete in the Queensland Derby which is a set-weights race held on Stradbroke Handicap Day.

Other races on Brisbane’s finest day of racing include the $1.5 million Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap (1400m), Group 1 JJ Atkins Plate (1400m), Group 2 Brisbane Cup (2400m), Group 2 Queensland Guineas (1600m) and the Group 2 Dane Ripper Stakes (1400m).

Hermit won the inaugural Queensland Derby back in 1868 when the race was run at Gayndah Racecourse before moving to Eagle Farm in 1871.

In 1870, the Queensland Derby was run on two occasions with Grafton capturing the event on both occasions.

With $600,000 in prizemoney, the Queensland Derby attracts the state’s best three-year-old stayers, and has long been regarded as one of the premier races on the Queensland racing calendar.

Other notable winners of the race include Tulloch (1957), Kingston Town (1980), Strawberry Road (1983), Rough Habit (1990), Royal Magic (1992), Freemason (2000), Half Hennessy (2003), Riva San (2008) and Shootoff (2011).

Talented stayer Shocking was beaten a long-neck by Court Ruler in the Queensland Derby in 2009 before going on to win the Group 1 Melbourne Cup (3200m) in November at Flemington Racecourse during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Queensland Derby Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Freemason
2001 De Gaulle Lane
2002 County Tyrone
2003 Half Hennessy
2004 Toulouse Lautrec
2005 Lachlan River
2006 Ice Chariot
2007 Empires Choice
2008 Riva San
2009 Court Ruler
2010 Dariana
2011 Shootoff
2012 Brambles
2013 Hawkspur
2014 Sonntag
2015 Magicool
2016 Eagle Way
2017 Ruthven
2018 Dark Dream
2019 Mr Quickie


Eagle Farm Racecourse is one of Queensland’s premier racecourses and was listed on the Queensland Heritage Register in 2004.

The Eagle Farm Racecourse was established in 1863 and had its main grandstand completed in 1890. Hunter and Corrie and architect John H. Buckeridge jointly designed the grandstands which are known as the Paddock Stands.

In 1941 Eagle Farm Racecourse was taken over by the military authorities to house thousands of American troops during the Pacific War. It was then known as U.S. Camp Ascot.

Eagle Farm has undergone a major redevelopment pning almost two years and reopened during the 2016 Brisbane Winter Carnival.

It is located at one end of Racecourse Road in the suburb of Ascot, approximately 7km from the Brisbane CBD. Doomben Racecourse is located nearby in the same suburb.


Eagle Farm Racecourse is an even oval-shaped track with sweeping bends on either side of the straight. Races are conducted in a clockwise direction.

The course proper has a circumference of 2027m and the home straight is 434m long.