2020 Stradbroke Handicap Tips & Betting Advice

Stradbroke Handicap Tips
Stradbroke Handicap

Stradbroke Handicap Tips & Preview

Group 1 racing takes place at Eagle Farm on Saturday and our form expert has previewed the QLD showpiece event and given his best Stradbroke Handicap Tips.

Racingbase.com.au is your home of the 2020 Stradbroke Handicap. The race will take place on Saturday, June 6, 2020 at Eagle Farm Racecourse.

We provide you with Stradbroke Handicap tips as well as an in depth guide into the runners, horses, final field, barrier draw, news, betting odds and information, and how you can watch a live stream to watch the race unfold.

Stradbroke Handicap 2020

Date Saturday, June 6, 2020
Track Eagle Farm Racecourse
Distance 1400m
Class Group 1
Race Type  Handicap
Prizemoney $350,000
Age 2YO and Upwards


When trying to find the winner of the Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap (1400m) at Eagle Farm, keeping some important factors on your side can help you.

Our experts assess all the Stradbroke Handicap runners, their form, barrier draws, speedmap and more to help come up with our betting pointers and 2020 tips to help you back the winner.

Tipster Aaron Hamilton will provide his tips and selections for the 2020 Stradbroke Handicap once the field has been finalised.


Leading bookmakers Sportsbet and BetEasy have the latest 2020 Stradbroke Handicap betting odds available. There will be plenty of movements in the Stradbroke Handicap betting markets in the days leading up to the race.


Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Stradbroke Handicap (and all other races from Queensland tracks) free of charge. You can watch all Eagle Farm races including the Stradbroke Handicap streamed live online at Ladbrokes, BetEasy or Sportsbet. To find out how to stream the Stradbroke Handicap live, see our guide to watch the race.


Stradbroke Handicap Day is the biggest, richest and most eagerly anticipated raceday held at Eagle Farm Racecourse during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

Taking place in June each year, the Stradbroke Handicap is one of the most competitive sprints run each year and is joined on a stellar day of racing by the Group 1 Queensland Derby (2400m) for the best three-year-old stayers and the Group 1 JJ Atkins (1600m), formerly known as the TJ Smith, for the best two-year-olds.

The Group 2 Brisbane Cup (2400m), Group 2 Queensland Guineas (1600m) and Group 2 Dane Ripper Stakes (1400m) also form part of a classy day of racing.

Worth $1.5 million in prizemoney, the Stradbroke Handicap is the richest race staged during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival and attracts some of the best sprinters from not only Queensland, but also New South Wales and Victoria.

Staged over the 1400m distance, it is an Open Handicap and features close to a full field of runners each year that will surge towards victory and attempt to join some famous names in the history books.

Notable winners of the Stradbroke Handicap include Campaign King (1988), Rough Habit (1991-92), All Our Mob (1994), Dane Ripper (1997), Toledo (1998), Show A Heart (2002), Private Steer (2003), Sniper’s Bullet (2007), Mr Baritone (2008), Black Piranha (2009-10), Sincero (2011) and Santa Ana Lane (2018).

The Stradbroke Handicap, named after Lord Stradbroke who was a relative of Admiral Rous – the man who helped shape the weight for age scale in horse racing, was first held in 1890 when won by Pyrrhus. It was staged over 1200m until 1953 when Suncup won the first race run over the current 1400m trip.

It was upgraded to Group 1 status in 1980 when Ducatoon won the race but was later disqualified due to a positive test. Victory instead went to Bemboka Yacht. The prizemoney was increased to $1 million in 1996, the year in which Danasinga was victorious.

The race was contested at Doomben Racecourse in 2015 due to track repairs at Eagle Farm. It was the first year that the Stradbroke was contested for $2 million in prizemoney; Srikandi claimed the event for Victorian trainer Ciaron Maher.

Returning to Eagle Farm in 2016, the race dropped back to $1.5 million in prizemoney when taken out by consistent Robert Smerdon-trained sprinter Under The Louvre who got the better of Black Heart Bart in a close finish.

Form students should look towards two lead up races when looking to assess the leading Stradbroke contenders – Kingsford-Smith Cup (1300m) at Eagle Farm and Doomben 10,000 (1200m) held at Doomben.

Stradbroke Handicap Winners (Since 2000)

2020 Tyzone
2019 Trekking
2018 Santa Ana Lane
2017 Impending
2016 Under The Louvre
2015 Srikandi
2014 River Lad
2013 Linton
2012 Mid Summer Music
2011 Sincero
2010 Black Piranha
2009 Black Piranha
2008 Mr Baritone
2007 Sniper's Bullet
2006 La Montagna
2005 St Basil
2004 Thorn Park
2003 Private Steer
2002 Show A Heart
2001 Crawl
2000 Landsighting


Eagle Farm Racecourse is one of Queensland’s premier racecourses and was listed on the Queensland Heritage Register in 2004.

The Eagle Farm Racecourse was established in 1863 and had its main grandstand completed in 1890. Hunter and Corrie and architect John H. Buckeridge jointly designed the grandstands which are known as the Paddock Stands.

In 1941 Eagle Farm Racecourse was taken over by the military authorities to house thousands of American troops during the Pacific War. It was then known as U.S. Camp Ascot.

Eagle Farm has undergone a major redevelopment pning almost two years and reopened during the 2016 Brisbane Winter Carnival.

It is located at one end of Racecourse Road in the suburb of Ascot, approximately 7km from the Brisbane CBD. Doomben Racecourse is located nearby in the same suburb.


Eagle Farm Racecourse is an even oval-shaped track with sweeping bends on either side of the straight. Races are conducted in a clockwise direction.

The course proper has a circumference of 2027m and the home straight is 434m long.